We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury and comfort”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Fordoun is country luxury at its best with an amazing Spa. People are friendly, rooms stunning. Food is great and service is amazing. If you want a relaxing weekend away this is the perfect place. The view's are fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanitaKeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    40
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
102
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A three night stay in the midlands, Fordoun was not busy, we were out of season but the staff, accommodation and services were of a high caliber, we both made use of the Spa and had a superb massage, the public areas were full of beautiful bronzes by local artist Sarah Richards, we visited her studio and ended up taking (buying, not stealing) one home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msg101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Dear Traveler

I popped by to grab something to eat after some horse-riding. I did not stay in the hotel as I was booked elsewhere but I was famished and needed to rest my tender bottom on some soft furnishings. This was perfect for that.

The food was very good. Soup was excellent. My starter was not only beautifully presented but it was morsels of gorgeous crumbed and fried. Mains was great too.

Setting was excellent, dining hall designed in a red damask print gave it a sense of sophistication whilst the paintings of cattle kept it country.

It was good place to rest your hat too, I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beefycarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The most amazing and fantastic place to rest, relax and unwind. From the beauty of the surroundings and the delicious cuisine,5 star spa treatments and wonderful cosy rooms, this was one of the best vacations ever, indoor heated pools, landscaped gardens and log fires with spellbinding books, and the most friendly efficient staff, my husband and I were king and queen of the day, hats off to the barman and the chef. Well done to all, will b bak for my next break , an absolute jewel on Nottingham road

Room Tip: We booked a suite which was spacious comfortable and home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We had a glorious week at Fordoun.. Beautifully decorated rooms, excellent service and food,spa & pool facilities are magnificent. The beauty treatments were fantastic and had an excellent massage. Such a peaceful and relaxing place - will definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vifi_Franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just sometimes we need to reward ourselves for our hard work. Very tired from lecturing in West Africa and upon return, driving to the wonderful old East Griqualand, I took a detour to the Fordoun Spa. Wonderful food with fresh home-grown herbs, beautiful chalet with home-made organic toiletries and my own fresh coffee grounds with plunger pot (the little things that make such a difference). A spa bath which overwhelmed me a bit because I am too short to lie back without drowning!...but soon sorted with towels wedged at the foot end! Wonderful. The highlight: an aromatherapy massage with African herbs and oils developed by African Traditional Healer Dr Elliot Ndlovu.

Room Tip: No.16 in lovely calming green tones and old photos of the original dairy farm and Sylvia who groomed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
190 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just spent the most relaxing wonderful weekend here. Our room was fantastic with a wonderful view over farmland towards the Drakensberg. Staff are so welcoming and friendly, the food was excellent!!!- both the dinners and breakfasts!! The spa is beautiful, staff very professional and the treatments WONDERFUL. The grounds are large with many wonderful trees and bird watching is good especially at the tranquil lake. Lovely area to cycle, walk or run. The delights of the Midlands Meander are very close - interesting shops, home industries, eateries etc. Fordoun staff and owners really make you feel special and part of the family.

Room Tip: all are good....honeymoon rooms are wonderful with great views to Drakensberg
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dacabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
1.5 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
77 reviews
21.6 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
7.6 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#3 of 17 in Nottingham Road
132 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
Rawdons Hotel & Estate
#4 of 17 in Nottingham Road
186 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant

Property: Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Address: Nottingham Road | R103, Nottingham Road 3280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nottingham Road
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing