We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm”
Review of New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Talgarth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The new inn was falsely advertised as a 'bed and breakfast' claiming each room to hold an en-suite and continental breakfast, however on arrival we were notified that any form of breakfast came at an extra charge of £5 which included either a full-English or bowl of cornflakes. The bedrooms were extremely small however the beds were comfy. Good location for the village

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Comfortable, clean rooms. Some noise from other residents returning back late - not their fault, just extremely creaky floorboards!
Very good value - didn't have breakfast, so can't comment on that.
On the edge of Talgarth - convenient for both Hay and Brecon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathsheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very accommodating staff who were attentive.
Good thai food.
Room were very good value. 49 pounds per room. They were clean and comfortable.
Don't expect 5 star accommodation as its dated and worn but or 49 pounds for a night what do you expect!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The family room is quite small for three people. We were given a key to the bathroom. I am not sure whether the bathroom was for our exclusive use. There is kitchenette which has a microwave, a fridge and plates and cutlery. The accommodation is clean. However, no soap was provided in the bathroom.

There was a notice stating that quests would be billed if the linen was stained.

Wifi is free.

Breakfast is £5 per head which is served in the restaurant. We were provided with tea or coffee, slices of toasted white bread and margarine. The cooked breakfast consisted of a fried egg, bacon, a sausage, half a tomato, mushroom and bake beans. There was no cereal, fruit, yoghurt or jam.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esigui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Abouit 7 miles out from Hay on Wye but a good location for the Brecon County Show. £25.00 per night-cheap room, with en-suite bathroom. It was clean.Towels provided. The pub could do with TLC but we didn't stay in there apart from one drink before we went out. It was ok and served its purpose-Owners were friendly

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_ky_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed overnight for a cheeky weekend away. It was clean, and served its purpose, nothing special, close to the Beacons and Hay on Wye. Staff were nice and beds comfortable! Tea and coffee in the room, no hair dryer or iron or anything. Tv with a few channels. Pub downstairs seemed busy with the locals.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We wanted somewhere cheap and convenient for the Brecon Beacons, serving good food, and that was exactly what we got. Rooms were clean and comfortable and staff were helpful and friendly. We all enjoyed a fabulous Thai meal - all the courses and dishes were clearly made with skill and tasted great. The locals were very friendly, especially the guy who was awestruck by our pet giant. The only other guest wasn't quite so endearing, however; upon our giggling return at around 1.30 a.m., he immediately started bellowing through his door that he was trying to sleep, not unreasonable at that time of night, but rather abrupt and tactless nonetheless. The grotty oik roared out of the car park in his tatty hatchback the following morning in a fuming mood, ranting at anyone who would listen, while his poor wife cowered apologetically in his ample shadow. I'm sure if the guy can operate a computer he will be writing a stinking review, but if not you will probably hear him cursing and swearing his way across the country sooner or later. Anyway, we had a smashing time and would return without hesitation. From the men in tweed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHunter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talgarth
4.1 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
642 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
186 reviews
7.6 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
17.0 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 4 in Blaenavon
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Talgarth
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: Bronllys Road, Talgarth LD3 0HH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Talgarth
Price Range: £55 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Inn is based in the small village of Talgarth, on the edge of the Brecon Beacons. The pub is under new management since October 2014 and has been refurbished and updated. The New Inn offers a warm welcome and cosy environment, whether you're coming for a quick drink, a meal or your staying in one of our bed and breakfast rooms. we have 2 double en suite rooms, 1 twin room en suite, 1 family room with a private shower room and a Family room with shared bathroom. The restaurant is open from 6.00Pm until 9pm Tuesdays - Saturday. Sunday lunch served between 12pm-3Pm Check out our web site for offers and events. Function room available for parties and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Inn Talgarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing