We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous hospitality”
Review of Boak House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coverack
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boak House
Ranked #1 of 7 Coverack B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
newbury
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Marvellous hospitality”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Every now and then you come across somewhere, and of course somebody, who makes it wonderfully different. Boak Hose is one of those places and Bridget is one of those people. The welcome was unique as was the warm service which we experienced for the whole time we were there. Also, as a serial stayer in B and B's, when the towels are fluffy, the pillows and bed linen are top notch and the place contains not a hint of IKEA, you know you are onto something. This is one of Britain's best. You should book in if you are in Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed just one night on our walking trip in cornwall but we enjoyed everything.Bridget is friendly hostes.Room was small but clean,wiht a huge window to sea,and even bathroom had a view to coverrack bay.Breakfast was good,atmosphere friendly.If I come again to Coverrack i will again stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maja65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Bridget made us feel extremely welcome as soon as we arrived. It was more like visiting friends, especially the drinks and nibbles in the conservatory with Bridget, her friends and the other guests. She made it quite a little party, setting the tone for the whole stay. Bridget had also booked the best table at the Lifeboat House for our special dinner, Coverack connections!!
The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated which set off the stunning views. It was magical to see the sunrise in the morning and to watch the small fishing boats plying their trade, coming back with their catch to the harbour.
And OH the breakfast!! An extensive choice, but the full Cornish was irresistable, a plate full of real local produce, a wonderful treat, all served in the conservatory with the captivating sea view. Definitely a place for us to return to and one we wholeheartedly recommend.

Room Tip: Every room has a wonderful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Bridget gave us such a wonderful welcome that we felt immediately at home . Our plane arrived late so we didn't arrive til 2am and she had stayed up and tried to convince us to eat egg sandwiches!! After three days there she felt like a friend . The kind of friend who brings you fresh mint tea in bed after you have over indulged . Can't wait to go back but for a lot longer

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This truly is the perfect b&b. Perfect location, perfect accomodation and most of all a perfect host. Bridget could not do enough for us and thinks of everything.....even a bag of sunglasses to wear when eating breakfast in the sunny conservatory. Bridget not only supplied us with drinks and nibbles but also my father and brother who were staying in a cottage opposite. The breakfast is fantastic, both the Cornish and the Pursers smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.Put simply if you are planning to stay in this area you cannot go wrong by staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

To coin a phrase "arrive as strangers, leave as friends" but this is so true of Bridget and Boak House. It has got to be the best B & B we have ever stayed in and I can't wait for the return visit. We stayed in the Lowlands room and the views across the bay are outstanding, even the view from the bathroom has got to be seen to be believed. Bridget is the most wonderful hostess, her home is clean and comfortable and at breakfast you are spoilt for choice. On arrival we were offered G & T's and canapes in the sun room and this we found was the norm for the rest of our stay, Bridget's G & T's are legendary!. Never before have we enjoyed the company of our host and their friends or been made to feel so at home or indeed, relax so quickly in the company of strangers. I cannot fault Boak House B & B in any way and would urge anyone considering staying in Coverack to enjoy the "Bridget experience"........truly amazing!

Room Tip: All the rooms have excellent sea views and whilst Lowlands room is en-suite I understand the Paris r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

A fantastic place, we couldn't speak more highly of Bridget and the fantastic Boak House. Boak House has the most incredible views from every window, and is set in an idyllic location. We loved our room, and Bridget was the most amazing host from start to finish - who on earth would consider it part of the service to plonk you in their conservatory with your feet up when sunburnt, freezing flannels for you and plying you with gin. She - and Boak House are amazing, and cannot be beaten. Well above and beyond the call of duty, in every way.

Room Tip: Bridget showed me the other rooms on a quiet day and they were all great, stunning views from all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newflat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coverack
0.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
208 reviews
5.9 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
660 reviews
7.0 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paris Hotel
The Paris Hotel
#2 of 7 in Coverack
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boak House

Property: Boak House
Address: Boak House School Hill, Coverack TR12 6SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Coverack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Coverack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, welcoming period house with panoramic views of Coverack. Four bedrooms, all with own bathroom, two en-suite, doubles and twins. Welcome drink and full Cornish breakfast included. Short walk to the pub, restaurants and beaches, close to the coast path. Children are welcome but sorry no dogs as we already have three terriers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boak House Coverack, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing