We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room to expensive”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Room to expensive”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I feel the rooms are nice but the prices compared to other hotels in the area are way to expensive.
I stay in leighton a lot but I will be staying in an other hotel in the future with much the same facilities but for much less money. also breakfast is NOT included in the price!!!

Room Tip: Seek out a cheaper alternative with the same facilities. also breakfast is NOT included in the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for you review. We are sorry you felt our room prices are expensive, if you consider staying with us again please look online for cheaper rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    118
    101
    45
    27
See reviews for
73
150
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here monday night.room was nice..over priced but nice,food was cooked noce but onion rings missing!!..i booked in thursday night but unfortunatly had to cancel my booking to which i was still charged the £74!!!! This is terrible service..i was going to book in next monday 2 rooms for 2 weeks..for the sake of £74 they have now lost my business..i wont be staying here again..noisy at kick out time

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Craneleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Wetherspoons have a cancellation policy which we have to follow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leighton Buzzard hotels

Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were put in room 102 which is directly over the front door. The room was very pleasant, but the floor in the bathroom was so sticky that we had to put towels on the floor to walk on it. Unfortunately the noise from the door and then throwing out time added to the noise of the market being set up from 0600 meant that we do not sleep much.

Room Tip: Do not have a room at the front over the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your review, I will get the housekeeping team more focused on the bathroom floors. I am very sorry to hear you found it to be noisy. Should you decide to give us another try, please request a quiet room and we will ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here on 26th and 27th December with our 4yr old and 1 year old. We were given a large family room at the back of the hotel. The bar seemed quite busy when we arrived at 8pm but we couldn't hear any noise from our bedroom (216). We could see the car park from our bedroom which was good. There was minimum noise at night, we found the car parking charges reasonable. The staff were extremely helpful, had the travel cot ready for us and helped my husband with directions to the car park at the rear. I think the hotel was quiet due to the time of year but there was always a staff member to help. We had breakfast in the bar which was delicious. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsT2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

First class rooms. Spotless comfy quiet. First class service. Amazing value for money. Free parking near by a bonus after 6pm. Pub was packed but bar staff were quick to serve. Lovely atmosphere. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your kind freview. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have been to this hotel twice, in summer and now winter in early December.
If you are lucky you will get a 2nd floor room not facing the courtyard , and on Monday nights the main street as tuesday market set up starts early on a Tuesday.
If you are very unlucky you will get room 106,108, 110, 114 or room 115; these rooms are over the kitchen and back of house bar access. The hotel operates virtually 24 hours and there is constant noise of one form or another be it staff on stairs, kitchen extract fan etc.
I stayed there while on business over 1 night and then 2 nights and felt knackered afterwards and so a longer stay would be much worse, unless of course, you took advantage of the beverages in the bar as 'medication'.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank deirdre11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
I am very sorry to hear you did not have a comfortable stay with us and you found it to be noisy. The garden should be closed by midnight, I will ensure that this is controlled more by bar and door staff. Should you decide to give us another try, please request a quiet room and we will ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

we had booked this hotel on the spur of the moment, in fact that morning.we found the hotel eaily, there was a car park to the rear - payable. more of that later.
we entered through the beer garden.the reseption is up a set of stairs towards the front.in fact over the portico.
the receptionist on duty was good, sorted us out in no time with a key to the room.
found our room comnfortable and cozy, it was at the front, overlooking the main shopping area.we went back to reception to ask for more towels and coffee.which were russled up in no time , with no fuss.
the receptionist told us about the payable car park - if you payed the night before, the machine would adjust your paymernt to time the next morning.
after taking a swipe of my card, we were told we could order drinks and food in the bar and it would be added to my bill when i left the next day.
which was great.
when we returned from visiting family we decided to eat and have a couple of drinks.we found the bar very full - it was curry night..!!
anyway, bought a bottle of wine and looked around for a free table - sadly none to be found, but the barman who had served me over heard that there were no tables, he left the bar, found use a table and whisked up 2 chairs - now that is service.
we both had curry, which was good, but found the pompardoms and nan bread a bit odd tasting - but eddible.
needless to say the wine was good - both bottles..!!we both slept well.
they start breakfast early here as it is a wetherspoons inn..anyway, headed down at about 8 to try out the breakfast..i think we also had the last table then too..!.ordered breakfast with extra toast..it was passable and to be honest, looked like it had been chucked on the plate..to say the egg had been around for a while, would be kind.

but all in all, would go back again..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
I will feed back your comments regarding the breakfast to the kitchen team and we will work on improving the presentation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leighton Buzzard
6.5 mi away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
571 reviews
7.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
8.3 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
5.4 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 50 High Street, Leighton Buzzard LU7 1EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Leighton Buzzard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leighton Buzzard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JD Wetherspoon have restored this georgian building back to its former glory.The hotel has 39 rooms with singles, twins, doubles, family rooms and 2 fully equipped disabled rooms with parking spaces, we are also able to provide family suites sleeping up to 6 people. 24 hour manned reception, complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water in all rooms.Cots available upon request.Discount for group bookings are available.We work in partnership with Mentmore Golf and Country Club to provide you with excellant stay and play rates.Bar and Restaurant open from 7am daily.Room service available from 7am to 9.45pm.Selection of soft drinks, crisps, Nuts and confectionary available at reception when bar is closed (chargeable).We do not have on site parking but there is a large pay and display car park to the rear of the property.We have 2 disabled equipped rooms with full wet room facilities and plenty of room to get around, these 2 rooms when booked come with a parking space right outside the door.For you real ale guru's you will be pleased to hear we are In the Good Beer Guide 2013 and Cask Marque accredited, we always have a great selection of ales available.We also have a lovely courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing