We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great home made food ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talgarth Mill

Talgarth Mill
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Talgarth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great home made food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice meal here with my grandaughter we sat over looking the river on a sunny day my grandaughter had childs sandwich with crudités & flap jack I had the meat n cheese platter then scone jam n cream all very nice using local & home made products we will be returning very soon

Helpful?
Thank foodie0149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    60
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting place. Lots to see in a pretty location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Interesting water mill, still used to grind flour, with good signage and information. It's run now by volunteers. Pretty and surprisingly extensive terraced garden with views of the (small) river running below houses opposite and, of course, the rotating mill wheel. Nice open cafe with well-prepared food, including bread baked in their wood-fired oven, and interested, informative staff. Food a bit slow in coming (for relatively simple dishes) but was fine when it arrived.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lottery money well spent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We took a guided tour and enjoyed a well balanced and informative hour of this very interesting rebuilt flour mill.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Interesting and inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited the Talgarth Mill whilst staying in the area. We found the mill by accident driving through the village even though we had driven there on the express purpose of visiting the Mill. Signposting needs to be upgraded.
We had seen the program about the restoration of the mill on TV in Australia, so we knew something of its history, but Nick our guide really made the story come alive. He was a lovely welcoming fellow and is a real asset to the volunteer workforce who run the tours.
He told us about the mill, showed us how the water works the wheel, then took us inside the mill to see the huge cogs turning and told us how the grain is ground into flour. The tour lasted about 45 minutes and the time just flew.
There is a lovely tea room where we had afternoon tea, and a craft shop which I would have liked to explore more but they shut at four pm.
The tearoom sells bread made from the mill flour along with bread kits and flour all made the mill as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevdeb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Make the Effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Make the effort, but not on a Monday they are closed! Amazing, this cafe had lottery assistance to help regenerate the village, why close on a Monday in the summer? The cafe is clean and rustic, coffee is good and we were severed by a lovely young lady. The court yard needs a good clean up and smartening up, the tables and chairs also need cleaning, I would have liked to have viewed the mill but this was closed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryP208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talgarth Mill also viewed

 
Tretower, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Talgarth Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing