We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it? probably...”
Review of Casa Flamboyant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naguabo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Flamboyant
Ranked #1 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth it? probably...”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The question in my mind is not whether the property is spectacular (it is), the rainbow room is excellent (it is), the nearby waterfalls and swim holes are amazing (they are), etc. but whether it is worth $250/night (rainbow room). shirley is one of the best b&b hostesses we have ever had - she immediately puts guests at ease but is not the least bit intrusive or controlling. the dogs are fun and sweet, the frogs are loud at night, and breakfasts were great. nearby noelia's (two miles away) has decent food, a fun atmosphere. noelia is truly incredible; one of a cast of characters on the south side of el yunque that we felt we were starting to know after a 3 day visit. As others have said, be aware that you are pretty isolated and can not get to the north side easily (without a machete) where most of the hiking trails are located. if you want to hike, ask shirley to call robin and hire him as guide; he knows all the best spots and is fascinating to talk to as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucretious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
233
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I have to say that my wife and I are in love with this place. The two nights that we spent there were truly amazing. Here are some of the things that make this place magical: the beautifully stunning views of El Yunque rainforest, the sound of the river flowing down the side of the mountain, the Coquí frogs chirping at night, the hiking trails, swimming down at the river, the friendly locals, delicious local food....the list goes on, but what tops this all off is Shirley, the owner's warm and welcoming disposition. As soon as we got there we were greeted by her along with Emo and Soma, her beautiful and super-friendly dogs, and right from the start we felt at home. She gave us tips on where to grab a bite, how to go down to the river and hiking trails, plus her delicious breakfasts are to die for. Too bad we were only there for a little, we would've enjoyed staying there a couple of more nights. We highly recommend this place. As newlyweds, we thought this was a perfect start to our honeymoon. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Ginger Room, and it was very private and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Why so many 5-star reviews? Because they are all right on! We stayed one night middle of week and what a special visit. Bring ear plugs if you think the sound of squeaking/chirping frogs and waterfall all night might keep you awake! Personally, I loved waking frequently to the sound then drifting back to sleep; it is part of the experience for me. DO NOT EXPECT to have WiFi or internet unless you have AT&T but then if you require 24/7 use of your phone to text this is not your retreat. This place is for those who can, or want, to get away from it all for a night, or more! If you have an emergency need, Shirley has an iPad w/AT&T access but she does not do texting or email. You need to use the phone and call her to make a reservation.

Location? My Garmin Nuvi 500 has it at N18 15.609 W65 47.741 ( also try google below http to copy past in web search ) and you must use exit 22 off highway 53. You cannot enter El Yunque forest from highway 3 to get there. The road over the top of El Yunque has been closed by a landslide for maybe 30+ years. So you need to go east past Fajardo on highway 3 and around south onto highway 53 to exit 22 near Naguabo, PR to get close. You take 191 up about 8 miles on a small 2-lane road. When you get to the closed end of the road you have gone about a mile too far. Shirley will tell you her place has no signs and a pink wall. Yes, there is a door in the center of this 100', or so, wall and it has a 1' square peep door in it. If you stop and knock, a dog will bark announcing your arrival. Gotta love it! Definately worth the trouble to find the place. Enjoy. try this google search as well::

https://maps.google.com/?ll=18.260987,-65.796588&spn=0.001358,0.002095&t=h&z=19

Very peaceful and worth every penny and every minute! Go relax.

Final word; buy a GPS for about $100 that includes Puerto Rico maps. Be sure you can use your computer to load it up with POI, points of interest, of places you want to visit. Finding addresses in Puerto Rico is a pain unless you understand they use Km (mile markers) as addresses for almost every place.

Room Tip: If the Rainbow room is booked, Shirley will assist you on room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Accplu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Couldn't ask for a nicer getaway! Surrounded by the beauty of the rainforest. Shirley our host was most gracious. Nothing overlooked for our comfort. Breakfasts were to die for.....best french toast ever and light and scrumptious omelet the next day. No crowds or hassles, only the sounds of nature at night! She arranged for a guide to take us through the rain forest. I couldn't believe I made it! It was an awesome hike! I never slept better the house is beautifully decorated, you won't tire of the view. We even took a shorter hike, just my husband and I, down to a waterfall, totally private! Awesome memory, thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Flamboyant for one night. I wish it had been for two. This place was spectacular!

This B&B was superb in every detail. The views were stunning. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and nicely equipped. Shirley is an amazing host and really takes great care of her guests.She cooked up one of the most delicious breakfast I have ever had.

The sounds of the jungle were soothing and relaxing. The hike to the waterfall swimming hole was quite an unforgettable experience.

I loved the terrace which provided stunning views of the jungle. What a great place to relax and soak in all the sounds and sights.

We loved this hidden gem and I would highly recommend to anyone looking for an amazing and unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Ginger Terrace Room. It was amazing and the bed was very comfortable. Amazing views. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesedwardfox
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 3 nights in June of this year and couldn't recommend it more highly. The views are spectacular, the view from the terrace overlooks lush rainforest and you really get an experience of a jungle retreat- while still getting all comforts of a lovely place to stay.

I read a couple of negative reviews about the frogs before I came out. Having now been, it seem slightly bizarre that someone would choose to stay in the middle of the jungle and then be surprised there is noise from the local wildlife. For me, I love the noise of the jungle at night- and would recommend the singing frogs as a reason to visit, not the other way round. So if your worried about noises from nature- stay in a quiet hotel in New York instead!

Me and my girlfriend really enjoy walking and met some friends who travelled with us to old San Juan. We had a day visiting the north side of the jungle and it's a huge difference from taking walks from Casa Flamboyant. The road up to the middle of the jungle from Casa Flamboyant was the only place we saw people for the whole day on our 2nd long jungle walk, where as the north side felt something closer to visiting the London Eye, there were loads of people there and the waterfall was so busy- with rubbish lying around.

So in general- check this place out. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesedwardfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at Casa Flamboyant in late May and had an unbelievable experience!!!

We scheduled a last minute, 10 day trip to Puerto Rico when we discovered that my wife's Passport was expired and we had to cancel our trip to Europe. I did research on TripAdvisor and Lonely Planet and decided that Casa Flamboyant would be a great spot to start our trip. I played phone tag with Shirley and ultimately was able to book the Rainbow Room. It turned out to be pretty easy (about 90 minutes) to get from San Juan Airport up to the Casa. The last few miles of the drive are on a narrow and steep mountain road full of parked cars, chickens, dogs, children, and a horse. We ultimately had to ask for directions as there was no sign for the Casa but were quickly able to find it.

The Casa is absolutely breathtaking. It is the third to last dwelling on the road that Dead Ends into the rainforest. It is literally hanging off of a cliff and the views are epic. The pool and deck areas and enchanting with the clouds flowing from the ocean up through the valley and into the forest.

The Rainbow Room was very clean and beautifully prepared for our visit. It is on a lower level from the rest of the facility and much more private with its own balcony overlooking the forest and out to the ocean.

Make sure you stop on your way from where ever you are coming from for food and drinks. Shirley provides an excellent breakfast but the food and dining options for lunch and dinner are EXTREMELY limited. You may want to ask in advance in Shirley can make you lunch as there is nothing available within a 30 minute drive. The units have a mini fridge so you can bring lunch items, beer, wine, water, etc. We made the mistake of not bringing anything and had an hour+ round trip the next day into town to stock up. Dinner options are very limited as well. The only spot worth mentioning is Noelia's right down the street. It is located in a dilapidated shack, is not very clean, and they have Spanish Sitcom's turned up all the way on the TV. We loved the place!! Noelia is so nice and makes some of the best grilled fish I have ever had. Her sangria is also excellent. Make sure to have Shirley call in advance as Noelia sometimes goes Salsa dancing in the city and only the bar is open.

The pools and stream flowing below the Casa magical. Robin Phillips told us the water has been tested periodically and is some of the cleanest and most pure water in North America. The hike down from the casa to the stream is not technically difficult, but is steep and can be very slippery as you are in the rainforest. Bring GOOD water shoes/hiking boots to walk down in. There are two pools with waterfalls that are only accessible from the Casa and over the course of our 4 hikes down, we never saw another soul. The pools are deep enough for swimming, safe, and you can sit under multiple waterfalls. One day we hiked and bouldered about a half of a mile down river. This is much more technical and difficult hiking and climbing as the rocks are huge and it is fairly steep and slippery. There are more swimming pools down river and the views get better and better as you get to where the two streams merge.

If you hate dogs, this is not the place for you as Shirley has three dogs that are very friendly but can be very annoying at times. As we are dog lovers, they didn't really bother us but I could understand how it would drive certain people crazy.

Definitely take a Rain Forest tour with Robin Phillips. The day we did this was the best of our trip. We hiked a total of 10 miles with Robin on mostly unmarked trail through the forest eating a variety of plants and berries along the way. He has lived in the forest for over 20 years and there is probably no one in Puerto Rico that knows the history, the flora, and the fauna any better. I would recommend booking a private day trip with him ($140/entire day) so that you can go at your pace. If you are going with others, try and see if they are looking for a similar trip. (He said some people only want to do 2-3 miles where as we wanted to do 10)

Shirley's was an excellent host who sincerely was interested in making our stay special.

Hopefully we can go again next year!!

Room Tip: Get the Rainbow room if it is available. The other rooms are great but the Rainbow Room is truly sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naguabo
36.4 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
10.7 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
23.9 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
9.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
22.6 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Flamboyant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Flamboyant

Property: Casa Flamboyant
Address: Route #191, Naguabo 00718, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true gem in the Caribbean, this timeless estate adjoining El Yunque National Forest, offers the ultimate luxury...Quiet beauty, inspiring views and rejuvenating energy. Your escape from the conventional at our boutique guest house where you will be lulled by warm, gentle breezes and the beckoning of the 28,000 acre El Yunque National Forest...The only tropical rain forest in the US Forest System. This mountaintop retreat is your escape to paradise with private jungle paths and waterfalls, and a dipping pool you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Flamboyant Hotel Naguabo
Casa Flamboyant Puerto Rico/Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing