We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our version of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Our version of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2005

My husband & I stayed two nights at Casa Cubuy in mid-December and loved it! Incredible setting, friendly and accomodating owners & staff, and all the comforts we needed. (For us, having a phone and TV in each room, pampering, and hovering hotel staff are definite negatives -- if you need these things, go to an all-inclusive resort that caters to those sorts of preferences). In short, our room (and the lodge generally) was clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. (Room included a bed with side tables and lamps, desk and chair, armoire, plus chairs and table on balcony, private bath w/shower). Owners & staff were knowledgeable about area and helpful in suggesting activities. Breakfast was very good, and dinners (prepared for a fee if enough guests are interested) were excellent, with large portions. Nearby hiking/swimming was fabulous (though best enjoyed by folks not expecting paved and meticulously maintained trails like those found on the other side of El Yunque at the main portal into the rainforest).
All in all, it was exactly what we were looking for. We'll definitely be back to be serenaded to sleep by the coqui!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    91
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
45
137
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC/Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2005

Just back from a Thanksgiving break.

Casa Cubuy is located in the El Yunque rainforest with beautiful, sweeping views. Breakfast, served family-style, was the best in PR.

Lots of 'nature-type' things to do...but no TV and no cell phone reception. Good place to go if all you want to do is relax and unwind.

Rooms are basic - don't expect luxury. Great value for money at $90/night (especially in PR which is not cheap)!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerGrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2005

If you want a lot of natural beauty in a remote setting, this is the place for you. If you want TV, nightlife, or lots of fancy amenities, you might want to go elsewhere.

We have stayed at Casa Cubuy twice and are going again next month. The best things about the place are the views, the fantastic hiking through the rainforest right out back, the breakfasts including tons of fresh fruit, and the relaxation factor. I recommend staying in one of the top-floor rooms as they have the best views and only cost a few dollars more. The service is great, too. We did so much hiking last time that we ran out of clean clothes and they did a couple loads of laundry for us for a very small fee. They are also very helpful with info about things to do in the area.

The only minor downside for us was the unpredictablilty of dinner. When they served dinner it was great, but if not enough people order it or if there is a problem getting a cook, you are on your own. There are a couple of local restaurant/bars down the road - and I do mean local - watch out for chickens wandering through! Otherwise you have to head all the way to the main town where the pickings are not all that fantastic. I will say, though, that the food in Puerto Rico is really not my reason for going there. I would suggest bringing a bunch of things to snack on with you.

I can't stress enough that the beauty of this place is what you are coming for. You literally feel like you are in the middle of the rainforest, but you have a very comfortable, small hotel to stay in instead of a tent.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura&Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2005

We were on our honeymoon and we finally arrived to our haven at Casa Cubuy Ecolodge after a long day of commuting from ferry to taxi to rental car and then an adventurous drive up the mountain. MaryAnn greeted us at the gate and presented us to our spacious room with an expansive view of the rain forest. "You can keep the patio doors open", she said, "We have no mosquitoes because the coqui eat the larvae". We trusted her advice and fell asleep without a bite to the sweet high-pitched music of a thousand coqui frogs.

The next morning we missed our complimentary breakfast and had to travel down the narrow mountain road in search of lunch and other provisions as there were none to be found in the area. We got back just in time to go on a 3 hour guided tour to the Taino petroglyphs located on some obscure rocks in the lower falls. Our nimble and knowledgeable guide was Daniel, a charming, 14 year old local boy, whose family owns an exotic fruit farm on the mountain.

Back at Casa Cubuy, we relaxed after our hike in the outdoor living room that is in the middle of the El Yunque rain forest. We enjoyed meeting the other guests, while looking at the amazing view and listening to the exotic sounds enveloping us.

Things at Casa Cubuy were perfect with the exception of acquiring meals. During the “off season” in the late summer months, there are no decent restaurants open in the area. Casa Cubuy offers a limited selection of frozen dinners for purchase in the honor bar of the common area, but they are far from satisfying your hunger (especially if you are a vegetarian) after a long hike in the rain forest. So be prepared to travel for food or pack in dry stuff!

It’s our hope that MaryAnne will open up her big, seldom used, industrial kitchen to guests, similar to what other guesthouses offer in Puerto Rico. Why not bring in a few groceries, cook, meet friends and make merry. Just make sure you clean up after yourselves! It would make Casa Cubuy the perfect getaway in our opinion.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2005

The property is absolutely georgous. The drive UP to the lodge will scare most people to death, 20 minutes on a narrow twisting run-down road. The building is mostly old. We had to make ice ourselves in a small apartment size refridgerator. The beds were not comfortable and maid service costs extra. Water/shower was dicey. The lodge is supplied from a stream via gravity so controlling the aboundant hot water was difficult. If you don't want to climb stairs... look elsewhere. Our "ground level" room was down three flights from street level. The staff was helpful and very friendly. They prepared the best breakfasts we found in P.R. A stay here requies one to bring everything you want to eat and drink aside from breakfast and a way to keep it cold. Parking is on-street unsecured. The locals use the dead end road frequently as there is a great swimming hole 1/2 mile above the lodge at the end.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2005

This is the worst place I have ever stayed while vacationing. The room consisted of a king size bed, and 2 double beds. That was it. The charge for this? $170.00 plus tax. There wasn't a TV, alarm clock, telephone. We asked for a wake up knock on the door in the morning, never got it. The water in the shower was a light trickle. Breakfast consisted of a small fruit plate, 2 pieces of French toast, and juice. Coffee was already gone by the time we arrived downstairs, which was 9am, the time for breakfast. Also, couldn't get to sleep until 2am because of all the noise through the walls. I wouldn't recommend this place to the stray dogs that hang around the area. Also, the exterior was filthy, and the road was also littered with trash. This is by far, the worst of the worst. There was access to a river, however, if I went 5 minutes up the road, I could have a more enjoyable time in the river and pool, and that was for free.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Casa Cubuy Ecolodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2005
I want to respond to the Trip Advisor Member review dated Jul 17, 2005, from Valparaiso, Indiana. This guest did not make a reservation via telephone or Internet, in which case, they would have known that there is no TV, telephone, or alarm clock inside the room. Instead these people were guests of a neighbor, who has a house he rents short term. On that date he had no water so brought them here in the evening and paid for their lodging. The room they occupied has a king and two twin beds. It also has a private balcony with two Adirondack chairs and a table. There are three occasional chairs, a floor lamp, a coffee table, two bedside tables with reading lamps, an armoire, and a table & mirror at the entrance area. There is also original art on the walls, one of which is 6’ X 4’. This of course is very different from the description given by the guests. These guests left soon after breakfast.
This guest suggests that people swim in an area of the river “ for free” that has huge intake pipes under the surface and in fact there are signs warning of danger clearly posted all around the area.
Most guests are quite happy with our breakfasts which begins with a large dish of fresh tropical fruit. If any guest wants seconds of the main course, we happily provide it. Coffee & tea is available, at no charge, throughout breakfast.
This guest did not make any of our staff aware of any problem with noise or water. Nor did we hear of any such complaints from any other guests. At that time we were fully occupied. There are no stray dogs within a half a mile, at least, of Casa Cubuy. As for the exterior being filthy I am truly at a loss to answer such a blatant lie. Casa Cubuy is the only lodging facility in the municipality of Naguabo, Puerto Rico that is endorsed by the Tourism Company. In order to retain this endorsement, we are subject to inspections and stringent standards of quality.
We recognize that some of our neighbors are not yet as careful of the environment as we would like. We continue to work with the local government to improve this situation.
We welcome honest criticims, which helps us improve our service. It is unfortunate that the "democracy of the web" becomes the "tyrany of the web" in the hands of unscrupulous and dishonets persons who have the power via Trip Advisor to inflict serious damage on those of us who are working hard to provide the best service we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2005

Me and three friends stayed at Casa Cubuy for 2 nights, and it was a great choice! It was a bit pricey but so totally worthy every penny! It's located in the rainforest, in El Yunque. It's located up in the mountains on a rural route (191). Part of the road was taken out by a major landslide almost 8 yrs ago, about 1.5 miles up the road. There are waterfalls and rivers running through the property and below it. It's great hiking and nothing like trekking through jungle and rivers! It rained a few times on me and my friends as were hiking, but it's the rainforest. My friends and I had a fantastic time hiking and relaxing to the sound of the water and wildlife. Frankly, it's louder in the rainforest than in the city. I lived in Philly for 7yrs. But it's a pleasant sound in contrast to the city.

Our room was very clean which is a big plus. Because of the constant humidity and rain there, everything is always a bit damp. Expect your room and everything in there to feel damp to some extent. There is no air conditioning, but you totally do NOT need it. The ceiling fans are more than fine to keep things cool. It's cooler in the mountains.

Dinner was great!! When there are 6 or more people, the owner has a chef come and make people dinner. The food was absolutely divine! Breakfast every morning was wonderful and the fresh fruit to die for! Me and my three friends would highly recommend this place to anyone who loves the outdoors, and does mind the damp. And if you think a rainforest would mean big insect problems, we had no problems. All the water is constantly flowing down hill so there is little stagnant water for mosqitos. It was a very fun time as we met some great people who were also staying there.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naguabo
11.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 3 in Fajardo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
9.6 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
6.6 mi away
El Escondido Guest House
El Escondido Guest House
#1 of 2 in Canovanas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
3.9 mi away
Hacienda Moyano
Hacienda Moyano
#1 of 4 in Naguabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cubuy Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubuy Ecolodge

Property: Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Address: Route 191 Km 22 | Rio Blanco, Naguabo 00744, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Cubuy Ecolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is set into the mountain with a large balcony that overlooks the forest. There are ten guest rooms and a villa down the road. Its great for bird watching. Peace and tranquility can always be found at Casa Cubuy. Go ahead; be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Cubuy Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Hotel Naguabo
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Puerto Rico/Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing