We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice train, shame about the view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leighton Buzzard Railway

Leighton Buzzard Railway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice train, shame about the view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I appreciate that this narrow gauge railway is never going to compete with the Ffestiniog, Welsh Highland or Lynton & Barnstable. Pages Park station is nice and the museum with old locomotives is interesting. The rolling stock that we had was great. It was a lovely warm day so we sat in one of the open carriages. At £9.50 each the ticket price is okay, if a little steep for 5.5 miles return (compare this to "full size" preserved railways, they may be a little more but give you all day riding). We did however qualify for 2 * £1 gift aid vouchers which we used to buy a guide book. Stonehenge Works is interesting, lots of old equipment and good information on quarrying. The issue with this railway though is that most of the ride is through a housing estate. A shame!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    48
    19
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vincentia, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very pleasant and most informative excursion.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Interesting train ride and very different to full sized railway trips. Interesting historical exhibits both end of the line. A very pleasant and informative outing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely day out!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went on the bank holiday weekend with our 4 year old. Took the first train at 10.40 am. Experience is really nice. Old steam engine, tiny coaches gives the feel of being in the 19th century. The whole journey takes about just over an hour and worth every penny. The train goes through houses, narrow bylanes, jungle and fields. It stops by the Stonehenge works where you can have a little break before starting the return journey. Here you can see some magnificient engines. They have a small snack shop here selling coffees and teas and some nice cakes at very reasonable prices. The staff including the train drivers, controller, ticket office gentleman and gift shop man are all very friendly. These people are volunteers and you can instantly see how much they love being there meeting people and conserving the narrow gauge railway.
After our train journey, our son thoroughly enjoyed playing in the park next to the car park. We then took him to McDonalds which is like a 5 min drive from the railway.
Overall a nice day spent, complete with park play and fav meal at McD. Would deffo be going again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Anisats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Santa Express!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Took our 22 month old grandson on the Santa express. He absolutely loved it!! Nice little trip with also a visit to Santa's Grotto. Lovely people, great café, good shop, easy parking and lots of fun. Went on the Wednesday and it was lovely and quiet for the little ones. Will definitely be back in the summer!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank prettyseabird64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Steaming ahead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

A good little railway which travels around the outskirts of Leighton Buzzard. Run by enthusiasts and well worth a visit. It uses the old line which transported sand from the quarries.There is a small cafe for refreshments and gifts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leighton Buzzard Railway also viewed

Billington, Leighton Buzzard
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Leighton Buzzard Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing