We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding anniversary”
Review of Penmarth House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coverack
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penmarth House B&B
Ranked #4 of 7 Coverack B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Tuesday morning and our wedding anniversary. We live in St. Keverne so caught the Coverack bus in the rain and seven minutes later we'd arrived. Time to see our accommodation, Penmarth House, and what a surprise that turned out to be. Set in two acres of green wilderness with bee hives, wild rabbits and seagulls, and set back off the road out of the village with 180 degree view of the horizon from our bedroom window - it was perfect for us. Francine and Dick's guest house is the bees' knees with no mobile connections - just perfect!

Our breakfast scrambled eggs were truly bright vivid yellow from the chickens and their honey makes you dizzy with delight.

Unfortunately Francine was in hospital with, hopefully, a temporary problem so, as Dick said, 'We're only half eccentric') But what a coincidence! It turns out that she had worked at Creedy House Medieval Centre near Exeter in the late seventies just after I left there!

Next morning we walked home with a spring in our step.
Can't wait to get the bus back to Penmarth House in beautiful, gentle Coverack.

Room Tip: Book early for the view with the wide sea horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godrevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed two nights with Francine and Dick who are perfect hosts, nothing too much trouble and very informative of the area. The breakfasts were excellent with free range eggs, homemade bread, tasty bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes and sausage. All was piping hot and freshly cooked.
We asked for packed lunches and we were provided with excellent sandwiches and salad at a very reasonable price. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. The view from the front bedroom was spectacular across the whole bay.
We couldn't fault Penmarth House and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: The sea view room is well worth requesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dis506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The plus points are that from the front you have great views, the front bedroom is average but large and the owners are pleasant people. The minus side is that it is untidy - the approach to the house had blue water pipes coiled up and left to the side, pieces of wood covering a trench in the drive, a step ladder - half full wheel barrow- builder trestle just left outside the front, planters with dead plants next to front door, the first two windows you look though reveal rooms full of clutter/ building stuff. As you go in via the hall/dinning room the room has a grimy feel and tatty furniture with skirting board propped up in the corner, the banister as you walk up the stairs has a grimy feel to it and there are cobwebs. The front bedroom was a lot better but still has no skirting and tatty furniture but the bed was good in a large room with a great view. The en suite toilet failed to work 100% (its a pumped toilet). The break fast was good and bad. The eggs were great but the bacon was reheated and dried, the beans were also reheated and dried, the lot was on a piece of bread which did not appear to be toasted so was really not at its best. In all it was badly cooked. The preservers were very good. The coffee and tea was ok. I am at a loss how it has achieved the reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rodney1234UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Francine and Dick were outstanding hosts and the view was fantastic. The house overlooks the harbour and has a nice, large garden/patio for relaxing. The house itself is quite nice and an easy walk from town. The breakfast was excellent--fresh and home-made. My friends and I really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

A lovely huge house in beautiful & large grounds overlooking the township and harbour - a beautiful site, but quite a walk up the hill from the harbour and main part of the village. We had a beautiful room - VERY large, with a sitting-room area and a nice bathroom, although no bath, just a shower. Also no TV in the room. A nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojito12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A wondeful surprise is the eco-friendly nature of this bed and breakfast run by Francine and Dick who are friendly and very accommodating hosts providing local information for the intrepid traveller.
Breakfast is an event to be savoured at leisure with freshly baked bread, farm eggs and the homemade preserves and honey served being a very special treat.
Penmarth House is on an elevation that allows it to overlook the village and Coverack bay and jetty and its location makes it a very pleasant five minute walk to the village passing St. Peter's Church and burial grounds. I walked among the burial grounds and marvelled at the wonderful condition of this very old and peaceful graveyard.
Penmarth House Coverack is ideally situated for being the base for further exploration around the southern coastline of Cornwall and I recommend a visit to Lizzard Point; the southernmost point of Cornwall for its dramatic views of cove and cliffs, all while seated and enjoying a warming pot of tea.

Room Tip: Master bedroom for stupendous 180 deg views, space and sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Dick and Francine are so wecoming and friendly and were very helpful - showing us maps and sharing lots of information about the area.

Generous breakfast with two kinds of home made marmalade ;honey from their own hive. Bread is homemade with 3 seeds and eggs fresh from their own chickens - a wonderful rich deep colour.

Beds comfy and warm.

Good if possible to book a sea view and life will be bliss

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coverack hotels
0 mi away
The Paris Hotel
The Paris Hotel
#3 of 7 in Coverack
251 reviews
0 mi away
YHA Coverack
YHA Coverack
#2 of 3 in Coverack
45 reviews
0 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Little Trevothan Caravan and Camping Park
0 mi away
No photo provided
Herons Pool
#5 of 7 in Coverack
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penmarth House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmarth House B&B

Address: Coverack TR12 6TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Coverack
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Coverack
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest in our comfortable pocket sprung beds. Enjoy fresh fruit with Coverack honey on daily baked bread together with local eggs & bacon for breakfast served in our spacious dining room with spectacular elevated views of the beach, harbour & out to sea. Coverack is a mainly unspoilt picturesque fishing village on the East coast of Cornwalls Lizard Peninsula offering restaurants pub & shops. Ask about our Walking-the-Lizard offer for walkers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penmarth House B&B Coverack, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing