We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but could be great with a little more attention to detail”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naguabo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Libre Puerto Rico
Ranked #4 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, but could be great with a little more attention to detail”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It's obvious that a lot of work has gone into this property - Dawn and Josue are doing the best they can to manage Casa Libre as well as their hostel up the road.

We stayed for three nights in November 2013 and were the only guests at that time. We originally booked the Purple Room but due to faulty A/C were placed in one of the lower level rooms. No big deal, but I soon found out that the wi-fi didn't have the strength to reach the lower level bedroom we stayed in. Not a huge deal, but the room didn't have TV either so options were limited what to do in the evening.

The room itself was in great condition. Good bed comfort, fridge, strong A/C. My only complaint here was that we had to empty our own trash and ask for toilet paper during our stay. Yes, for $100 a night, it's a great value, but I still felt that with no other guests, these simple things should have been done.

Breakfast was always excellent and Dawn took care to make sure there was something for both of us too eat that we liked. Also, great recommendations on things to do in the area and the owners are hooked up to nearby tour guides if you need anything arranged.

The area is a great home base for the eastern part of the island and there are a few quality restaurants nearby in walking distance.

My biggest complaint was that the photos advertised on the website don't currently reflect the actual condition of some areas of the property. This applies mostly to the outdoor tables, chairs, pool, etc. Perhaps more care is taken during high season but I felt a bit cheated when I compared the photos to what was available to us.

This is a good choice in the area and I do recommend it. With that said, I think there is potential for this place to be improved a bit.

Room Tip: Purple room if you can get it. Room on bottom left of hotel doesn't receive wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bayarealutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    26
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville, nc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The owner of one of the restaurants nearby had recommended this place to us while we were having dinner at his place. We decided to give it try along with some friends, 3 families total, over the 4th of July weekend. First, we got an amazing deal on the rooms, too good to be true. So much so, that I made a point to stop by before booking just to be sure I was not getting tricked.
The rooms were amazing, better than most regular hotels in the area. There are only 4 rooms available, although the proprietor, Patty, told us about her plans to make more space. Two of the rooms have enough space for 4 adults.
She was truly and genuinely hospitable. She went out of her way just to make us feel at home.
The location is close to perfect, great view of the bay, not in the middle of the bay (where it can get noise) but close enough to walk there without breaking a sweat. There are some really great restaurants nearby but the nightlife is lacking somewhat.

Josue, Patty's friend, owns a hostel up the street. Great accommodations for a hostel and good rates.

I will be going back as often as possible!

Room Tip: for couples, the upstairs room is by far the best! the biggest room is the bottom right, closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
253 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Can't really explain why I didn't love the place. I kind of felt like I was in a regular bedroom in someone's house. The view is nice and the pool was wonderful on such a hot day. Breakfast was decent. Hosts friendly enough. They have worked really hard to make their business succeed.

Room Tip: Purple room did have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerdebBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Unfortunately, we only stayed one night as we were traveling from Vieques to Rincon via the 'Ruta Panoramica'. Patty gave us a lovely warm welcome and we were made to feel like one of the family. We stayed in an upstairs room, overlooking the pretty swimming pool which provided us with a fantastic view of the bay and an unforgettable sunset. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, home cooked and the portions substantial in size. There are a couple of good restaurants within short walking distance.
What we most remember about our stay was Patty's really warm personality and genuine hospitality, her excellent breakfast and that the location is the real Puerto Rico, far removed from the sanitized tourist areas further north.

Room Tip: upstairs for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My mother and I visited PR in March 2013. That has been our first and, perhaps, last time. After reading wonderful reviews about Casa Libre, our choice fell there, naturally. Unfortunately, Pattie was visiting her son in CA then and that was really, really bad. Josue was nice but didn't do much at all. His wife didn't give a thought at all. Breakfasts were horrific: once she gave a sausage by itself literally so I had to go and ask for bread... We went two days without cleaning the bathroom so slept in the particualr smell. And many and many other things. I have read in the reviews how careful and informative the hosts are - not in our case. They knew we were going to go to Culebra and didn't tell us that tickets are better to be bought in advance. As a result, we had a wasted day and one more frustration.
At first, I thought to let it go and my 70 y.o. mom asked so, too, but then I decided to write what happened to at least make other people make sure that Pattie IS going to be there during thier visit otherwise it is a complete waste of time and money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yakargin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I were just passing by Naguabo and stopped to get a bite to eat by the bay, we saw their sign and decided to call and check it out.., to my surprise the rooms were nicer than a comfort inn and suites hotel room, and also less expensive... We decided to stay... Ended staying 3 night in a row... Very convenient, and close to Fajardo, Humacao and Luquillo... The owner Josue and his wife Dawn, treated us like family, great hospitality, private pool, great breakfast and very clean facilities.. Thanks guys!!! See you next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
272 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I met the owner at a camp out on the West Coast of the US. He told me about his place and a few months later, there I was, soaking up the sun and dining on the beach in Naguabo. I loved it. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. I was made to feel very comfortable. The pool is lovely and the hotel has a great view of the little beach and the rain forested hills nearby. The owner was able to pick me and show me around the island a bit. The food was fantastic. There was a huge selection of books, games and videos, but all I had time for was enjoying the scenery and chatting with the owners. I can't wait to go back to see Josue and his family and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naguabo
9.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
9.8 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
3.8 mi away
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
#3 of 4 in Naguabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Moyano
Hacienda Moyano
#1 of 4 in Naguabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
5.6 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
10.3 mi away
El Escondido Guest House
El Escondido Guest House
#1 of 2 in Canovanas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Libre Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Libre Puerto Rico

Property: Casa Libre Puerto Rico
Address: #188, Calle 8, Playa Hucares | Playa Hucares, Naguabo 00718, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Libre is located in Playa Hucares, Naguabo - a quaint fishing village on the South Eastern Coast of Puerto Rico. Situated one block from the water, visitors can walk to the waterfront boardwalk or take in the view while dipping in the pool. Great destination for travelers seeking the attractions of the East, including El Yunque, Luquillo Beach & Bio-Luminescent Bay of Fajardo. Guests enjoy comfortable rooms, familiar atmosphere, great hospitality & hearty breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Libre Puerto Rico Hotel Naguabo
Casa Libre Puerto Rico Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing