We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!”
Review of Room No.9

Room No.9
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Good lunchtime menu, reasonable price, food is homemade on site, with tempting cakes for afternoon tea. Worth a visit.
Antibes, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This café never fails to disappoint! There is always a great atmosphere in this busy, little café. I always look forward to eating here with my parents and the shop downstairs is full of wonderful gift ideas - I find it impossible to walk out without buying something! I enjoyed a delicious carrot and ginger soup this weekend and we were served by a lovely, smiley waitress. The cakes are always very enticing so make sure that you leave a little room..!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loulillie546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beds
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Its like an addiction ...”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We are back here again, one tries to avoid posting to often about somewhere. But sometimes you just have to do it.

I suppose we come for the entertainment as much as the ambience. The male waiter in question from our last post still struggles with the basics. But once you get over the fact that he cannot remember that you come here nearly every week and make the same reservation in the same name. Then you are onto a winner.

The coffee remains outstanding and my wife and I like playing poached egg roulette. Some weeks we get luscious yolky yummy joy. Other weeks the poached egg is masquerading as its near boiled cousin.

We like it here, its great value and in our lives it has become an island of sanity and routine in our otherwise demanding existences. The shop is worth a mooch and the owner knows who you are. Maybe some of the waiting staff will realise that we also play the 'do you want milk' game, as we always ask for our coffee black.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MortimerLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great cup of coffee, yummy cakes.”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The only problem with Room 9 is that you meet too many of your friends there! It's a great little cafe upstairs in a great gift shop. Heaven really.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ceski2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My Mum, two sons and I went to Leighton Buzzard this weekend for a look around and came upon Room No 9. The shop downstairs had lots of lovely items (clothes, gifts, cards, hats, etc) and we were very impressed with the art shop at the back of the store. The tea room was fantastic and the staff made us very welcome. Just stopped for a cuppa and some cake, but we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The cakes, tea and coffee are exceptional. The Welsh rarebit is made from a very bland cheese and is a bit disappointing. Some of the staff order you to "enjoy" when they deliver your food which is a bit annoying. Generally though it's all good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AVB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Room No.9 also viewed

Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Linslade, Leighton Buzzard
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Room No.9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing