We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Pub Grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Star

The Star
Price range: US$6 - US$45
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
475 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Reasonable Pub Grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We had an evening meal on Saturday. The pub wasn't very busy therefore disappointing atmosphere. The service was good. The prices for a bottle of wine is very reasonable. Good choices too.
The food was good. We liked the idea of sweet potato chips with the steaks.
The slices of gammon with eggs and chips wasn't as we expected. The thin slices of hand carved gammon had obviously been put under the grill, it would have been better had it not been grilled as it was overdone.
Basic pub grub here.


Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    12
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New owners, new atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have eaten here twice in the last few weeks and have no complaints at all. The food is excellent and the atmosphere so much more welcoming than before. Keep it up, we need more decent pubs/restaurants in Leighton Buzzard where we can have a meal in comfort and without being disturbed by rowdy drinkers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ivyeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I went to the star this evening with my partner he had a mixed grill and I had a veggie burger. The food was of excellent quality as they seem short staffed they did an amazing job will return happily and will recommend to my friends.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jenna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Much better than before...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have eaten here a few. Times. In the past the food has been average. This time we had a very good meal....tasty and good value. Hope the standard continues.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with good pub grub at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Popped out to The Star for lunch with the family, was pleasantly surprised as the refurb has made it welcoming; lovely to see a piano in the pub and look forward to going back for a live music night.
Srvice was very fast and friendly, welcoming of our two fairly young kids and even better for a family with tight purse strings; the food was good and not over-priced. Taste and quality not compromised by the cost. I'm sure we will visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank shinyshapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star also viewed

Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing