We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime meal at Globe Inn”
Review of Globe Inn

Globe Inn
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A beautiful historic canalside pub with log fires, real ales, wines and soft drinks. Fresh Coffee and food served daily. Reservations available in the dining room
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunchtime meal at Globe Inn”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very pleasant public house at a very good location beside the Grand Union canal. On our visit we sat outside and had a nice acceptable meal served by pleasant and polite staff. Not very busy on our visit on a weekday lunchtime. Very pleasant walking to be had along the canal and nearby watermeadows

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are glad you had a great visit, ill pass your comments onto the team, and we look forward to you visting us again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    158
    129
    117
    175
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice location, shame food and service so bad”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This pub in located in a lovely secluded spot off the main road and next to the canal. It has many charming features but unfortunately a very boring menu and sloppy bar service. We had fish and chips and a burger both of which were horrible and over cooked. Service was slow and the staff somewhat cold though not rude. Could be really lovely if the whole place was given the once over with a duster and a new inspiring chef was employed and a 21st century menu was implemented.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joeseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are sorry that on your recent visit your dining experience did not meet the usual high standards we pride ourselves upon. your comments have been taken on board and any issues that may have influenced the food quality in this instance have been addressed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Visited twice over the weekend!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Globe Inn has lots of tables outside, taking advantage of its canalside location. There is a basic menu, with ordinary but good food. There are different specials/offers on at different times during the week.

On our first visit, the service was slow (I think they had forgotten about us!). However they were extremely busy as it was a hot, summers evening, and the waiter was apologetic when we eventually got our food. The service was a little faster on our second visit.

We had two nice meals whilst watching the boats and interesting cars passing by!

We will visit again when we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizbb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
thank you so much for your kind comments, we are glad you had a wonderful weekend we us, we look forward to seeing you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Best pub food I have ever had. Greeted by a welcoming chef as we arrived. Beautiful surroundings with outside area for the kids to run around.

Helpful?
Thank Adventurous777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are glad you had a great visit, ill pass your comments onto the team, and we look forward to you visting us again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We visited a week ago and we're going to have a bite to eat on a lovely sunny evening. The staff were rude, they had run out of many of the salads, ploughman's and only had hot heavy meals. when I did go up to order food I was ignored completely by two staff who just looked at me then carried on talking. The barman then also looked at me but decided to serve a friend instead. Never again will I visit this pub. Shame as it is in a beautiful location. Get some decent staff or give your current staff customer service training!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZMJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are sorry that on your recent visit your dining experience did not meet the usual high standards we pride ourselves upon. your comments have been taken on board and any issues that may have influenced the food quality in this instance have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Globe Inn also viewed

Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Stoke Hammond, Aylesbury Vale
 
Linslade, Leighton Buzzard
Wingfield, Leighton Buzzard
 

Been to Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing