We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food at sensible prices with great service”
Review of The Fat Mackerel - CLOSED

The Fat Mackerel
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fine food for hungry people. Family friendly with sea views.
Coverack, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good Food at sensible prices with great service”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Charlotte and Giles are great hosts and cook good,interesting food at sensible prices. There policy on BYO suits us and means we go there more often. Staff are always helpful and fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnbrocklebank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Currently Coverak is semi-cut off due to delays in repairs the seawall that was damaged during the storms, so you either have to park just before the bay walk along to Coverak (fantastic view) or drive down School Hill (be brave and try to keep your eyes open in the narrow parts). But once there you can either try to park at the front (honesty box in support of local charities) or along the roadside. We managed School Hill and found the village very attractive. Being at the end of the afternoon 'The Fat Mackerel' was quiet, and we enjoyed cake and drinks, the owner was chatty and it made a pleasant afternoon. I'm looking forward to a chance of trying out the meals.........!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Mother's day lunch!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Local fish cooked and presented beautifully! Fire and sea views if you book the right table! BYO wine - you can pick up a bottle at Brenda's a few steps away!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smithlondon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Genuine family friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stumbled across this gem of a restaurant on a recent trip to Coverack. My wife and I and our 18 month old son were all equally welcomed for dinner at 6pm on a rainy Saturday. We had stunning sea views and a nice warm fire. Brilliant childrens menu, and happy to cook anything else a little one might fancy. They were thoughtful enough to offer to bring his food first so we could eat our delicious chicken in blue cheese sauce in peace, while he was entertained by the plentiful toys and cheerful staff, and the massive fishbowl! They even let us have our desserts to take away as we were too full from our delicious main courses. Really good value for money, wish we had somewhere like this where we live, will definitely go for a return visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Absolutely great dinner, had amazing fresh fish from the owner himself. Fantastic time, atmosphere is friendly and service more than pleasant! To be recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zlatko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Mackerel also viewed

 
Coverack, Cornwall
Coverack, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing