We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Manapouri B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed for three nights and it was the worst accommodation of our South Island trip. The rooms are starting to show their age and are in need of some refurbishment. On the day we arrived, we were asked by the Receptionist what time would be in for breakfast next morning. We responded that we would be in at 9am each day, which she wrote down. The following morning we had a nice breakfast before getting ready to take the boat trip to the West Arm power station (a very worthwhile trip.) The next day we arrived for breakfast to be told by a different Receptionist that the chef had been sent home at 8:30am, as nobody had turned up. :(

Next time we are in Manapouri, we will be using alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    65
    64
    18
    11
See reviews for
23
116
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The motel is a bit old and tired but the friendly staff made it a great place to stay, rooms were okay, the bed were comfortable enough and breakfast was good.

The Welsh receptionist was lovely, a real people person.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, our one was out the back and had a lovely view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at this motel. We received a very warm welcome which was much appreciated after the long drive. We stayed in room 116 which had a lovely view of the lake. The room was spotless and comfortable with plenty of tea / coffee and space to relax.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clumb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Two couples shared the "Holiday House" while we visited Fiordland. While the decor was a little dated it was beautifully maintained, very clean, and we could have literally lived there for a week without needing anything extra. The views are fantastic, and although one overlooks a main road, it was very quiet after dark. We would happily return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chrischchnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned from a night's stay at Manapouri Lakeside Motel. We loved it. The staff couldn't be more helpful. The room was clean, and the views were to die for! The decore was very 60's but we loved it. Everything worked well, and we had a sense that nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the retaurant in the evening and the food was great. It's a marvellous facility and sadly underused! If you want a peaceful break in stunning scenery with everything laid on, perfectly placed for both Manapouri and Te Anau this is for you!

Room Tip: We had rooms 201 and 202 -
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Manager at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review out hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Inger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I traveled 10 days around the South Island with my husband and this was the worst motel we stayed in. First of all, we arrived there at 2:15 pm and although check in was at 2:00 pm, the receptionist asked us to wait an hour for our room to be ready. After an hour, the housekeepers were still in our room. They even forgot to put toilet papers in the bathroom. When I wanted to take a shower, there was no hot water because they were doing some reparations around the hotel. Again, we had to wait an hour before being able to use the bathroom. The bedroom was really poor, it felt more like a $60 room max, everything was very old and the beds not comfortable. We were so happy we only booked one night. Usually, I would speak to the management to express my disappointment directly, but because the service was so bad, I did not even bother because you could see the staff really did not care. The day after, we drove to Queenstown, and for a similar price, we had a room that was so much better, cleaner and more comfortable. I would not recommend staying in Lake Manapouri. The lake is very nice, but avoid to spend a night in the area. Accomodation is very overpriced and the quality is average to poor. Te Anau is slightly better, Wanaka or Queenstown are much better options.

Room Tip: Avoid this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aure732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review out hotel.
I do not believe that you have the right motel. We have had no water problems recently as for check in our policy is that if you arrive and your room isn't ready we will move you to another if at all possible. In this case it would have been.
Please note that check at 2pm is with all accommodation an indication of when they rooms may be made available.
Regards
Inger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manapouri hotels

Ruislip
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room which is situated above the basic rooms. Room was bog standard, new bathroom but cheaply finished, weak shower with cold to warm water only.
The attached restaurant a big disappointment, ordered whitebait and received an omelette with some fish in, couldn't taste the whitebait! Location excellent as overlooks the lake and near to the ferry terminal for Doubtful sounds departures.
I would recommend staying in Te anua and driving 10 minutes for the boat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruisliptravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are sorry that we didn't meet with your expectations.

We have checked the water pressure and temperature in the rooms that you describe, but have found no evidence of said problems. It always helps if you can give a specific room number to reception so that we can get the maintenance man to check it straight away.

I have passed on your pressing concerns to the Chef regarding the amount of whitebait in you fritter.

regards
Inger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
10.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
11.0 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
10.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 23 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
6.0 mi away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#1 of 5 in Manapouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
11.1 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Property: Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manapouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing