We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Midlands Meander Bed & Breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Milton Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Milton Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 17 Nottingham Road B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Midlands Meander Bed & Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were so delighted to discover LIttle Milton as we explored The Midlands Meander. With its beautiful gardens and lovely views of the lake and horse pastures, it was the perfect spot to relax after a long day. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean! The ensuite bathroom hosted one of the largest tubs imaginable! Ideal for soaking your cares away! Breakfast in the AM was plentiful with fruit and cereal, toast, yogurt and cheese plus eggs made to order and the most delicious croissants and chocolate muffins we've ever tasted! Our hosts, Arlene and Barry were so friendly and welcoming. We immediately felt right at home! Oh, I almost forgot! The complimentary sherry for two in our room was an extra special touch!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margiebenziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stopped over on route to Ballito and back. We found this to be a very quaint bed and breakfast with well-appointed, comfortable and clean chalet and bathroom. Breakfast was very good with lovely serene views across the gorgeous lush rolling garden with a view of the lake and horses. Definitely worth visiting again in this beautiful part of S.A!

Room Tip: The Somerset cottage is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a few nights on our way down from Johannesburg to Durban. Ideally located at the top of the Midlands Meander and near enough to the berg to experience hiking and horse riding. Our room was cozy and quaint with little touches here and there that made it perfect for relaxing after a stressful year! The gardens are beautifully kept, all in all making it a wonderfully pleasant stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stellerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here for one night to break the journey from Durban airport to the northern Drakenbergs. Little Milton is a lovely place to stay but when you are travelling in the dark particularly when it is misty then it is not an easy place to find, and the final stage of the directions from the web site could be clearer.
So for anyone in the same predicament as I Little Milton is just before Rosetta some kilometres after Nottingham Road and when you see the sign for Little Milton there is still one kilometre to go on a dirt road before you reach it.
The dirt road is perfectly negotiable with a small rental car so no problem, but if the web site directions had been clearer it would have saved me 30 minutes searching the area.
Hopefully the directions will be improved.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dncwynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vereeniging, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was a pleasant surprise on our way from Vereeniging to the South Coast we decided to over night and my parents and I were very glad we did. Not far from the main route Little Milton is a must if you are looking for secure and very well minded accommodation.

Room Tip: We slept in the outside cottage which is lovely and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donovan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

During the trip I will have to say that this cottage was the summum of cottages. It was a house. A whole house with everything in it that comes with a house. Views from the house are relaxing, seeing the hilly backdrop, a horse coral and small lake. Perfect place for a relaxed braai. The breakfast is well catered and the host makes sure it is pleasant and personal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Absolutely super . Awesome hosts - warm , caring , not over bearing. Fantastic setting with dam , fields and horses. Cozy , comfy , clean and great breakfast , incl fresh fruit salad and yoghurt plus super hot Breakkie with LEAN BACON. !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadlued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nottingham Road
4.4 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
4.5 mi away
Waterford Manor
Waterford Manor
#1 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Nottingham Road Hotel
The Nottingham Road Hotel
#2 of 17 in Nottingham Road
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hawklee Country House
Hawklee Country House
#3 of 13 in Nottingham Road
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
7.8 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Milton Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Milton Bed & Breakfast

Property: Little Milton Bed & Breakfast
Address: D682 off R103 | Rosetta, Nottingham Road 3301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Nottingham Road
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham Road
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Milton Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing