We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of The Fountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fountain Inn
1 review
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night for b and b as we were in the area for a wedding. Lovely friendly welcome, free upgrade to a four poster room. Spotless. Comfortable bed and we both had a brilliant nights sleep which is not usually the case when not at home. Very tasty full english breakfast with good quality ingredients. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlordrennee, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your comments Helen glad you enjoyed your stay and all that went with it ,and it was good to read you enjoyed you upgrade and we do hope to see you again,and hope one of the four poster rooms are available for you again ,Regards David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    47
    17
    17
    35
See reviews for
52
64
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Worst Christmas dinner I have ever had!
Made slightly worse by the fact that the land lord who was trying his best to get drunk , would not even entertain any complaints! Of which there was many! Needless to say none of my family will ever visit the crappy place again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidAlanParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlordrennee, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
DEAR SIR, I am somewhat amazed at your comments,you wait until the 19th of June to write a report on a meal in December 2013.more amazing is the fact that we do not have your name down on on booking forms for last Christmas,which was fortunately full and not one complaint, in fact we had several customers coming out of their way to thank us and the bar staff had record tips,as far as myself being drunk ,I did not have a drink until Idris Jones a customer bought me a cognac. ,I was in fact sat with my 84 year old mother .Perhaps you were in another place ,,If you would like to email me on wineaboutwine@hotmail.co.uk you could perhaps explain why no one who was booked in waits 6 months to put on a comment, awaiting your reply,David Dobson .fountain inn on the 19/06/2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ingbirchworth hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here Saturday night on a booze and snooze night room was fine no problems went for our evening meal which is promoted on wall as a 3 course meal I asked if I could choose anything on menu the answer yes anything at all I chose steak but 5 minutes later you can have steak but it's £5.45 more the food was nice but we didn't get a dessert we weren't even asked if we like one we weren't offered our free bottle of wine so we had to ask for it oops we forgot, the toilets in the main bar had no loo roll oh dear. Breakfast was fine I realised we would have to pay more as my partner had a full english breakfast but was a little surprise that our bill £15.00 more than the price promoted on the bar wall. I don't think well be going again any time soon

Room Tip: When you phone to book check whats included
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tubber007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

During a morning at work and a 4 hour drive , my trepidation at the adventure of my first solo stay in a B and B was held at bay, by the prospect of the "warm, personal touch and good food" promised by the Fountain Inn. Upon arrival I was shown to a pleasant room with a 4 poster bed. Unfortunately the whereabouts of the door key was unknown and an anxious hour followed -the person who showed me to the room did not return , a second member of staff told me that the B and B was full so there were no other rooms available. Whilst waiting I found that the television did not work. I explained that i intended to leave and then another room was organized for me for which I was grateful especially as the television worked in this room!In the restaurant I was left waiting for such a long time that i abandoned the idea of an evening meal.The room was clean, comfortable and quiet and I had a good nights sleep. In the morning I went down for breakfast at 7.00am - as discussed at the time of booking when I was told that breakfast started then. Not so! The table were laid for breakfast but the lights were off. Beer glasses etc were still on the tables in the bar from the night before. There was no one about.
At 7.25 am I knocked on the kitchen door and indeed a "Full English" was then cooked for me. Had I known that I would be charged £7.50 for this then I would not have waited , A deal of £40.00 for an over night stay was offered to me by the manager when I rang to inquire about bed and breakfast accommodation. At no point did he say that this price excluded breakfast.
All in all my visit to the Fountain Inn was disappointing and I would not return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirl23190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlordrennee, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Shirl23190832,Thank you for your comments,from Friday,and i am sorry your FIRST stay away was not what you expected, as you say one of our female members of staff took you to your room,the only room we had left ,as you said,,,,the normal cost on this room is £70.00 AS IT IS ONE OF OUR FOUR POSTER ROOMS, You explained at tine of booking that you were on an interview in Barnsley the following day and only had a budget of £40.00 so we agreed to the £40.00 to help you out. you informed a member of staff that there was no key in the room ,and you did not feel safe in the room although the door does lock from the inside,so we made arrangements for the man who was to go into room 10 another four poster to change,, you then said you did not want room ten as there was a stag night on that floor,this was in fact not a stag night ,but the bride groom,his father in law and his best man who happened to be my son,staying here that night to dress and leave here the following day for his wedding,, so i would like to think all we had done to try and accommodate you on the accommodation side, i have spoken to the staff re your wait for food and they explained to you they were menus on the table and you then ordered at the bar the staff then told me they looked at the table some time latter and you had gone,.with regards to price i was the one to take your booking and i informed you i would do you the deal at £40.00 including continental breakfast,,may be with this being your first stay away and you did appear a little nervous about the following day this added to the unusual surroundings. I do hope you got the job in Barsley and your second stay away is a little strssfree regards David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

food went cold quick. plates cold, slow service . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .good parking, lots of spaces, nice views and walks around.

Room Tip: didnt stop in hotel, used the resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An excellent pint of their "own brew " and more customers than you would perhaps expect to find early on a midweek evening bode very well, how wrong !
After more than an hour and a gentle hint the starter arrived, then maybe half hour later the main course came,it really wasnt worth the wait for such a bland tastless and decidedly average meal, the vegeables were fresh ! ( from the freezer via the microwave and a packet sauce on the chicken ) My companions enjoyed their store bought , again fresh from the freezer , desserts.
Lots of appologies for the wait, you gets what you pays for, but sorry wont be going again .
No hot water in the gents. toilet , hand dryer not working, just a wet towel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank polmecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlordrennee, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Sir, having read your review i am a little perplexed as i have checked your order and it was out from the kitchen 35 minutes after the order was placed, and as you rightly stated we were full to capacity,and as all our food is freshly cooked i don't think 35min is unreasonable for a table that had not booked,and to the second point regarding the food a,the vegetables were as you say fresh but not out of a freezer then were blanched that afternoon and finished in boiling water before serving , b ,the the sauce for the chicken is made individually as the chicken is cooking we add the mushrooms then the garlic then then fresh cream and finish with a dash of cognac this is one of our most popular dishes,,,that's what my chefs do ,not by packet sauces,perhaps the next time you are passing please call in and watch the chefs at work and then maybe rescind your comments on frozen food,ps the white chocolate ice cream does come from the freezer,,,David please feel free to call me on 01226 763125
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

On Saturday night we enjoyed a superb meal at the Fountain. It was all beautifully presented and tasted wonderful! I can recommend the delicious lamb cutlets and the sweets were to die for!
You haven't lived till you've tried the ferrero chocolate cheesecake and the white chocolate ice-cream! Full marks to the lovely chef Alison. The atmosphere and decor is great. A really pretty place. All the staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. It was great to meet and chat to the very friendly David Dobson who has a winning personality and makes everyone feel very welcome. Congratulations to him on running such a fine ship! A great place to eat and spend an evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlordrennee, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Emma thank you for your comments ,I am pleased to know you enjoyed the evening,it as taken time to shake off the bad reputation of the previous people,but with time and effort from my staff we are getting there,I try and work on the philosophy that good food ,good company and good entertainment makes for a good night ,and i am pleased that's what you experienced on Saturday evening ,many thanks again David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingbirchworth
2.7 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
726 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
353 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
531 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
524 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#2 of 25 in Huddersfield
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: Wellthorne Lane, Ingbirchworth S36 7GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Ingbirchworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ingbirchworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly traditional country inn set in beautiful countryside. All returning & new guests will be greeted with a warm welcome and assured of a luxurious break away from home. Close to the Peak District National Park and well renowned for being located within "last of the summer wine" country . Within 20 minutes guests can easily reach Wakefield, Barnsley and Sheffield. Whatever your occasion, you are sure to find a 'warm welcome' from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and HRS so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Ingbirchworth
The Fountain Inn Ingbirchworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing