We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in Middle of El Yunque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in Middle of El Yunque”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A buddy and myself stayed at Casa Cubuy for a couple nights. It was definitely the highlight of our week-long drive around Puerto Rico. I'm sure it takes a lot to maintain this place where the climate and environment are so extreme but Matthew, the owner, does an excellent job with his wife and kids! The rooms were clean and the breakfast was fresh! The view is amazing from the hotel! The north side of the rainforest was closed due to a harsh conditions earlier in the week so we were sure glad to be able to stay here and still hike though the old route. Matthew has also made a private trail behind this place which leads down to a river which you can swim in if there's not too much fast-moving water. It's an amazing place and even more impressive that he built the trail! Despite the power going out the 2nd night due to heavy rainfall, it didn't bother us at all and breakfast the next morning was just as delicious! It was a great, peaceful, relaxing stay and I'm glad Matthew runs the place so others can enjoy staying in the rainforest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ap453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    92
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
47
139
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plant city,fl
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at one of his property in Sierra Palms. Normal basic necessities but nice and clean. Its little expensive for almost ~$140/night but then to think of it that one of the only places in El Yunque where you can stay with kids. Matthew was very nice and accommodating. We were glad we had the room at Sierra Palms because its seriously pretty and we had our privacy. No mosquitoes, may be 1-2 insects/lizard and yes lots of coqui. Though none come inside your room as there is net in the windows but its amazing to hear the coqui.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handofgod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This ecolodge feels like comfortable camping: nice rooms and the mountain is at your feet but you are very much in the outdoors. There are no restaurant choices nearby, making this area fairly debilitating. The views are breathtaking though and there are trails down to 4 rivers and a natural swimming area. Great for the nature enthusiast or those wanting to get away from society. Must be willing to drive isolated mountain roads to this secluded spot.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights in early May in one of the Sierra Palms rooms, a few hundred yards downhill from the Casa itself with its family-style breakfast, but Sierra Palms is right next to the restaurant where dinners are offered. The dining here is first-rate, not in the sense of elegance but rather substantial, well-made meals; I ate seafood risotto the first night and meat loaf the second, both very pleasing. The lodge's hiking trail drop steeply down to a river but the trail is in good shape even when wet. It's possible to engage the services of a local Anglo transplant, Rex Cauldwell, who will guide the visitor to the sites of many petroglyphs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan45RandolphNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

As others have said this is not a high-end place so don't expect it. Instead it fits perfectly with the whole jungle experience. The view from our room was spectacular - the doors open the width of the room out to a balcony overlooking the jungle. The Breakfast was fantastic - lots of good food and fun conversation with the other guests. Matthew and his mother Marianne were very nice and helpful with trail info. Their cook Ludy (also cooks at their restaurant down the road) is very good and so friendly. It is not far from the beach and towns below so you can go there for site-seeing and dinner if you want.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor in room 5 and had no close neighbors. It was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaBarbTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I loved this hotel. It is modest, so if you're looking for a high end boutique hotel, look elsewhere. This hotel is for those who seek peace and tranquility. There are no phones, no tvs, no a/c units. A lot of the rooms overlook the rainforest. At night we slept with our windows open. And the sound of the coqui frogs eased us to sleep. In the morning, we were served a wonderful full breakfast of homemade pancakes, fresh fruit, porridge, juice and coffee. Matthew, one of the owners, was delightful. He has carved out an amazing trail in the forest, which we happily and easily navigated. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The only reason I didn't give it five stars was because there is really no where else to eat around here besides the restaurant down the road, that they own. And they only accept cash there.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms on the 2nd floor, that overlook the rainforest. They're not that much mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington VA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Pluses...great, although somewhat remote location; outstanding views from the second floor rooms; no mosquitoes or other flying critters; friendly staff; good hiking opportunities; good birding on the property (the best birds we saw in the rain forest we saw from our balcony.); about an hour and 15 minutes from San Juan airport.

Minuses...a tad pricey for what it is; rigid 'breakfast at 9' rule, when we and most we spoke with would have preferred to eat earlier; limited dinner options...their restaurant just down the road was very good, although also a tad pricey...they were out of several menu items on two nights, and one night, we were told at around 5pm that it wouldn't be opening that evening. There aren't too many other options due to the remote location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naguabo
9.6 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
11.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
987 reviews
6.6 mi away
El Escondido Guest House
El Escondido Guest House
#1 of 1 in Canovanas
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
3.9 mi away
Hacienda Moyano
Hacienda Moyano
#1 of 4 in Naguabo
31 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cubuy Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubuy Ecolodge

Property: Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Address: Route 191 Km 22 | Rio Blanco, Naguabo 00744, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Cubuy Ecolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is set into the mountain with a large balcony that overlooks the forest. There are ten guest rooms and a villa down the road. Its great for bird watching. Peace and tranquility can always be found at Casa Cubuy. Go ahead; be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Cubuy Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Hotel Naguabo
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Puerto Rico/Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing