We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvery In Restaurant”
Review of Tower Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talgarth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talgarth
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Carvery In Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Went to the Talgath Festival last Saturday and had a carvery at the Tower Hotel. We had a wonderful welcome from the owner and an excellent meal, lots of meat and plenty of fresh veg of your choice, couldn't have been better. Thanks a lot for a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Good hotel near the town centre. Talgarth is a peaceful town and the tower is one of the best hotels in Talgarth. It is a good value for money the rooms are generally cleaned. A bar is open to the public downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Talgarth is a small and pretty town; the the hotel is in what amounts to the town square, the hotel reminds me of similar hotels of the seventies and eighties since many of the main features are still there; well worn but well polished wood but nowhere attempting to be modern and flashy. My bedroom was very large compared with more upmarket hotels built more recently. The carpets throughout were thick and and clean and the bed perhaps the most comfortable that I have ever slept in! No frills but everything spotlessly clean.
The restaurant doesn't offer a wide range of dishes but the food was 'cheap and cheerful' but when on holiday it is good to experience the cooking in any number of good restaurants in the surrounding countryside if you are looking for wider choices.
I was impressed by this rather old fashioned hotel but where it is particularly outstanding is in the friendliness of the young staff and the owners. Nothing is too much trouble for them and every courtesy is afforded the guests.
I will certainly stay there again should I be looking for a hotel in the area.

Room Tip: My favourite would be the room overlooking the town square with both bath an desperate shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a family night camping local to Talgarth and decided to walk into town for evening meal. Wed night, so very little open, and a spanish guest with us did not like fish and chips, so dived into the Tower on the off chance. Once seated we were a bit unsure what to expect - with boxes of second hand furnishings stacked around us, and somewhat outdated decor........we ordered a range of meals (as they only had one or two of our preferred dishes) and then waited for about 45 mins. just as frustration was setting in, we were served some really quite good meals. Steak and Ale pies were homemade, generous and tasty. The rack of ribs was generous, good value and went down well with our guest. My wife's chicken curry was again very obviously homemade and it tasted excellent. The staff/owners were friendly, inviting and interested. I would recommend this hotel for a pleasant good value evening meal venue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent Saturday night here with six mates on our annual walking and ale sampling jaunt. We stay at different digs every night as we have done over the past ten years and I can say this is one of the best we have bunked in. The hotel has a clean and tidy appearance inside, a mixture of traditional and some modern in the re- fitted bathroom in our dorm. It's cheap and cheerful so don't expect Hilton standards, but we loved it. They had a home-brewed ale on tap and we were shown the 'brewery' by the landlord's son (sorry, can't remember your name!) The other beers were good too. We sat out on the terrace looking over the street in the sun and it was great! The brekky was a good start to the day, good quality and lots of it. Very friendly staff and were made to feel welcome. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Newdog06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I came here because they have a onsite brewery, unfortunately they didn't have any of there own beer available in the bar. They had 4 other real ales on tap from the local area. Food in the bar was reasonable. My room was a good size, a 4 single bed room with new carpet & newish bathroom, and I slept well. Breakfast was excellent the next morning, met the friendly chef who offered to send me some beer.. but I said I'd return one day. The area around Talgarth is stunning, with plenty of walks etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We came across The Tower Hotel by chance. After running a 10mile race we were starving. The outside of the Hotel looked very inviting and the outside eating area was lovely (though full). It took us a while to find the door as the signs are a little obscure and once inside its a very old fashioned place. We were warmly welcomed by the daughter and then found that her dad was the cook. The home made food was excellent. One of the best Sunday roasts I've had. Choice of 3 meats (all 3 if you wanted). The food cooked extremely well and there was ample. The service was warm and friendly and they went out of their way to make sure we were ok and fed well. For a little place top top marks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talgarth
4.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
607 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
179 reviews
6.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
468 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
448 reviews
15.5 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel

Property: Tower Hotel
Address: The Square, Talgarth LD3 0BW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talgarth
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tower Hotel Talgarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing