We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views, Great Property”
Review of Casa Flamboyant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naguabo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Flamboyant
Ranked #1 of 4 Naguabo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Casa Flamboyant for our anniversary, and were very happy with our choice. It's on the back side of El Yunque national forest, so it's a bit of a drive from San Juan, but it means that you're really off the beaten track and can explore without running into people. Shirley has created a beautiful home, and really makes you feel welcome. She's more than willing to talk about the area, give advice on hikes (or guides), pass on information about local restaurants, etc. We drove into Fajardo one night for dinner, which is a very reasonable drive. Shirley tipped us off that some construction was going on, and gave us very clear directions to avoid it.

The house is third from the end of the road winding up the mountains, and opens into an incredible view down to the ocean. The property is surrounded by flowers and a variety of plants- exactly what you'd expect in the ideal Caribbean retreat (especially with the coqui chirping at night). The pool is perfect- so refreshing.

Shirley prepared a delicious breakfast each morning, with coffee, fruit plates, juice, and our main dish. The variety was impressive, and the food was very tasty.

Shirley's dogs, Emo and Zoma, are incredibly sweet and well trained. They were very willing to interact or leave us alone, depending on our mood.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Forever and Ever Room. It's on the main floor, closest to the common space, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADayOrTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

First of all accomodations clean, unique and beautiful. Then when you're not listening to the waterfalls and wondering at how so many exotic and wonderful flowers normally confined to a terrarium could pssibly grow so large, you look more closely at the furnishings and appointments that have made this property a destination for choosy travelers.

Much hiking from easy to challenging can be done right from the property and into the rainforest and rivers. Stayed two nights and next time will stay longer.

Breakfasts were exceptional and so was the service. Even to the extent that when we forgot a bag Shirley delivered it to San Juan, our next stop. Sharon & Jim, from British Virgin Islands & Sarasota Fl

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Beautiful facility with rain forest views that are out of this world. Short hike to the river below and spent the day there bathing an admiring the incredible flora in complete privacy.
Shirley made us feel at home and prepared a tasty breakfast each morning. Rooms are clean and well appointed with incredible views of the mountains and the waterfalls.
Dinner choices are limited; good Puerto Rican food at Noriela's (about a mile down the road), or drive all the way to Naguabo Beach for great seafood (Lobster a la parrilla, or fried chillo highly recommended).

We will stay in Casa Flamboyant for our next visit to El Yunque.

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here a while ago. Not sure why I never wrote a review but shame on me. We both looooved this place. Shirley was an excellent and charming host and if the more recent reviews are any indication, that has not changed. The place was clean and perfectly located so you have a view of the mountains and luquillo beach off in the distance. The sounds at night are out of this world and the flora and fauna are a delight to the senses. The other guests as well were the icing on the cake. Also, not sure if its still oferred but there was a local gentlemen that did a 8-9 hour hike through the forest with his young song and that was amazing also. This was one of the most magical vacations I've taken. (FYI: this site only gives me the option to state I traveled in September 2012 but it was before 2012)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad08NewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Casa Flamboyant and we enjoyed every second. We stayed in the Rainbow room which has a private balcony with amazing views of the mountains, waterfalls and forest below. Shirley was an excellent host and made sure we were comfortable while there. She even took care of getting our luggage delivered which showed up a day behind us on the island. That small gesture allowed us to enjoy ourselves and not stress about if it would get there, thank you so much for that Shirley!!! As others have said, bring snacks and drinks as there is nowhere near to purchase them. The one restaurant down the mountain Noella's is about as authentic PR food as you can get, just understand you may be dining with her dog who loves French fries! This was a great place to "unplug and disconnect" and I would highly recommend including this stop on your trip to the island. Thanks again Shirley. Todd and Lisa

Room Tip: Go with the Rainbow room as it is private and benifits from the moutain breeze. (no A/C)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Casa Flamboyant was amazing - wish we could be there now! We split our trip between Old San Juan and the Rainforest and wish we had spent more time at Casa Flamboyant. The b & b was so nice and the views were absolutely incredible. We stayed in the Rainbow room and even though the price was more expensive it was worth it for the solitude.

We slept each day with the doors and windows open and the sounds were so soothing. It was so sad to leave to go back to San Juan on our last day. We could have spent another day exploring the rainforest or doing an adventure tour.

Shirley was so sweet and accomodating. All of her local recommendations were right on. Our favorite place was Noella's restaurant about a mile from the b & b. It was a totally local experience and Noella treated us like family.

Shirley made incredible breakfasts both mornings we stayed there. We had the french toast and quiche and both were delicious!

We will recommend Casa Flamboyant to all our friends and family who go to Puerto Rico for a relaxing, incredible experience. Thank you Shirley for an incredible trip. We hope to be back sometime soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rainbow room and even though the price was more expensive it was worth it for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellymfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Gorgeous b&b located above the mountains and bordering El Yunque National Park.

Rooms: charming, spacious, clean, well equipped. There is a small refrigerator for food items. Wine opener, cutting board and knife for meals. There is a DVD Player and tons of movies to choose from.

Food: gourmet made to order breakfasts. There is a small restaurant down the road that Shirley (inn keeper and owner) recommends her guests to go to for dinner. I highly recommend it - excellent local Puerto Rican food. I recommend that you stock up with snacks or lunch items (ie bread, deli meats, fruit) prior to arriving as the location is approx. 30 mins into town and there isn't anything really nearby for lunch or snack items. It is especially useful for any hikes.

The house itself: beautiful pool with spectacular views overlooking the mountains, waterfalls, horizon. There are great outdoor sitting places for relaxing.

Hiking: Casa Flamboyant is on the south side of El Yunque, a nice and alternative reprieve from the touristy northern side. Shirley offers a hiking route (you can start the hike right behind the house). She offers walking sticks, backpacks, and towels.

Inn keeper: Shirley is super hospitable and sweet. Thank you Shirley for the great stay!!

I highly recommend this place for your stay at El Yunque.

Tip: payment can not be made online. It's either check or cash. Directions will be provided for you via regular postal mail. So plan ahead.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KIMBERLY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naguabo
10.7 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
36.4 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
23.9 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
25.6 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,764 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Flamboyant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Flamboyant

Address: Route #191, Naguabo 00718, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Naguabo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naguabo
Price Range: £110 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true gem in the Caribbean, this timeless estate adjoining El Yunque National Forest, offers the ultimate luxury...Quiet beauty, inspiring views and rejuvenating energy. Your escape from the conventional at our boutique guest house where you will be lulled by warm, gentle breezes and the beckoning of the 28,000 acre El Yunque National Forest...The only tropical rain forest in the US Forest System. This mountaintop retreat is your escape to paradise with private jungle paths and waterfalls, and a dipping pool you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Flamboyant Hotel Naguabo
Casa Flamboyant Puerto Rico/Naguabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing