We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great rooms, friendly service”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Talgarth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our walking group very much enjoyed our stay here and it was difficult to fault the Castle, especially with such a good room rate. The rooms have been recently refurbished and were very comfortable and nicely decorated, with little to disturb your night's sleep. The family owners and staff were great hosts and made us feel very at home and were very relaxed in their attitude - for example we were invited to make a packed lunch for our walks from the breakfast buffet. Finally, a quick mention of the fish and chip shop attached to the pub. You can order meals from here to eat in the bar/restaurant and these were some of the best fish and chips I've had for a long time. Our only disappointment, was hearing that the owner may be selling the property, which would be a real loss, as we intend to return next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Cost bare with comfy chairs,
All the staff were most attentive and helpful.
The rooms are well equipped, clean and comfortable.
The help your self breakfast bar was well stocked and made for a late and relaxing morning.
Will stay again, Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed at The Castle Hotel over the Christmas and New Year period. The customer service was the best i have ever encountered. All the staff were helpful, warm, welcoming and a pleasure to deal with. The room in which i stayed was extremely clean (infact, it actually looked brand new), bed was really comfy plus it had all the amenities that you could need- free highspeed wifi, sky tv, tea and coffee (kettle in room) and the breakfast was top notch also! If you are ever in the Talgarth/ Abergavenny/Brecon area do yourself a favour and make The Castle Hotel the place you stay!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We ate at the Castle on Saturday night. It wasn't over busy, what looked like a few locals. The food is ordered from the fish and chip shop next door and was ok....fish and chips from a chip shop! Staff were very pleasant, nice garden for children.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were travelling through Wales when our camper van broke down. We came across the Castle hotel and had lunch while we were waiting for our van to be repaired, Kath the landlady was lovely. She welcomed us and was happy for us to "hang around" while waiting for the van.
Lunch was perfect and the host delightful. We would almost certainly visit again if we were in the area

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight though we would have been happy to if we needed to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Lovely rooms, decorated to a very high spec, great cooked breakfast, cath the lady that organised the room was very helpful and friendly, great place for access to hay and fab walks.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMBERKIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paulo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talgarth
6.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
972 reviews
4.4 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
642 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
485 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Old Radnor Barn B&B
Old Radnor Barn B&B
#1 of 7 in Talgarth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Bronllys Road, Talgarth LD3 0AA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Talgarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Talgarth
Price Range: £64 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished comfortable rooms in a well run hotel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Talgarth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing