We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing”
Review of Sand Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Chelem B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My husband and I returned from a trip to Merida Mexico where we were attending a wedding. We decided to spend a few days on the beach before heading to Merida. It was very difficult to find info on the Sand Castle that was current. We took a leap of faith and were not disappointed. Katie was very responsive to our emails and Jim did a good job of hosting us for the 3 days. It was very very relaxing. We had a king room on the second floor with a balcony facing the ocean, right above the beach. The room was very very clean and had everything we needed. Katie was called out of the country and jim said he didn't want to kill us by cooking us breakfast so he took us to breakfast every morning- we went to 3 different places, all unique and tasty. La Playa (owner Carlos) up the road is a good place to catch something to eat as well for lunch or dinner. Our only issue which had nothing to do with the Sand Castle was that the car rental agency (Europcar) had no cars when we showed up for our rental - would not recommend them because since it was a busy time no other agencies had cars either. luckily we had friends who took us there. We would have explored Chelem (a sleepy little town) more if we had a car.
We would return to the Sand Castle!

Room Tip: really enjoyed the oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tillch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We just purchased a house in Chelem, so only stayed at the Sand Castle one night. We rented a car at Merida airport and arrived after 11:00 p.m. Katie greeted us and our room was very clean and I really liked the Mexican sink bowl on the large vanity in the bathroom. We had a nice visit with Katie over a good American breakfast (fruit, omelet and sausages). There is a nice deck overlooking the beach, large outdoor and covered seating areas, and a small pool.

If we didn't have a home here now, we would definitely stay here again, and I definitely recommend it to those looking for a Mexican village experience in this part of the country.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dinalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

My Mum and I spent 9 days with Katie and Jim at the Sandcastle Inn, what a nice family environment. Katie looked after everything for us and I think we will become life long friends. At the beach, close to amenites and great breakfasts. Katie took care of us and made sure we were not wanting for anything.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulineRedDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We were very pleased with our choice. My husband wanted a place to unwind, and relax. I wanted somewhere warm. We found everything and more at the Sand Castle Inn. Our hosts, Katie and Jim, were most gracious and accommodating.. The rooms are traditional Mexican style, clean, well equipped and roomy.. The view of the Gulf and the crashing of the waves were just what we wanted. Well worth the price of the room. Would go again. The hosts are able to recommend restaurants and great places to visit for sight seeing.

If you are an animal lover, there are beach cats and a rescued dog by the name of Ike, named after the hurricane, to be petted..

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chciago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We Enjoyed Our Stay at Sand Castle Inn Very Much!

After spending a week exploring Merida and many of the nearby archeological sites we chose to spend a few days unwinding by the ocean...having done a web search on ocean front B & B’s we opted to spend our “downtime” at the Sand Castle Inn where Katie (owner/ hostess) honestly could not have been friendlier, happier or more accommodating!!! The Inn’s ocean side location is ideal (easy to locate), our private room/bath was large, very clean, with a comfortable king size bed and a wonderful balcony overlooking the ocean... the NEW private courtyard pool is cozy, refreshing and a great place to relax and get some sun and Katie is famous for her breakfast for a reason...Plentiful and Very GOOD!

ALSO - if you’re interested, Katie has a working knowledge of the local real estate market and was VERY helpful in showing us a great variety of listings. (a nice bonus for us!)

We will be visiting Katie and staying at her INN again very soon!

Brian & Jerry (Chicago)

  • Liked — The large, clean ocean front room
  • Disliked — No opinion
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianChciago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Our stay in Chelem was wonderful. This Inn is right on a beautiful beach and very private. The breakfasts were the highlight of each day. The Inn keeper picked us up at the airport and catered to our every need during our stay. The Inn was very clean and the rooms were nicely furnished and air conditioned.
The pool is very nice and has a waterfall feature. There is plenty of room to relax on the huge wrap around porch overlooking the beach and the emerald water. It's only a ten minute ride to Progresso for shopping and restaurants.

  • Liked — The location, room view and food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rm11108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2008

Arrived in Merida at 10:00pm on Friday, Jim from the Sand Castle Inn was there to greet us and give us "free" ride (about 25 minutes) from the airport to Chelem. I was going to rent a car, Katie suggested that Jim pick us up, then I could rent (have a car delivered) to Sand Castle. This worked out very well. Thanks Katie for your suggestion. And thank you Jim for the transportation to and from the airport.

The Sand Castle Inn is right on the beach and is a stash place. Jim and Katie are the owners and they will take GREAT care of you. Katie fixes the best breakfast in Chelem, the breakfast is included.
Our room was comfortable, supplied with water, coffee pot, tea, TV and hundreds of DVDs if you feel like watching a movie.

Chelem is quiet laid back fishing village. It's a great place to get away from the crowds and enjoy the culture of the area. Beautiful sunsets and very picturesque.

If you're in the area stop in and say Hi to Jim & Katie at the Sand Castle Inn.

We'll definately be back again soon. Colorado Friends

  • Liked — Laid back atmosphere!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to Mind
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank colotomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelem
3.5 mi away
Progreso Beach Hotel
Progreso Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Progreso
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#19 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Playa Linda Hotel
Playa Linda Hotel
#3 of 14 in Progreso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
18.7 mi away
Technotel Beach
Technotel Beach
#1 of 3 in Chicxulub
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
6.6 mi away
Villas Bayal
Villas Bayal
#2 of 5 in Progreso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Property: Sand Castle Inn
Address: Calle 13 #250 Poligono lll | Chelem, Chelem 97320, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Chelem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chelem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sand Castle Inn beach front bed and breakfast is located in the Yucatan, it is situated on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico very close to Merida and Progreso. Gorgeous romantic gulf view, our newly decorated suites include a microwave, refrigerator, cable TV and coffeepot, internet access for your convenience. Relax in our new outdoor Jacuzzi, sunbathe, golf, or take a wonderful tour of the many many sights the area has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing