We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brookdale Health Hydro
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Nottingham Road
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Resort(Mooi River)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rob Roy Hotel(Botha's Hill)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton(Pietermaritzburg)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Town/Bush Backpackers(Pietermaritzburg)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (105)
    Filter reviews
    105 results
    Traveller rating
    96
    6
    0
    0
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    96
    6
    0
    0
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewspace of lifeworld classaqua aerobicscatch your breathfantastic treatmentsculinary skillsspa treatmentssteam room and saunathe real worldlittle piece of heaven on earthtop classnight staydelicious fooda wonderful staytalksjulietbody
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    99 - 104 of 105 reviews
    Reviewed 14 July 2013

    What a perfect oasis for anyone needing some 'me' time. Unlike many spas, Brookdale is the entire health experience. From a balanced menu to blissful treatments and from a daily exercise regime to guided relaxation. After a 6 day stay I left feeling like a brand new person. Both the 3 and 6 day packages are exceptional value for money. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the facilities, including an indoor heated pool area are well maintained and kept at very comfortable temperatures - even on the coldest days.
    Definitely on my wish list for an annual visit.

    Room Tip: I stayed in one of the standard rooms which was very comfortable. If you are looking for more luxury there are a variety of larger rooms and suites available.
    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Vanessa K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 July 2013

    Been visiting Brookdale over the last 13 years. It fails to disappoint. An actual fact - Brookdale spoils visiting any other spa's as you have experienced the best at Brookdale and second best somewhere else is just not good enough!
    Perfect breakaway for anyone looking for some time out. A very easy destination to travel to if you are wanting to travel on your own.
    Offers value for money. The Spa also offers great specials over winter. The Spa treatment rooms and accommodation are really well kitted for cold days so do not think you should only visit in summer. The indoor pool is kept at really pleasant temperatures so always comfortable to swim.

    Definitely worth putting on your list of "things I would really like to do (and will do)"

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Kirsten S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 April 2013

    Took my mum and mys sister for a spa day at Brookdale. The facilites are exquisite and very clean. The staff are very well trained and professional. The packages are reasonably priced. The food is healthy and very tasty. I am vegan and they were very happy to arrange catering to accomodate me. We left feeling relaxed and rejuvinated.

    There is a Clarins make up stand so that you can refresh your make up after all the treatments.

    Tea and biscuits, fresh fruit and cheese are available throughout your treatments.

    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Sarah S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 March 2013

    A dear friend won a stay for two and invited me along. What a wonderful experience, firstly the staff were all so sweet and helpful but above all professional, nothing was too much. The tea station was marvellous, one could quaff tea and help oneself to cinnamon and ginger all day long. The food was healthy but scrumptious, everyday was a surprise to see what the chef would come up with and one left the table without any guilt feelings. The oxygen pool had to be on the top of my list of very pleasant things to do, nice and warm on the odd overcast day. The massages! heavenly!I came away detoxed, stronger, relaxed and very inspired.

    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Bebe129
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2013

    Ok - I have been going to Brookdale for more than 14 years and I am only writing a review now. I am sure you are asking why? Because I have been trying to keep SA's best kept secret as secret as possible! During my travels as a radio show host, I have paid a visit to many health hydros. None of them however has met the standard of Brookdale, hence why we keep on going back. Why is Brookdale the best?
    1. Close to international airport - only an hours drive from King Shaka airport in Durban.
    2. Stunning setting - in the green hills of the Natal Midlands (where you can do your early morning walk)
    3. Fantastic facilities - the most beautiful outdoor and indoor pools, with steam room and sauna.
    4. Beautiful rooms in spectacular gardens
    5. The best treatments (it is a known fact that there is a long list of therapists who want to work here).
    6. Outstanding food - no one fruit a day here. Healthy balanced gourmet meals, with dessert and snacks.
    7. Professional service - from start to end.
    8. Value for money - you will not find a hydro on this standard offering these prices.
    9. You become family - After so many years owners, Wendy and Tony, feels like family. Many years ago after surviving a very traumatic experience they took us under their wings and helped us back on our road to recovery.

    I can still go on for much longer, but the fact that we visit Brookdale every year, should be the best testimony for this health hydro.

    Room Tip: Visit their site or sign up for their newsletter. Now and again they have a special partner free offer!
    • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank moniquestrydom
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews