We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of New May Fu

New May Fu
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Tried, as hoping it had improved, but no, it hadn't
The service was EXTREMELY slow.
The Hot and Sour Soup was probably the worst I had ever had.
The Duck in Orange Sauce - The Duck was nice in a good sauce but was presented on a layer of COLD pinapple chunks.
The King Prawn Chow Mein - was just tastless.
I will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveobey, General Manager at New May Fu, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your comment.
Firstly I would apologise that your order was delayed on an extremely busy time,
as it was mention clearly on our take away menu,
( PLEASE ALLOW MORE TIME DURING WEEKEND & PEAK HOURS)
I can say that if you order duck in pineapple this is how it comes and about our
favouring, I am confident to say that our flavours are carefully controlled.
Anyway Thank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    22
    5
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tring
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We've had take-aways from the New May Fu on numerous occasions before, but on this occasion decided to go there for a meal to celebrate a birthday.
We received an excellent, warm, friendly service from Eddie who looked after us very well.
The food was good, with a huge and varied selection and good value for money. We will definitely return for a meal again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveobey, General Manager at New May Fu, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comment. hope to see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Tried the buffet for the first time and it was excellent. Great service and food. What more do you want

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveobey, General Manager at New May Fu, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comment. hope to see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
2 reviews
“Good food tucked away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent and friendly service as always at this Chinese restaurant. Eddie is always friendly, obliging, quick and efficient. We will continue to return on a regular basis

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveobey, General Manager at New May Fu, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comment. hope to see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We wanted to try a new place and found the New May Fu. We were greeted by Eddie who is a lovely happy man, who looks after you very well. They have a very good choice on the menu and the food is really good, they adapt things slightly for me as I am Coeliac but I never feel I am missing out. Good value for money too. Definately worth a visit. We have been here a few times now.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveobey, General Manager at New May Fu, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comment. hope to see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New May Fu also viewed

Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Pitstone, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to New May Fu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing