We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very bad stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I traveled 10 days around the South Island with my husband and this was the worst motel we stayed in. First of all, we arrived there at 2:15 pm and although check in was at 2:00 pm, the receptionist asked us to wait an hour for our room to be ready. After an hour, the housekeepers were still in our room. They even forgot to put toilet papers in the bathroom. When I wanted to take a shower, there was no hot water because they were doing some reparations around the hotel. Again, we had to wait an hour before being able to use the bathroom. The bedroom was really poor, it felt more like a $60 room max, everything was very old and the beds not comfortable. We were so happy we only booked one night. Usually, I would speak to the management to express my disappointment directly, but because the service was so bad, I did not even bother because you could see the staff really did not care. The day after, we drove to Queenstown, and for a similar price, we had a room that was so much better, cleaner and more comfortable. I would not recommend staying in Lake Manapouri. The lake is very nice, but avoid to spend a night in the area. Accomodation is very overpriced and the quality is average to poor. Te Anau is slightly better, Wanaka or Queenstown are much better options.

Room Tip: Avoid this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aure732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review out hotel.
I do not believe that you have the right motel. We have had no water problems recently as for check in our policy is that if you arrive and your room isn't ready we will move you to another if at all possible. In this case it would have been.
Please note that check at 2pm is with all accommodation an indication of when they rooms may be made available.
Regards
Inger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    65
    64
    18
    11
See reviews for
23
116
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room which is situated above the basic rooms. Room was bog standard, new bathroom but cheaply finished, weak shower with cold to warm water only.
The attached restaurant a big disappointment, ordered whitebait and received an omelette with some fish in, couldn't taste the whitebait! Location excellent as overlooks the lake and near to the ferry terminal for Doubtful sounds departures.
I would recommend staying in Te anua and driving 10 minutes for the boat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruisliptravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are sorry that we didn't meet with your expectations.

We have checked the water pressure and temperature in the rooms that you describe, but have found no evidence of said problems. It always helps if you can give a specific room number to reception so that we can get the maintenance man to check it straight away.

I have passed on your pressing concerns to the Chef regarding the amount of whitebait in you fritter.

regards
Inger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our two nights here were very enjoyable. We enjoyed a very comfortable room with superb views over the lake. The staff were good humoured, very friendly and good at their jobs. We ate in the restaurant on both nights we were very pleased with the quality.
All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Inger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We discovered dead flies on the old dusty bed, lipstick marks on the cups and nail clippers in the toilet. We ordered pizza from the attached pub, which had an off smell. I wasn't even able to stay the night, we checked out and travelled to Te Anau to stay the night. The place is horrible, would warn others to stay away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
It seems that you were given the keys to inspect a room that hadn't been given its final check by housekeeping - hence nail clippers etc.. This over sight in housekeeping has now been addressed.

In future could you tell the reception desk at the time you return the key. That's always helpful for us and is constructive criticism. .

Instead of using words like "Horrible" to describe a place could you stop for a minute and think of the people that are affected by your review and try and be more objective. Especially as you didn't even stay with us.

As in the case of your Pizza. Why didn't you tell the chef at the time? He would have made you another or given you a refund. But then if that had been the outcome it wouldn't have been interesting enough to put on Social Media would it?

I hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand meets with your expectations.

Inger
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manapouri hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed one night in a budget room that was clean and comfortable with a great view over the lake and the mountains. The rooms are small and rather dated but you can't expect much when you book a budget room.
An ideal base for a visit to Doubtful Sound as we had to be up early the following day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel offers the use of a communal kitchen. whilst I did not use the facility, I looked in and found it spotlessly clean and well stocked with crockery and cutlery etc. This is great for budget travelers as there are limited dining options in Manapouri.
We also had a very good meal in the restaurant that we found reasonably priced and had a good range of dishes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
464 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Everything about this pace is average. It's simply a somewhat decent bed when exploring the fiordland area. Rooms are okay and everything else is truly run of the mill! Maybe consider another place perhaps in Te Anau if you can manage same peices? We paid almost 80 nz dollars per night. Maybe something else in the same price range?

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manapouri Motor... L, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Comfortable accommodation. Rather small rooms but equipped with all you need. We got a room facing the lake and mountains. The hotel has great barbecue facilities so you can prepare grill and dine with an amazing view. Great for stop over during your exploration of the South Island.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mishataratysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
10.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
11.0 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#1 of 5 in Manapouri
76 reviews
10.8 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
601 reviews
11.1 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Property: Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing