We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Shaanti - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shaanti
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My wife and I visited in early April after my parents said many of their friends had been and recommended the restaurant. It was our first visit and I remember the Cock Horse being many different things over the years!

General impression was really positive. The welcome was very chatty and friendly, the service very fast and the food great value and of a very high standard. Standard issue Cobra beers arrived cold and frequently!

All in all we had a really nice evening. The restaurant was only half full even though it was a Saturday night which was a shame for them (but didn't make any difference to us). I think that the Shaanti team really deserve to succeed and I wish them every success.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diesied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average, 5/10”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Visited on a Sunday evening without notice, and were the only diners. The welcome could have been a lot warmer, based on that, and sticking us in the furthest corner didn't help us to feel like we weren't supposed to be there.

An english host rapidly informed us of all the items we couldn't have from the set Sunday gourmet menu, as opposed to perhaps focusing on what we could have. We felt a little like we were being told off, or punished for coming on a gourmet night.

Having ordered, we sat and pondered what sort of Indian restaurant would serve mayonnaise as part of a pickle tray. Not one that we'd return to, we decided.

Starters of chicken tikka and lamb kofte arrived very luke warm, and not particularly exciting. Followed by a main course with warmer dishes with a bit more flavour, though they did seem very home spiced as opposed to authentic. We waited some time for drinks to be replenished, which was a shame as presumably every penny counts in a restaurant so quiet.

Despite a reasonable main course, lack of any kind of friendliness and mayonnaise being served will totally prevent us from returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RubyMurray_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best Indian ever!”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This place is so amazing I have everybody I know ordering from / eating here. This is our favourite Indian restaurant and the best by far. They always try their best to accommodate your tastes and will happily alter dishes for you, or create them if yours isn't on the menu. The restaurant is lovely, clean, fresh and always welcoming. The staff are very polite, smartly dressed, attentive and they also take time to talk to you. Nothing is trouble to them. Their takeaway menu is fantastic too and both eat in and takeaway meals are great value for money. Portion sizes are perfect and the food is always fantastic. Although they do not currently operate a delivery service, we often order and collect. It's just too good to miss out on! Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nemi_nemo-x-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very cute little restaurant!”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Always had a good time here. A very nice, quiet vibe in the main restaurant that is possibly more suited to a couples night out.

Very good food and very accommodating!

I especially recommend either the Tuesday, Wednesday or Sundays as they do 4 courses (it might be 5, I forget!?) under £10.

Enjoy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank djayrpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great local restaurant”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

A great place to eat in our village-so we can walk. Lovely menu-great atmosphere. Owner goes out of his way to help in any way-great staff

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaanti also viewed

Wing, Leighton Buzzard
Wingfield, Leighton Buzzard
 
Linslade, Leighton Buzzard
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing