We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly Lakeside view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room which is situated above the basic rooms. Room was bog standard, new bathroom but cheaply finished, weak shower with cold to warm water only.
The attached restaurant a big disappointment, ordered whitebait and received an omelette with some fish in, couldn't taste the whitebait! Location excellent as overlooks the lake and near to the ferry terminal for Doubtful sounds departures.
I would recommend staying in Te anua and driving 10 minutes for the boat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruisliptravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are sorry that we didn't meet with your expectations.

We have checked the water pressure and temperature in the rooms that you describe, but have found no evidence of said problems. It always helps if you can give a specific room number to reception so that we can get the maintenance man to check it straight away.

I have passed on your pressing concerns to the Chef regarding the amount of whitebait in you fritter.

regards
Inger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our two nights here were very enjoyable. We enjoyed a very comfortable room with superb views over the lake. The staff were good humoured, very friendly and good at their jobs. We ate in the restaurant on both nights we were very pleased with the quality.
All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Inger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We discovered dead flies on the old dusty bed, lipstick marks on the cups and nail clippers in the toilet. We ordered pizza from the attached pub, which had an off smell. I wasn't even able to stay the night, we checked out and travelled to Te Anau to stay the night. The place is horrible, would warn others to stay away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
It seems that you were given the keys to inspect a room that hadn't been given its final check by housekeeping - hence nail clippers etc.. This over sight in housekeeping has now been addressed.

In future could you tell the reception desk at the time you return the key. That's always helpful for us and is constructive criticism. .

Instead of using words like "Horrible" to describe a place could you stop for a minute and think of the people that are affected by your review and try and be more objective. Especially as you didn't even stay with us.

As in the case of your Pizza. Why didn't you tell the chef at the time? He would have made you another or given you a refund. But then if that had been the outcome it wouldn't have been interesting enough to put on Social Media would it?

I hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand meets with your expectations.

Inger
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed one night in a budget room that was clean and comfortable with a great view over the lake and the mountains. The rooms are small and rather dated but you can't expect much when you book a budget room.
An ideal base for a visit to Doubtful Sound as we had to be up early the following day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel offers the use of a communal kitchen. whilst I did not use the facility, I looked in and found it spotlessly clean and well stocked with crockery and cutlery etc. This is great for budget travelers as there are limited dining options in Manapouri.
We also had a very good meal in the restaurant that we found reasonably priced and had a good range of dishes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Everything about this pace is average. It's simply a somewhat decent bed when exploring the fiordland area. Rooms are okay and everything else is truly run of the mill! Maybe consider another place perhaps in Te Anau if you can manage same peices? We paid almost 80 nz dollars per night. Maybe something else in the same price range?

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manapouri Motor... L, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Comfortable accommodation. Rather small rooms but equipped with all you need. We got a room facing the lake and mountains. The hotel has great barbecue facilities so you can prepare grill and dine with an amazing view. Great for stop over during your exploration of the South Island.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mishataratysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, thinking how bad can it be? Well: Very! It started with a 10 minute wait at reception - the lady at reception having an lenghty and not so important phone call. Arriving in the room looked dated with "interesting" stains on the floor and the room in a less than prestine state.
I had a suspicion in the evening something bubbled up in the shower when I flushed the toilet, which was confirmed to me the next morning when, after flushing the toilet, I saw what can only be described a "fountain of feces". The whole shower basin filled up with raw sewage, and have pictures to back this up.
Needless to say this was my queue to get out of there asap, and I found out other unit had been suffering the same issue. Despite the full refund I would never stay there again in my life or advice anyone to do so either. In the 100's of hotels, B&B's and motels I've stayed at over the years this is easily the worst.

Room Tip: Head over to Te Anau, it's a much nicer town anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MT20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. I can not say that this review was unexpected.
I checked this guest out and of course gave him the full refund as he had an awful experience with the drain being blocked.
Unfortunately problems like this occur every now and then in any Hotel. The morning that he left the blocked area was found the drain was dug up which was a major job, the problem was fixed. It was due to a tree root having grown into the pipe at a junction.
As I told the guest at the time I was truly sorry that he had had this experience. He was very angry at the time. He didn't mention anything else that had been a problem.
So I apologise again that this guest had this experience.
As for the 10cm stain on the carpet it is a burn mark where a guest put a hotplate on the floor. Which will require the other wise good carpet to be pulled up and replaced. This is on our annual maintenance list of to do's.
I wonder why the guest who was so enamoured with Te Anau and was in his words thinking How bad can it be chose to stay here? He was ready to find fault with us regardless.
I your are the kind of Traveller that like "Generic Hotel rooms in a Tourist Town" we are not what you are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
11 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
11 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Arran Motel
Arran Motel
#13 of 22 in Te Anau
170 reviews
10.8 mi away
Edgewater Motel
Edgewater Motel
#16 of 22 in Te Anau
206 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range: £45 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing