We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biker friendly hotel that is great for travelling on a budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talgarth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talgarth
Roscrea
1 review
“Biker friendly hotel that is great for travelling on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We had a great time staying in the this hotel. The room for four was more than big enough and clean and comfortable. The staff were great and Pip and Jan not only took great care of us but they even entertained us on the final night.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionabwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Good,clean hotel/pub,very friendly staff,room was good, very large and quiet,2 single,s plus an adult size bunk bed+onsuite,Food was excellent and very resonable/as was the price of staying.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

We recently stayed in a bunk room for three days whilst mountain biking in the area. The Tower hotel was a great base, with good trails nearby, a drying room for clothes, basic but clean rooms and very good beer on tap from their very own micro-brewery.

Most importantly, the owners were welcoming and hospitable, making us all feel at home. Highly recommended and great value.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Braontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We were a group of 12 bike riders on a three day ride from North to South Wales. The Tower was an excellent stop off flocation or the end of day three. Landlord provided a lock up for our bikes, twin rooms are roomy and comfortable, bunk rooms for groups of 4 & 5 of us were fine, hot water was plentiful which is all you need after riding 80 miles!. Drying room at end of corridor for kit was great to dry off our clothes.

Big hearty english breakfast, Landlord was a great host and took £60 of our bill to donate to teh charity we were riding for. As a location for walking or riding the beacons you can't beat it. Only a few miles from teh start fo the Taff trail which goes all teh way down to Cardiff.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owainthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We were a group walking the Offas Dyke Path and, with heavy rain forecast overnight, decided to look for a bunkhouse. The Tourist Information Office in Hay provided some information but we discovered the Tower almost by accident. Talgarth is only 10 miles from Hay and there are buses but we had a support car at this point.

This felt like an as yet undiscovered gem of a place and a great base for discovering the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons.

The 'bunk rooms' are very cheap but more comfortable than a lot of expensive hotels I have stayed in. The bunk beds have been specially made and are longer and wider than most normal hotel beds guaranteeing a great night's sleep. More importantly they don't squeak when someone rolls over. One bunk room (sleeps 4) has an on-suite and a second one (sleeps 4) has a bathroom next door. There is also a drying room.

The food was good and the owners of the hotel went out of their way to make us feel welcome. If only more hotels were like this !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We stayed at the Tower Hotel for three nights and we were very well looked after by the landlord and his wife. A very well run family business, which combines a pub with surprisingly clean hotel hotel rooms. Bunk bed rooms are ideal for a low budget weekend or week of cycling/hiking in the Beacons. I slept better than in many luxurious hotels I have been. A drying room proved to be a very useful facility after a day out cycling in the wet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ugosantalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

We looked for a while for a place to stay in the area before we were recomended the Tower by some friends.

Unfortunately on the drive down we were delayed and arrived very late. We called ahead and spoke to the manager who welcomed and looked after us with food, drinks and secure storage for our bikes.

We had not planned ahead but they accomodated us with an early and excellent cooked breakfast so we could make the most of our stay. The staff proved highly knowledgeable on the routes we planned to take and gave us some sage advice.

Unfortunately one of our group had a problem with their bike that would have ended their weekend but the owner found a local hire company to open and repair it on a Bank Holiday Sunday early in the morning! If this was not enough he then drove him to the repair shop, waited and drove him back.

When we came back wet and tired, we were looked after well and relaxed with a friendly bunch of locals in the bar where we discoverd they also have a very good micro brewery.

The rooms are clean, beds more than comfortable and they have all the facilities you could want including highly important drying rooms.

Don't be put off by the low prices, this is not a hostel but a small hotel and gives you service that hotels costing ten times the price would be embarassed by.

It is not a boutique luxury hotel but a great base to explore from.

In summary, if you are looking for a comfortable, perfectly located (nestling between the Brecon Beacons and Black Mountains), bargain of a hotel you will not go far wrong with the tower, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goose5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talgarth
2.8 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
4.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
6.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
7.6 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel

Property: Tower Hotel
Address: The Square, Talgarth LD3 0BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talgarth
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tower Hotel Talgarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing