We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place -- but this is North Sudan not South!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karima
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karima Nubian Rest-house
Ranked #1 of 1 Karima B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Very comfy Nubian style rooms, amazing service. Described in the Bradt guide as the only boutique hotel in Sudan, it has beautiful lawn and Bougainvillea, the service is incredibly attentive, it's spotless everywhere and the rooms and common areas are incredilbly comfy. The food was also very good and we indulged on garden grown salads without getting sick. The location right next to Jebel Barkal is also amazing. The only regrets I had were to not have any TV or internet anywhere, the fact that towels were washed everyday which sadly wasted water, and also the fact the wooden shutter doors opening on the inside garden could be opened from outside the rooms. although we always felt safe while travelling, and the people we interacted with were very friendly and honest, building rooms where anyone can break in so easily seems a needless stress on guests' peace of mind. Final note, the travel agency which owns the hotel and which organized our entire trip is great and very trustworthy.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploumParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stubled across this place by accident. The "guest house" we were staying at down the road was disgusting beyond decription so we went looking and found this place. the price is very high but we negotiated a room only price. Pity about the very hot rooms so most of us spent the night on the lawn. At the price being asked aircon is a must but that aside most of us happily paid the price just for the clean toilets and showers which are very hard to comeby outside of Khartoum.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is the only "proper" hotel for many many miles around. We were given a good rate when we turned up as a group on spec. It was a haven of civilization after rough nights on the road, beautifully built with high brick domed rooms reminiscent of pizza ovens, with good towels, showers and linen. Sadly the weather meant that the rooms were as hot as pizza ovens too so we slept outside on the lawn. The staff knew they didn't need to feed us so let us more or less have the run of the place.

Room Tip: Ask about aircon if you are going to be there in the hot season. Otherwise be prepared to sleep out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barazani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Certainly the best place we stayed at over 10 days travelling across Sudan. For those travelling for a short period or coming to northern Sudan to experiene the ruins, the high price wont likely sting and the good (not great) food, fluffy towels and helpful/experienced staff will be welcome. For those travelling longer (in our case, months), the price may not be worth the relative luxury, particularly if you are travelling outside of the cooler months. We were there in late September (admittedly not the best time) and the rooms were insufferably hot and could not be cooled with both doors open and 2 fans whirling. Ditto for the restaurant/sitting area. A large group came to the hotel on our 2nd night, and by morning there were all sprawled on the lawn and balconies to seek reprieve from the unrelenting heat. So caution, clearly, this place is geared to accept people in the winter and that should be a consideration. Other considerations are the ideal location mentioned by other reviewers and the dearth of any really viable alternatives in Karima. Whereas other towns in Sudan usually had one basic option, Karima was not so endowed. Brits we knew travelling on a tighter budget managed in the absence of alteranatives to arrange a homestay with a tuk tuk driver. In the context of Africa, and even Sudan, not the best value to be had; but the best experience to be had in northern Sudan.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toronto2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Scented rose bushes by the entrance gate, flower beds, an immaculate green lawn, a jug of chilled hibiscus juice to welcome us to this beautifully designed and charming guest house. Large bedroom with high domed brick built ceiling. The dome covers the circumference of the room and it felt like sleeping in an ancient hamman. Modern shower room. The bedroom was rather hot and there was a door at each end which when both were opened provided a through draught (presumably the idea) but couldn't leave them open overnight. Beautiful view of nearby Jebel Barkal from the terrace and from the "back door" of our room. The Italian manageress was very kind and helpful, and the Italian 4 course dinners were tasty and generous in quantity (served, not buffet dinner even when the guest house was full). It would have been very pleasant to have eaten dinner outside on the terrace, but that was not offered. The dining room felt quite hot and stuffy. But an absolutely delightful place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I can't imagine anyone "happening" upon this place, since you don't just find yourself in Karima, Sudan, but if you do, it is the place to stay. It's probably the only place to stay that's up to international standard, but it is by far the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in in Sudan (Khartoum has five-star hotels, but that's not what I'm talking about). My friends and I really enjoyed our one-night stay and wished we could have stayed longer. The staff were so kind and helpful. We were the only guests in the entire hotel when we were there, but the staff told us that during the "cooler" months it is often filled to capacity with package tourists. The hotel is half-board, so the price isn't very high when you consider that you get a very nice dinner (four courses) and breakfast included in the price. And it's just at the foot of the Jebel Barkal, so the location couldn't be more convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikehotelkilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank robymulignana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italtoursudan, Direttore vendite at Karima Nubian Rest-house, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Karima Nubian Rest-house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karima Nubian Rest-house

Address: Karima, Sudan
Region: Sudan > Northern State > Karima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Karima
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Karima Nubian Rest-House Sudan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing