We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acheron Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arran Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Motel & Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Amber Court Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aden Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel Apartments(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Motel(Te Anau)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Possum Lodge(Fiordland National Park)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
80
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringgreat hostsburn cottagenew zealandthe kitchenmilford soundpearl harbourte anaustayed longercomfortable bedsequipped cottagestunning viewswashing and dryingstayed nightsclothes linedeparture pointdrive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here in March of 2014 for one night after a 3-day hike on the Routeburn. We got in later than expected due to our adventures, but Janice was very accommodating and friendly. We were thankful for the room to spread out our gear (the place is very large and could easily accommodate a small family), laundry (a life-saver!), a hot shower, a full kitchen and comfortable bed! It was also good for us to have internet so we could check in with our other reservations and let our kids know we were doing fine. The cabin is away from light, so the stars were spectacular and the sound of the animals on the deer farm at night made it otherworldly. We wished we had more time to stay and enjoy the cabin and the area. Janice also worked at the Doubtful Sound tour place we were taking a boat from the next morning. She had found an item of ours in the cabin and had it waiting for us when we got off the boat. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKandAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for the great review guys. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time here and hope you can get back sometime. we love to watch the deer in the paddocks outside as well.

All the best for your travels in the future
Janice and Zeb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Acheron Cottages for two nights while we visited the fiordland national parks and I was just floored by how nice this accommodation was! We drove up without a booking but Zed and his wife instantly made us feel very welcome. They gave us tips about the local area and even inside information about what seats to go for on our cruise the next day. The cottages themselves are a good size and very well maintained. I want to say they are pretty new, but it could be that they are just so well looked after that they seem new. We were just a couple so we had heaps of room but a larger group would get on very well here. A big plus is the laundry, which may sound pretty boring, but after travelling for a week or so with a bag of dirty clothes it's great to have in the room at no extra charge. You're a bit far from food but the kitchen is well equipped and you can easily prepare food in house. There is free wifi too which is handy. The price was excellent compared to surrounding options, and one of the best value places I stayed in during my most recent trip to NZ. This really is your best bet if you're staying in Manapouri.

Room Tip: Looks like a third 'room' may be going down soon, so go for one on the edge to get better views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thanks for the great review folks. Maybe we get to see you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This has to be the best place to stay on any visit to Manapouri/Doubtful Sound. We could sit on the veranda or in the lounge admiring the superb views. The cottage is really well-equipped, the kitchen and laundry facilities being particularly good. The lounge, bedrooms and bathroom were all spacious, modern and comfortable. We regretted not having booked to stay longer. Zeb was welcoming, friendly and helpful, recommending a local walk and advising on negotiating our trip through Doubtful Sound.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandV1F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here folks. Thanks for the great review and with any luck you may get back someday. Just the first touches of autumn here now. Trees are starting to lose their leaves and we have had a couple of mild frosts but the days are still fine and sunny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and would definitely stay again. The cottage has everything and a bit more, comfy and warm and spacious, and most importantly really clean. Great views outside so great to sit outside. We can't believe that there is any better in Manapouri.
We only met Zeb and he gave us good advice on our drive upto Milford Sound, he knows the area well. Also he gave us some of his home made sand fly repellent and it works, so many thanks Zeb. We would love to return one day.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Baconbuttie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for your great comments folks. Reviews like yours are what keep us going and it is really appreciated.

Good to hear the insect repellent did the job.

Regards
Zeb and Janice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Acheron Cottages. Ours was spacious, well equipped and comfortable, the laundry was a particular bonus. Zeb was helpful and gave us good tips about where to get the best view on the Doubtful Sound trip. The cottages are next to each other and a third is on it's way, we felt a blind in the bedrooms on the side facing the other cottage's kitchen and sitting room would have helped in terms of privacy. A lovely place to stay, would recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice R, Owner at Acheron Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi folks, thanks for the great review. We have installed net curtains in the windows recently.

Hope you get back to see us sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews