We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 6 March 2006

Casa Cubuy is a beautiful, well-appointed lodge in an absolutely breathtaking location. Our room on the second floor was comfortable, tastefully decorated, and spotless. We had no trouble with the water supply, and the room did not lack necessities like toilet paper and soap and even shampoo. We actually came overprepared because of other reviews that lead us to believe we'd be roughing it! Contrarily, this was the most lovely lodging we stayed in throughout our PR vacation, all in the same price range.

I can't even describe the location. You have to see the beauty to believe it. No words can do it justice.

As for the food issue: breakfast is great and satisfying. The communal dinner is pricey but allows you to get to know the other guests and share travel stories and advice. The chef will prepare vegetarian options upon request.

It's true that if there are not enough guests signed up the chef doesn't come to prepare dinner. The roads are tricky so it's easier to stay around the site than to go in search of a restaurant. The honor bar has some microwave dinners and snacks. It's nothing gourmet, but look where you are! Just get something in your belly and relax.

I highly recommend Casa Cubuy. If you're on the fence, just go ahead and make a reservation. I can assure you that you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    92
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
47
139
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 February 2006

My husband and I stayed in P.R. for 10 days. We spent several days at the Ritz in San Juan, one night at a terrible B&B in the rainforest. We decided we couldn't stay there another night and had remembered that the concierge at the Ritz had recommended the Casa Cubuy Ecolodge. We were lucky enough to find it and spend our last two days at Casa Cubuy. The beautiful location, charming inn, and warm and welcoming hosts left us with such wonderful memories of P.R.

The Casa Cubuy is located deep in the rainforest, literally at the "end of the road". The road that cuts through the El Yunque National Park had been washed out dividing the park in two; the touristy side where the tour buses take people to for the day from the big San Juan hotels, and the other side that is beautiful, quiet, and surrounded by nothing but nature. Casa Cubuy is located at the end of the road where the washout occured leaving this wonderful lodge with a national park located in its back yard. We walked around the trails, and swam in the pools, for two days and never saw another person, it was wonderful!

Casa Cubuy is nestled in a peaceful, beautiful, relaxing setting surrounded by rainforest, waterfalls, and wonderful hiking trails. The lodge is comfortable, clean, with nice bathrooms, plenty of hot water. It is colorful, cheerful, and surrounded by original artwork that is not overwhelming or detracting from its surroundings. The porches are wonderful places to sit and relax and take in all the surrounding sounds of nature and beautiful veiws. There are no TVs, telephones, etc. So bring a good book, a camera, and leave all of the stress that these electronics bring behind. The breakfast was the best meal I had in my stay in P.R. There is an honor bar and some snack food but no restaurant on site. I understand that if there are enough guests who are interested in dinner they will have someone come prepare it. And, I talked to some other guests who told me that there are some placed not too far down the hill where you can have someone prepare a mean for you, and I was told the food was wonderful. Ask the owners where to go, unfortunately it was not an experience we got to enjoy.

You should know up front that the eco-lodge is not the Ritz, so if you are looking for the usual ammenities that come with luxury hotels, wait staff under foot, expensive restaurants, night life, crowds, noise, and chaos, the Ritz is the perfect place. But, if you are looking for nature, and warm and welcoming hosts with a story to share, and friendly guests then Casa Cubuy is a bit of heaven.

The road up to the lodge is an adventure of its own! While you are in P.R. make sure to go on one of the bioluminescent kayak tours. There are some great restaurants in the town where the tours take off. Make sure you read the book that the guests that have come before have written in, there are great suggestions in there.

This really is a very special place and I was very sorry that we did not have longer to stay. If we had started at the Casa Cubuy we probably would never have left for the Ritz. Unfortunately our trip started in San Juan and we didn't have enough time in this amazing place. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 February 2006

This was one of the most incredible locations to which we have ever traveled. While driving up the narrow and winding road to Casa Cubuy the views told us we were in for something special. We were able to instantly relax upon arrival at the lodge. After a warm welcome and dropping our bags in our room we headed out for a hike down the “switchback” path to the river below. This is a must see for all visitors. After returning from our hike we settled into the hammocks just outside our room, had a few Medella’s, read a book and more or less kicked back for a few hours. It was as relaxed as I can remember being in quite some time. On day 2 of our visit, after a wonderful breakfast, we setout on a hike up the road from the lodge. We went for miles and we were treated many spectacular views and a refreshing swim in a pool below a large waterfall. If you go deep into the forest make sure you wear long pants. Some of the forest plants will give you a pretty itchy rash. The good news is the rash went away within hours.

I would recommend this location to anyone who wants to relax without the distractions and trappings of modern life. This is not the Hilton, but you will find the rooms and facilities to be in line with your expectations if you read the information available at the Casa Cubuy website. That website provides an honest description of the lodge. It was PERFECT for us.

My only word of warning to potential visitors is be prepared for the frogs at night. You never see them but you sure do hear them. Our room was on the first floor and we had no problem with the “din” they created the first night. However, our second night at the lodge, one of those little noise machines took-up residence just outside our room and proceeded to serenade us most of the night. I even got out of bed to hunt him down (unsuccessfully) and my wife tried to plug her ears with tissue. My advice to you is to reserve your room early and get one of the upper rooms (better views too) or bring some earplugs just in case.

Thanks to Casa Cubuy for a wonderful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2006

We found this through a friend. If you like comfort with no frills this is the place. Each room has access to the outdoors with a beautiful view of the rain forest. The rooms were clean with nice bathrooms and plenty of hot water. No Tv ( excellent!), no phones in the room. Very quiet with a great breakfast ( tropical fruit always included) and dinner if you ordered it that day was inexpensive, delicious and abundant. Fun hiking right from the lodge and waterfalls and rivers right there. If you want to access the northern part of El Yunque you have to drive around, about 45 minutes or so. That is where the established hiking trails and visitor center can be found.
We would be happy to go back there again and will try their Eco Lodge in Vieques on our next trip.

Helpful?
6 Thank guilford104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2006

My husband, daughter and I just returned from a PR vacation, which included two nights at Casa Cubuy. First - it is truly beautiful. The setting is idyllic. We hiked the trails and swam in the pools. The coquis and the waterfalls sang us to sleep each night.

Breakfast the first morning was plentiful and delicious. The second morning it was scant. The coffee ran out early and was not refilled. The three of us left the table hungry.

One should know that it is an interesting drive (about 45 minutes to an hour down a potholed, narrow road with sharp curves) to the entrance of the Caribbean National Forest from Casa Cubuy. The Casa Cubuy lodge is in the forest, but the National Forest Visitor Center, etc. are not easily accessed from there. I did not understand that when booking Casa Cubuy and was under the impression that they were next to each other. In truth, the El Yunque forest area is much larger than I had realized and does require significant time to get around.

Casa Cubuy was beautiful but not a bargain.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mimi1125427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 January 2006

My husband and I stayed at Casa Cubuy for three nights and it was way too short. Falling asleept to the sound of the coquis and waking up to the sounds of the rushing river and tropical birds was magical. Casa Cubuy is a special place for people seeking an alternative to a typical Caribbean holiday. We had delcious, home-cooked Puerto Rican soul-food cooked by the amazing staff at Casa Cubuy, hiked the trails that led out from the lodge, and had a wonderful time meeting other people staying at the lodge. The lodge itself is very simple with a focus on the amazing location. Our room had a wall of sliding doors that opened onto a view of the rainforest, with the rushing river below. The lodge is very clean and well-maintained. We will definitely be returning to this magical place.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olean NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2006

I stayed at the Casa Cubuy February 2005 as part of my Puerto Rico vacation. This lodge has a great location. The Casa Cubuy Ecolodge is a wonderful spot for nature lovers as it has great hiking and fresh water swimming near by. This is a great alterative to the traditional Caribbean vacation. I really enjoyed my stay here. The breakfast was excellent featuring fresh fruits. Get the dinner at least once as the food is good and you can meet some interesting people at the dinner table.

However I have a warning for people who are looking for the traditional tourist thing here, you will not find it. The place intentionally tries to leaving a small foot print. Meaning low water pressure and few of the traditional wasteful amenities you would find at a 4 star. Making you way up the mountain to the location will be a small adventure for persons form flat low places (but totally worth it). Visit the website before booking.
http://www.casacubuy.com/

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bunnycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naguabo
11.7 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
992 reviews
9.6 mi away
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn
6.9 mi away
El Hotelito at the Rainforest Experience Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hacienda Moyano
Hacienda Moyano
#1 of 4 in Naguabo
31 reviews
13.0 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
9.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cubuy Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cubuy Ecolodge

Property: Casa Cubuy Ecolodge
Address: Route 191 Km 22 | Rio Blanco, Naguabo 00744, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Cubuy Ecolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is set into the mountain with a large balcony that overlooks the forest. There are ten guest rooms and a villa down the road. Its great for bird watching. Peace and tranquility can always be found at Casa Cubuy. Go ahead; be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Cubuy Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Hotel Naguabo
Casa Cubuy Ecolodge Puerto Rico/Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing