We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koh Wai Pakarang Resort
Nearby Hotels
Island View Resort & Spa(Ko Chang)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Good Time Resort Koh Mak(Ko Mak)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Beach Resort(Ko Mak)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
15
27
15
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
27
15
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh tidebungalowbeachrestaurantwifielectricityresortseawaistlisa
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Koh Wai is a tiny island so there isn't much to do there but to enjoy some great snorkelling.
I used Koh Wai as a one night stop-over between Koh Mak and Koh Chang. To me, this was enough as the beach wasn't powdery and, especially annoying, there was a large number of day trippers interrupting the peace and tranquility.
The rooms are of acceptable standard for an island getaway, the food is good, and value-for-money reasonable. In fact, it would be a great destination if it wasn't for all the day trippers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinamue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Koh Wai Pakarang for six nights after several weeks of hard traveling through Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia. It was exactly the tropical island paradise escape we needed. In fact my wife used it to recover from a bout of food poisoning.

We stayed in four different rooms. The best were the wooden bungalows a bit up the hill; they also were the cheapest. All had electricity and private bathrooms, some had flush toilets and some that flushed with a bucket (this is Robinson Crusoe territory after all - and because it is, don't expect much from the WiFi, even in the restaurant by the router.)

Koh Wai is the smallest resort island south of Koh Chang. You can kayak around it in two hours. There are five low-key lodgings, the upscale Koh Wai Beach Resort on the south shore and four budget places on the north: Koh Wai Paradise, Goodfeeling, Pakarang and Grandma's Huts. They are isolated from each other, but joined by a trail. Each of the four has good points, but on balance, Pakarang probably is tops.

Every one has a restaurant, but Pakarang's is the best. Paradise has the best beach, in fact the only beach at high tide. The wooden huts at Paradise are the most basic and all must share bathroom facilities. Goodfeeling is a step up, with baths included and nice pocket beaches at low tide; at high tide, the stilt huts sit over the water. At Pakarang, there's virtually no beach at high tide but all the accommodations are high and dry.

Paradise is cheapest at 300-500 baht; Goodfeeling runs 400-600 baht and Pakarang starts at 600-800 baht for wooden bungalows and connected rooms all the way to the mid-teens for larger cement bungalows. Grandma's Huts run only 250-400 baht, but are so dilapidated I wouldn't stay there if you paid me.

One advantage of Pakarang is that it has a web site and email; the others have to be booked by phone. They also don't have Liza, the irrepressible young woman who runs reception and solves all problems, including putting rowdy guests in their place.

The biggest downside to Koh Wai is the hordes of day trippers from Koh Chang who descend in the middle of the day, especially at Paradise and Pakarang. We simply developed a schedule which put us away from the places where they congregated.

If you want to party, don't come to Koh Wai. For you, there will be nothing to do. But if you like quiet beaches, snorkeling, kayaking, sunsets, swinging in a hammock and relaxing with a good book (or several) you'll love it.

Room Tip: Pakarang and it's sister lodgings on Koh Wai are rustic. There will be critters and bugs. At Pakarang, every room has mosquito nets. Use them. However, do try to avoid the Connected Rooms. The walls are paper thin and they are right where the day trippers hang out.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Juwart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Koh Wai is a sweet little island with absolutely nothing to do except paddle in the beautifully clear water and snorkel on the corals just off the beaches, which is no bad thing!

We stayed at Pakarang because it's the only accommodation on the island that has air con and we were a bit smelly and hot after 3 days pretty much camped out in a wooden hut at another beach. The Bungalow we had was right on the beach, and was fine. Nothing special, no great luxuries, but did the job. It's not like we spent any time in it, either reading in a deckchair on the beach (has to be one of the best beach views in the world, looking back toward the soaring jungle covered peaks of Koh Chang), or strolling round to the nearby beach to go snorkeling. Perfectly pleasant food at the resort restaurant, I took my plate and sat on the beach which they didn't seem to mind! Unfussy and relaxed service.

It's well worth the five minute walk to the next beach, which is much prettier than the one pakarang is on and entirely devoid of day trippers. Perfect white sand, and beautiful corals just offshore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rovingbankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

The beach as well as the snorkeling options in front of the bungalow/beach are great. Food at the restaurant was also very very nice. The resort is very quiet and you can relax easily. But for more or less one hour a day 2 to 4 ships land at the pier with heaps of tourists, which is a little bit annoying...if staff would pay a little bit more attention to details ( dusty rooms, broken things in the bathroom, screws that did not fit, leaks in the moscito net, dirty mirrors et cetera) this would be perfect for a relaxing and unwinding beach holiday.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Meper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We are four adult persons who love this resort and have visited this island three times and stayed for up to a week each time.
Also this time we stayed in two concrete bungalows close to each other. The staff is very friendly and the bungalows are clean, but old. The resort are clean also outside the bungalows.
Earlier we have stayed in this resort because this was a very good place to relax! This time
boats arrived around 2pm with lots of tourists!! They stayed some hours in the middle of the day for snorkling. The mornings in this resort is still calm and nice and in the afternoon, after the day tourists have left the island, we got our paradise back.
Thank you Nannalin and Liza for another nice five days stay in Koh Wai Pakarang Resort.










The place is amazing, very quite, peaceful.. except when the boats arrive around 2pm with lot of tourist!! But they stay just one hour and the beach become again quite! About the resort, the staff is very very nice and helpfull. We ask to change bungalow because the cheaper are very spartan and one has the impression that the bathroom could collapse at any time. it was not a problem to change even if we had spent the afternoon in the bungalow. But if you are in family, you can ask the room just near to the beach (same price that for two bungalows) and it's much better. Very good place to relax!
less







The place is amazing, very quite, peaceful.. except when the boats arrive around 2pm with lot of tourist!! But they stay just some hour and the beach become again quite! About the resort, the staff is very very nice and helpfull. better. Very good place to relax!
less

Room Tip: This time the breakfast was not included and we have to pay extra for A/C (fan is included).
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zozzo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews