We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, friendly, welcoming, great food”

The Old Lifeboat House
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Coverack
Price range: £5 - £30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A converted Lifeboat station with a fantastic view over the bay. At the front: Fish and Chip Take Away. To take home, eat on our outdoor benches or on the sun trapped harbour walls. To the rear: Informal, home cooked food Cafe/Restaurant/Bar serving breakfasts, lunch, cream teas and evening meals and a Bar serving a wide selection of Cornish Gins, Rums, Craft ales and Ciders. Open 6 days a week from Easter. Happy Hour 3pm until 6pm. Vegetarian, Vegan, Gluten Free Friendly. Dogs Welcome
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely setting, extremely friendly welcoming staff who cant do enoughfor you, we visited several times for breakfast, cream teas and dinner (and takeaway fish & chips) all amazing. Portions were very generous and food was excellent. Can't recommend enough . Great dog friendly family atmosphere.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mtsmrugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2024

This was one of the best Sunday roasts we've ever had. We were so impressed with the Old Lifeboat House for many reasons. Not only was the food excellent, but all the staff were so incredibly lovely, it made the meal even better. The food was very reasonably priced and the view was perfect. We'll definitely be going back.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

Everything about this little place was ‘outstanding’.
We called ahead to confirm opening time, menu and if vegan available- received a very friendly & welcoming response!
Yes! Vegan & gluten free options available on top of their regular menu.
Specialty meals also available

Extremely welcoming team from the way the call was answered - through to each member of staff we spoke to and including the chef at the restaurant.
We were a large family & we were all very impressed with everything. Not one of us had any complaints.
The food was lovely & fresh. You could taste the difference & easily distinguish the ‘home made’ touch.
The staff were so inviting & friendly.
10/10 from All of us . From the Kiddos through to the grandparents!
Just perfect.
Thankyou so much - made our trip to Cornwall lovely!
Definitely recommend!
The glass window & large seating area was an even nicer touch. The kids loved the binoculars!
Felt like we were on a cruise ship!
So different!
A great experience through & through..
And by the way my fish & chips were excellent!- the curry sauce was delicious & you could taste it was home made! :-)
My daughter’s ribs were probably the best we’d ever tasted!
Wonderful!
Just wish I’d had room for dessert! Your home made cream teas looked divine! Those scones wow
XxxxX
I will definitely recommend & if I return- we’re definitely coming back

Date of visit: April 2024
1  Thank travellingabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024

The food and service are amazing. Highly recommend this dog friendly establishment. Both kids and adults ate til they burst. Five stars all the way

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mrsbutler1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2024 via mobile

We've just had a delicious meal here, camembert starter, followed by a really delicious fish chowder and vegetarian risotto. Great service, definitely coming back.
.

Date of visit: April 2024
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Old Lifeboat House also viewed

St Keverne, Helston
 
Coverack, Cornwall
 

Been to The Old Lifeboat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.