We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have stayed at Fordoun twice now. Our first visit was on our honeymoon and the second for an anniversary celebration! It is a magical place, set in a gorgeous and tranquil location. The spa is out of this world. The staff have magic hands and make you feel relaxed and pampered from the word go.

The rooms are well thought out and we loved the underfloor heating, large bath and beautiful views.

The restaurant service and food is 5 star and all meals are gorgeously presented!
We would highly recommend it and look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of an organised tour of South Africa. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and immaculate. The public areas of the hotel are very comfortable and the food especially the breakfasts were excellent. The staff are very well trained and provide a consistently and friendly level of service. Use the spa facilities they are very good. Our party left here onCloud 9.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ulsterman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Fordoun is probably the best place to stay in the Kwa-Zulu Natal Midlands. The rooms are very comfortable and in fact five new ones have recently been added. Food is excellent and the owners and staff are there to welcome you. Superb spa. Hotel set in beautiful countryside with views of the Drakensberg Wifi good. Very comfortable place to stay when travelling in the Midlands or en route between Johannesburg and Durban

Room Tip: They are all good but the new ones have your own fireplace!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It's my 2nd time at Fordoun hotel and it truly gives 5 star hotels a run.
It's immaculate, the staff treat you like they will do anything for you. I was feeling a bit chilly, so they just delivered a water bottle to my room!
Spacious and fresh. Love it

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imanhaffajee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at the Fordoun for 3 nights as part of our first trip to South Africa for a friends wedding - what a beautiful place! The room was huge and really unique. The whole place was just very peaceful. We didn't have a car so the hotel arranged for LOTS of transfers for us - I can't remember re the name if the driver but he was so helpful and when he took us to the wedding he brought a special car round! We also loved the spa and went every day! Great value treatments. I would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerlily2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

A group of my friends decided to have our 30th school reunion at Fordoun. We lovedevery moment. The rooms are fantastic. Spacious, beautiful bathrooms, great linen and all the extras. The style is real farmhouse but beautiful and well preserved and maintained. The owner John is always around and a wonderful host. He had me in tears of laughter with his stories. The spa is fantastic. The meals are great. Dont hesitate book now!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julesmilton, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear SandyC30

Thanks so much for your warm words regarding Fordoun, it is greatly appreciated.

Regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I could probably make a much longer list about Fordoun and everything I love about it. It’s a list to which I hope you will add many more reasons of your own. It’s in no particular order of importance.
1. A perfect location and great escape from the city.
2. Sheer indulgence and pure relaxation.
3. Its’ intimate, family owned and has a beautiful story.
4. The misty driveway spotted with dairy cows and lined by pin oaks.
5. The warm welcome greeting from Lazarus and all the friendly staff.
6. Stylish, comfortable bedrooms with roaring fires and attention to detail ranging from rusks for your morning coffee, sherry for the Winter chill and fine linen.
7. All the great books in the lounge.
8. The amazing food and impressive wine list. Two thumbs up to Chef Regis Drouet and his culinary team.
9. The owners involvement in the social, environmental and cultural programmes.
10. Going to sleep to silence knowing you can face the spa and fresh air on your walk the next morning – bliss!
Okay, the above is just a warm-up. I will have to continue this list at a later time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julesmilton, Owner at Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Mollyvn

Your comments make us feel very lucky to work and live were we do.

Thank you.

Warm regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
1.5 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
96 reviews
21.6 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
15.3 mi away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
2.8 mi away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nottingham Road
371 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#5 of 18 in Nottingham Road
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Price Range: £107 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing