We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fountain Inn
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We held my wife's 40th and the Fountain inn,
The Owner David and manger Alison couldn't be more helpful an absolute pleasure to deal with !
We had to change dates due bad weather which was unfortunate but not a problem at all, the function room is ideal, the Cleaner Ann was very helpful with the set up (thank you) And the bar staff were fantastic, Lots and lots of great feedback from our family and friends about the SOP supper, the accommodation and breakfast.
We had a great time and we would recommend the Fountain Inn to all !
Ignore the old bad press, David's turned The Fountain Inn around and great to see it back on the map !

Room Tip: The function room is Ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVonTrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had our Christmas lunch here and it was really lovely
A good choice and served by very pleasant staff.
Christmas Day is always difficult to please everyone but the great atmosphere and welcome made it perfect for the nine of us. Thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Corkyyorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Live locally and have never visited before. Heard from an acquaintance about the Monday club. Served 12-2.30 and 5-7, one set dish for a £1 - yes that's right £1 !!! For that price I was sceptical on what to expect but thought there was nothing to lose at thatprice. We were very pleasantly surprised. Reasonable portion of sausage mash, fresh carrots and onion gravy. Well cooked and nicely presented. We then had the dessert which was black forest gateau served with strawberry garnish and cream. Other choices are available from the main menu ut at normal prices. The beer was good. I tried Bradfield brewery Belgian Blue and then Speckled Hen - both were well kept and good quality. The staff were very friendly and the landlord chatty and informative. I would highly recommend this lovely pub in beautiful surroundings and we'll definitely be going back

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The Fountain Inn, Ingbirchworth.

We stopped going to the Rag and Louse when the food became even worse than my own cooking. HOWEVER, recently we gave it a try again and found that the new owners are jolly and present really good food. We have been back 3 times at different times and dates and had GOOD FOOD! They are opening a french - style bistro soon and we'll give that a go when we return from Ross. The house special beef is tremendous but, if you are not Desperate Dan, order one meal and a spare plate for your friend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank derek h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed for a long week-end to attend a family party. Had been told review not to good but this is a lot of rubbish. The room was clean, bright and spacious. The location is very quiet and scenic.
The landlord and staff are very friendly and attentive, nothing was to much bother. The food was excellent and prices very reasonable. The whole week-end was a very pleasant experience. I will certainly stay again when visiting family in the area.

Susan (Fife, Scotland)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Went for the early bird with family staff were just changing shift but very swiftly done and was well greeted by both bar and waiting staff. The food was excellent with no long waits as previous comments have mentioned. The early bird menu is a bargain at only 7-95 and well worth going served Tue to Fri well done to all the team

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank cinimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for a party I was dreading going after reading the dreadful reviews. What a nice surprise we had it was fantastic value for money, spotlessly clean, lovely bed linen sparkling white, clean bathroms with nice toiletries,. The breakfast in the morning was fantatc plentyof it cooked really well. The staff are really friendly and helpful. I would definatly stay there again and reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: Wellthorne Lane, Ingbirchworth S36 7GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Ingbirchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ingbirchworth
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly traditional country inn set in beautiful countryside. All returning & new guests will be greeted with a warm welcome and assured of a luxurious break away from home. Close to the Peak District National Park and well renowned for being located within "last of the summer wine" country . Within 20 minutes guests can easily reach Wakefield, Barnsley and Sheffield. Whatever your occasion, you are sure to find a 'warm welcome' from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Ingbirchworth
The Fountain Inn Ingbirchworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing