We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service and 1 star food”

Axe & Compass Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leighton Buzzard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Axe & Compass Lodge
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“poor service and 1 star food”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Bought a meal for two deal on GroupOn and thankgoodness I didn't pay anything more than £19!!! Everything you could possibly think could go wrong, indeed went wrong! To start with, a very slow service. Took about 10minutes for somebody to come and take our drink order. Our mains came after around 40-45 minutes of ordering and the steak wasn't cooked as to what we had ordered. Sent it back which took another 10minutes. The chocolate pudding was nice. The ambience wasn't great either. The only good thing was that the food is relatively much cheaper than other pubs but we will not go back as didn't even have a reasonable expected dining experience.

Room Tip: if you plenty of time to spare and are tight on budget, then go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLH00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    4
    3
    11
See reviews for
5
7
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed here for one night and I have to say it was a really bad experience. The room wasn't clean, it was basic. The bed was so uncomfortable and it was the worse nights sleep I have ever had. My back was so sore the next morning. The fridge was so noisy, it just added to a terrible experience. The breakfast was dissapointing. There is one good point to add, the staff were friendly enough and tried to help. I would not stay here again under any circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leighton Buzzard hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I had to spend one night for business. My feedback echoes the others, small room, noisy, marginal cleanliness, hot, lumpy bed, and I had to wait to get the key whilst the barmaid took her time. The final insult is that the 'breakfast' was a couple of cold items in the fridge. To call this a B&B is a far, far stretch. Avoid.

Room Tip: Yes, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS and LM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The bar looks like it has been recently refurbished, maybe they should have saved some money for the rooms, worse i have stayed in for a long time, double bed is two ( skip worthy single beds) shoved together, fridge in excuse for a wardrobe is noisy at night, this contains your breakfast, a world of stale pastry and off milk. the cleanliness of the room left a lot to be desired as well, particular the shower area. would have booked some where else for the second night but could not find anywhere close enough. Did have a wonderfull meal at the Dukes head up the road ( see review) .To sum Do Not Stay Here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kier J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here for one night and it has to be the worst place we've ever stayed. When booking in the staff were unfriendly and kept us waiting ages. The room was tiny, had two single beds pushed together, the mattresses were old, lumpy and the headboards were loose. The whole place had a musty smell and was quite simply filthy, especially the shower room floor which was disgusting. Very noisy fridge with basic breakfast in it. No One around in morning to complain to. Not even worth half of the rate they are charging.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairehirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Had the mis fortune to stay here for a one night stop-over, thank god that was all it was, how this place can sell itself asa b&b is beyond me, room 5 was tiny, bed was for a child, noisy fridge holding my "breakfast". what a joke, could not complain in the morning as only cleaner was about and it is not her fault. if this place had a star rating it would be minus 1.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Awful, worst place I'd ever stayed in. Bed lumpy and VERY uncomfortable, fridge in wardrobe and very noisy and couldn't sleep so ended up putting it off. En suite awful, floor dirty, towels grubby and the breakfast was a joke..........definitely not worth the money!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leighton Buzzard
1.8 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leighton Buzzard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.7 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Heath Inn
The Heath Inn
#1 of 11 in Leighton Buzzard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Brownlow
The Brownlow
#6 of 11 in Leighton Buzzard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axe & Compass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axe & Compass Lodge

Property: Axe & Compass Lodge
Address: Leighton Road | Heath and Reach, Leighton Buzzard LU7 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Leighton Buzzard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Leighton Buzzard
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing