We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor, poor customer service”
Review of Globe Inn

Globe Inn
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A beautiful historic canalside pub with log fires, real ales, wines and soft drinks. Fresh Coffee and food served daily. Reservations available in the dining room
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poor, poor customer service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have had the misfortune to visit this pub on several occasions, normally for Sunday lunch with friends. None of these occasions has been the best - even when the restaurant is quiet, it takes an age for the food to arrive.
The last straw was a little while ago when I ordered a ploughmans for lunch. It was not particularly busy but it took 35 minutes for my food to arrive. When I questioned this, I was told it was a new menu and the kitchen staff were still getting to grips with it.
Now I'm no expert, but to take 35 minutes to put together cold ingredients seems excessive.
I ate the meal and went to pay, when I asked was asked if "everything was alright" - when I explained that it was not, the bar lady then began to argue that it was not their fault and no-one else had complained.
Now one thing I know for certain - it was not my fault either. It's not a matter of blame, but good manners to acknowledge a customers complaint, not to try and turn it back on the customer.
I have not, and I will not, ever return to this dire place.
Best bet is to get a nice sandwich and drink from Tesco down the footpath, and sit by the canal and eat in peace.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gasplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
I'm really sorry to read that you had such a negative experience and that your comments were not dealt with in an approproate manner at the time. Your description of the service certainly is not what we strive to deliver. I'm glad that you took the time to post your review.

Over the coming months we will be making several changes not least of which will include team recruitment and development. I hope that you return to The Globe to experience this for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    158
    129
    118
    175
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday afternoon ruined.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We moored our boat nearby and the peace and quiet was shattered by outdoor live "music". We spoke to many people who had come for a quiet drink but decided not to stay as the noise was intolerable. Is it really necessary to spoil such a tranquil setting with this loud "entertainment"?
Had lunch the following day - some meals better than others. I suggest a revamp of the plough mans which was very poor - it certainly wouldn't fill a ploughman - hardly any cheese and a couple of thin slices of white bread.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for you comments, we are sorry you were not happy the our live music, this is something that we do on a monthly basis and is proving very popular and getting a good following. I shall pass your feedback onto our menu development team who take an active interest in all thoughts offered when putting together our menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunchtime meal at Globe Inn”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very pleasant public house at a very good location beside the Grand Union canal. On our visit we sat outside and had a nice acceptable meal served by pleasant and polite staff. Not very busy on our visit on a weekday lunchtime. Very pleasant walking to be had along the canal and nearby watermeadows

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are glad you had a great visit, ill pass your comments onto the team, and we look forward to you visting us again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice location, shame food and service so bad”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This pub in located in a lovely secluded spot off the main road and next to the canal. It has many charming features but unfortunately a very boring menu and sloppy bar service. We had fish and chips and a burger both of which were horrible and over cooked. Service was slow and the staff somewhat cold though not rude. Could be really lovely if the whole place was given the once over with a duster and a new inspiring chef was employed and a 21st century menu was implemented.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joeseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are sorry that on your recent visit your dining experience did not meet the usual high standards we pride ourselves upon. your comments have been taken on board and any issues that may have influenced the food quality in this instance have been addressed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Visited twice over the weekend!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Globe Inn has lots of tables outside, taking advantage of its canalside location. There is a basic menu, with ordinary but good food. There are different specials/offers on at different times during the week.

On our first visit, the service was slow (I think they had forgotten about us!). However they were extremely busy as it was a hot, summers evening, and the waiter was apologetic when we eventually got our food. The service was a little faster on our second visit.

We had two nice meals whilst watching the boats and interesting cars passing by!

We will visit again when we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizbb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
thank you so much for your kind comments, we are glad you had a wonderful weekend we us, we look forward to seeing you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Globe Inn also viewed

Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Stoke Hammond, Aylesbury Vale
 
Linslade, Leighton Buzzard
Wingfield, Leighton Buzzard
 
Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing