We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent shelter and great night sky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naries Namakwa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Naries Namakwa Retreat
Ranked #2 of 17 Springbok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bochum, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent shelter and great night sky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The mountain suites are awesome, they are build around rocks and are very distinct. In one of the suites lives a gecko which is named Godfrey, there is a note to don't hurt him if he worries you. Instead you should catch him with a hand net and put him outside...
The view from the balconies is also very nice a lot of animals can be seen right through the windows and at night a lot of stars can be seen. An excursion to the viewpoint is definately worth the time, especially for witnessing the sundown. The dinner wasn't that good, but the breakfast was fine. Definately a recommendation!

Note: WIFI is not available in the mountain suites and only 60 minutes are free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    62
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
158
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just spent two nights in one of the self catering cottages. What a find. With two bedrooms, each with an ensuite, a kitchen and lounge with indoor fireplace, it was just perfect for a few days of relaxing. The staff were great and the manager is a real

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Naries Retreat on the way to the Richtersveldt. The accommodation was luxurious. The weather outside was very cold but the rooms were heated with rooms, electric blankets on the beds and lovely hot baths (showers also available in bathroom) meant that we were warm and cosy inside. We had the dinner, bed and breakfast option. Dinner was a 3 course dinner and was surprisingly good especially given the the remoteness of the site. Breakfast was exceptional especially the cold food selection. Naries Retreat makes a great stopover on a trip to the northern cape or into Namibia. It would have been better to stay an extra day so that we could have time to enjoy the trails that are available.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful little gem! We stayed at Naries on our way to Namibia. Perfect stay!!! We stayed in beautiful cottages with 2 en suite bedrooms each and comfortable, stylishly furnished lounge area with built in braai. Staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marisavanlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Every year we stop at this stunning accommodation to soak up the beauty and serenity of the Namaqualand. The self-catering chalets are perfect if you travel as a family or with friends. There are two bedrooms and each has its own bathroom. You share the kitchen & living room together. Depending on the sun you have the choice of two terraces to hang out and overlook the quite hills. Both nights we observed the Gemsbok slowly making their way up the slope while grazing. Even a wild hair came for a visit. While staying at the self-catering chalets you still have the possibility of having breakfast and dinner at the Manor House. Do not forget to take the 5km drive up the hill to the viewpoint, preferably for the sunset. Take your sun downers with you , sit on the bench in the small hut and take in the beauty of the valleys below and the slowly disappearing sun. It is breath taking for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2011Happy_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have stayed at Naries on our way back from Namibia to Cape Town, our second stay with them. It was superb. We stayed in one of their mountain suites with a fantastic view and great accommodation. The room was perfect, the service great and the food fantastic. Having just spent time in some very expensive lodges in Namibia, this was both wonderful in its own right and really good value for money. We also did some hiking on the farm, and the views are great, well marked paths and very scenic, complete with the odd antelope to see you on your way. Would recommend it wholeheartedly and will definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: The first of the mountain suites probably has the best view but all three are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magriet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
634 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

100 meters away there is a road where you might see a car once every five minutes.

This is an old colonial style residence where due to the distance to Springbok, the only terms offered are Dinner bed and breakfast.

This is definitely a place to stay for a few days and actually not drive the hire car for a day or so.

Prices start at R750 per person on low season (Feb to July) and high season rates R1110 per person at the time of writing 10 March 2014.

By SA standards this is high but by European and USA standards this is good value.

The ideal place for reflection, finishing a book, contemplating the flowers in high season and really getting away from it all. It is important to book in advance as all food has to be bought in from some distance.

They are good at what they do.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian-Snellgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springbok hotels
14.4 mi away
Kleinplasie Guesthouse
Kleinplasie Guesthouse
#1 of 17 in Springbok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
13.3 mi away
Springbok Apartment
Springbok Apartment
#3 of 10 in Springbok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
13.3 mi away
Springbok Inn
Springbok Inn
#1 of 3 in Springbok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Namastat Lodge & Caravan Park
14.8 mi away
Sperrgebiet Lodge
Sperrgebiet Lodge
#1 of 10 in Springbok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
13.0 mi away
Daisy Country Lodge
Daisy Country Lodge
#4 of 10 in Springbok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naries Namakwa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naries Namakwa Retreat

Property: Naries Namakwa Retreat
Address: Klienzee Road, Springbok 8240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Springbok
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Springbok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Naries Namakwa Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naries Namakwa Retreat, a hideaway in the heart of Namakwaland (27 km from Springbok; South Africa), offers a unique EXPERIENCE! What makes us unique? (a) Beautiful & Romantic Hideaway from City Life; (b) Personal Care; (c) Unique & Diverse variety of quality accommodation; (d) Opportunities to explore Namakwaland; (e) Wild Flower & Succulent Paradise; (f) Delicious gourmet meals, (g) the best ½-way stop between Cape Town & Namibia…+ many more memorable surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Naries Namakwa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing