We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gran Gatsby

El Gran Gatsby
Reserve with
El Gran Gatsby is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 130 Restaurants in Puerto Banus
Price range: US$65 - US$81
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant with an even better view. Really would recommend, the food was fantastic and the service was brilliant

Helpful?
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest:

Thak you very much for your oponion about El Gran Gatsby.

Words like yours are the engine to work harder everyday.

Thank you.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    121
    60
    23
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place has gone downhill. Unimpressed to say the least”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I haven't been to Marbella for quite some time, so I was really excited to go back to Gatsby, but more or less as soon as we arrived I was disappointed. We walked in to the restaurant and found there was no one to greet us at the front desk. The bartenders were polishing glasses and completely ignored us. We waited almost 5 mins and ventured into the middle of the restaurant until someone saw us. We were then seated at our table which was pretty much shoved into a corner on the balcony, despite booking in advance so we had a decent table. We weren't given any food menus and the manager came to take our order before we'd even received these. He then brought one over to share between two and it took three attempts to get a waiters attention, a lady at another table actually had to call one and send him over. The table was wobbly and I had to ask five times to get this sorted, and wasn't fixed until we were halfway through our meals. Main course came almost instantly after they took away our starter plates and we were not approached by a single waiter throughout this course to check if things were ok and had to finish our meals with no drinks. The food was ok, not as good as I remembered at all. I definitely will not be rushing back here, it was hugely disappointing and a great shame that we wasted our Saturday night here when there are so many other restaurants in the port offering much better service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lcoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest:

First of all, we would like to thank you for your criticism about your dinner in our restaurant.

Sorry that everything was extremely unfortunate. Really, we do not understand what could happen and why you had a reception and a location of your table that was not up to the prestige and status of El Gran Gatsby.

However, critical like yours make us reflect and study the necessary steps to become not repeat on other occasions.

Please give us a new opportunity for you to check that everything was the result of a bad night, unfortunately, focused on you.

We assure you that everything will change into a new experience. Give us that opportunity.

Our apologies and thank you very much again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gastronomic experience not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Spotted El Gran Gatsby on a visit to the port early in our holiday and returned later in the week on the insistence of my daughter. Really pleased we went back, the food and wine did not disappoint, including vegetarian dishes for my son, service was excellent and the views were spectacular. Will be returning next year no doubt.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear friend:

Thank you very much for your kind words. In El Gran Gatsby we work every day to get feedback like yours ... and guests than repeat in the same week!!

We will be happy to welcome you back when you want. We recommend taking a drink on our terrace... enjoy a unforgettable sunset.

Thank you.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing to say....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lets see... I have nothing to say about this place and its food, the view is amazing but the food is nothing special, I left almonst all my food in the plate. We went in a large group and most of us agreed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your opinion about El Gran Gatsby.

We are very sorry you were not satisfied with the food we serve on your visit. We wish you could say us exactly what dishes you ate in order to try to review and improve our daily offer.

Opinions like yours are very usefull to try to improve our performance and therefore, we would like to know all the details.

Anyway, hope to see you again soon in El Gran Gatsby to try to improve our offer and you can go out completely satisfied.

Thank you very much.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Superb food with an breathtaking view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Had the fortune to do my company dinner here a couple of Saturdays back - what a treat - great service - very helpful staff - the view was incredibly beautiful - sat on the out door terrace over looking the sea - all was calm in the water and as the sun went down the colours were insane! Would suit special occasions, romantic dinners or just those times when you fancy a treat. I had the Squid to start with which was probably one of the best squid dishes I have ever had - I can't stop raving about this dish. Monkfish & Lobster as a main were also fantastic. Would certainly come back here if I were ever in Puerto Banus again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank VANTERHEYDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest:

It is so nice to read opinions like yours!!

We are so glad you have had a very good service and dinner in your visit to El Gran Gatsby. The location is amazing, but we have to complete the offer with good food and service.

Thank you for your review and I hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gran Gatsby also viewed

Puerto Banus, Marbella
Puerto Banus, Marbella
 
Puerto Banus, Marbella
Puerto Banus, Marbella
 

Been to El Gran Gatsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing