We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury cottage with all the finishing touches”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Broomfield Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Double ended jacuzzi bath perfect to unwind and relax in
Towels and bedding provided!
Gus the newfoundland will love to meet you. We are also very dog friendly
Chatsworth Estate and the Peak district are also on the doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ingbirchworth, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amscam
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Luxury cottage with all the finishing touches”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We were looking for a self-catering cottage where we would be able to stay for just two nights (arriving very late on the Friday night). Thankfully, we came across Broomfield Cottage, who were able to accomodate us.

The welcome pack was fantastic - all the essentials plus some extra treats (wine and biscuits!) We were also provided with logs to use in the lovely wood burner.

The jacuzzi bath was lovely, and the feel of the cottage in general was just very relaxing.

When I have stayed in self-catering places in the past, there is always something missing from the kitchen (usually a can opener!) However, this was certainly not the case here - the kitchen was better equiped than our kitchen at home! Cooking was a real treat.

There is a good DVD collection (although we left the television off and enjoyed the peace and quite), as well as a bookcase full of books, table football and an information pack which includes various walks.

We booked to stay at Broomfield Cottage because of the fantastic reviews, and they were right! We went to Yorkshire to visit friends, and hope to stay at Broomfield Cottage again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed environment
Liked least: We liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynsg2014
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Cottage, beautiful surroundings friendly and helpful owners”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We were looking for a quiet getaway, it was my other half's birthday and I'm pregnant so wanted somewhere quiet and luxurious - and we definitely found it! The cottage is 5 star if not more, it is exactly as it is in the pictures provided.
When you arrive you have a warm welcome by the dogs on the farm, Gus & Lola plus any of their friends who may also be there - absolutely gorgeous we wanted to take them all home! We also received a welcome pack with fresh eggs, milk, jams, home-made flapjack (amazing!) etc, we also received some wine & beers for birthday boy :)
The cottage is sooooo clean and tidy everything is in excellent condition, and there is everything in there that you could ever need, we would love to return in the summer months and make use of the outside BBQ area.
The local area is beautiful, Sam gave some recommendations of where we could go, there's also plenty of information in the cottage. The weather wasn't great but to be honest the cottage was that lovely, we were happy to get the log fire on and stay in - it was so relaxing!
All the staff at the farm are friendly and helpful especially Sam & Tony. The customer service is outstanding. We had a minor problem with the tap in the Jacuzzi bath which was sorted within minutes, also my boyfriend left his electric razor in one of the drawers after we left, which was posted to us at no extra cost (thanks again for that!)
All in all this is by far the best cottage I have ever stayed in, if you are looking to explore this part of the country I would recommend you stay here it was simply perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage - it was faultless
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariasmit...
Grimsby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Practically perfect in every way”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at broomfield cottage and can honestly say this is the nicest holiday cottage we have ever stayed in and definitely deserves it's 5 star rating. The cottage has been done to the highest standard and the attention to detail is second to none and certainly made it a home from home. The owners Sam and Tony have thought of everything, from the full size football table and board games to the magnificent kitchen with dishwasher and washer dryer. And the jacuzzi bath went down a treat. Location wise, the cottage is situated close to some lovely walking areas and our dog definitely enjoyed himself. My two girls loved the fact there were dogs walking around the yard area and took a shine to the owners dogs Gus and Lola who were gorgeous and very friendly. They also loved going to see the horses and to give them a stroke. Everyone was friendly and welcoming and didn't mind us being around the horses. A massive thank you to Sam, Tony and the team for giving us such a warm welcome and we shall hopefully see you at Easter for another visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPP5597
BARTON UPON HUMBER
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC AND MEMORABLE”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This cottage was recommended to us by friends who also gave it an excellent. I could not agree more. Fantastic cottage set away from the hustle and bustle, yet close enough for sight seeing. The owners Sam and Tony could not do enough for us from the minute we arrived to the time we left. The accommodation is well worth the 5 stars it currently holds and should be awarded another. It it luxurious and well kept with an abundance of facilities contained therein. We met two lovely additions to their family GUS and LOLA who looked after Alfie and Bess with great kindess and care. It was also a great pleasure to meet Paisley and his pals. The local pub caters for all events including allowing us to take Alfie and Bess with us. I wanted to keep this place a secret so we did not have to share it. A must for those that want that special time away. We only managed a couple of days stay but are already planning our return. Thank you Sam and Tony from Kev Carolyn and family xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy654
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing and relaxing stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We couldn't recommend this cottage enough, we had a fantastic and relaxing 4 night stay here after our wedding. We wish we had booked longer! The owners were absolutely lovely and made us feel very welcome. The cottage was beautifully presented and clean, with nice special touches, such as a lovely welcome pack, lots of information about the local area, eggs from the resident hens and two gorgeous dogs who we wanted to take home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly and relaxing break
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenBain
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most chilled out,friendly place we have stayed at.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have just returned from this wonderful cottage (definitely 5 *), it has everything needed for either a relaxing or a more active break. Many options locally if you enjoy running or walking, having bridle paths on the doorstep is very handy. Also great eating places close by, particularly enjoyed the Sovereign pub. The owners Sam and Tony are extremely welcoming and as for the dogs, Gus and Lola - we loved them. We really enjoyed watching Sam and the girls tend to the horses.
If you felt wound up and in need of a break before you arrive at Broomfield cottage you will be going home feeling a whole lot better. Thanks Sam, Tony and team.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accommodation and friendliness of the team.
Liked least: Faultless!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
355Christ...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect for art lovers and animal lovers alike”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a perfect location for visiting the Yorkshire Sculpture Park which is literally 20 mins away in the car and a wonderful place to see sculpture both outdoors and indoors and walk in the Bretton estate. Walking round the lake was very cooling in the blazing sunshine. I spent 2 days there and a further day in Wakefield, again only 30 mins from the cottage, where the new Barbara Hepworth Museum is a stunning building with a wonderful collection of her work and interesting changing exhibitions. Wakefield cathedral is also worth a visit.
Then you can return to the comfort of the cottage which is beautifully furnished and arranged and very cooling and relaxing in the heat, especially the jacuzzi bath!
The dogs and horses are lovely and added to the friendliness of the welcome from Sam and her family and made the short break a really enjoyable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing