We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coverack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Family run hotel with stunning views of Coverack Bay. Very clean and tidy, food was excellent and Menu varied. You do have to choose your meal in the morning, and the time you'd like to eat.
WIFI is available downstairs, but cell service is none existent.!!
We enjoyed our stay here but i did think it was rather expensive. But it is in a unique location..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 667David_B922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

In a perfect location, with fantastic food, but definitely on the pricey side and sadly let down by some attitude.

Room: very clean, well equipped, nicely decorated and furnished. Slightly cramped – even the first floor rooms have restricted height at various points.

Bathroom: a bit tight, but okay. Shower attachment on taps is an issue as the water simply won’t hold its temperature, so you get scalded and/or frozen randomly and almost continuously. Don’t mention this to the owner whatever you do – your head could be bitten right off.

Dining Room: fabulous – lovely aspect, beautifully decorated

Waiting Staff: excellent – really lovely and very professional

Food: just so good – really wanted to come back here to eat on my birthday, but won’t be doing that

Dining Experience: you have to pre-order all courses during the afternoon. This isn’t really a problem, but does mean they can bring out your choices quickly, with all the efficiency of the Swiss Rail Network. So, if you request a 20 minute break between your main course and dessert, you can be QUITE sure that the desserts will come out to your table EXACTLY 20 minutes later TO THE SECOND!! And they may well be placed in front of you with body language that suggests you’d better get on with them, as, clearly, this has put them BEHIND WITH THEIR SCHEDULE.

Food this good should be given time, so you can appreciate and enjoy it at a leisurely pace.

Customer Service: the owner is a very experienced hotelier (we overheard her a few times telling other guests about how she has turned round numerous failing hotels during her career, including this one) and there is no doubt that this hotel is run well overall. However, it’s not worth mentioning anything that is wrong as she cannot deal with it at all. In her head, everything is perfect in her hotel, so suggesting otherwise can be risky.

We know that there are many guests who love this place, get on well with the owner and return 2 or 3 times every year. We can understand its appeal, but she’s not everyone’s cup of tea and it’s not very often that anyone has ever been simply that rude to me. Wouldn’t ever go back. Shame really.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel or a B&B in the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were looking for something special in Coverack & we certainly found it at The Bay.
The decor is so special and really was calming. We just wished we could have stayed here as the premises looked lovely and the meal we had was 1st class.
My partner had a starter of crab salad & I went for the red snapper which was beautifully cooked & we both followed up with steak & kidney pie, well what can we say, we both loved it, lovely pastry, gravy & fresh veg. The bottle of red all added up to a super evening & coffee in the lounge finished it all off.
Rest assured we can't wait to stay at the Bay...hopefully in 2014!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Having returned from a 6 day break (August 2013) it can only be completed by saying what a fantatic experience it has been staying at The Bay Hotel. Room(s) with a wonderful view, excellent service, thanks Gina, Zoe, Rick and all the supporting staff you are all so lovely, nothing to much trouble. After busy Coverack days, to come back to the Hotel with grat views, its peace and tranquility stunning, then dinner and that lovely varied food - breakfast great - well done you guys! In closing, see you soon in 2014, can't wait - if you can order the same fantastic weather then that would be perfect too.

David, Elaine and Mum R - August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K989HIDavid_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Take an unspoilt old Cornish fishing village then a luxurious small family run hotel and you have a winning combination. Add to that some very impressive professional cooking and attentive service at dinner each night and you have the perfect recipe for an enjoyable stay. I loved the experience and would definitely go back, although perhaps out of season as three nights dinner, bed and breakfast with a couple of bottles of wine and a dog fee, racked up a fairly hefty £700 bill for the two of us. But all things considered it was worth it. The owners clearly need to recoup the considerable expense they have invested in creating such a top class intimate hotel. The Wave Suite was so lovely with it's huge, luxurious bathroom. Coverack is a very special place with the friendliest people you could wish to meet, Those people we met really made our stay here very memorable. Thank you to all who helped make our brief stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Wave Suite if you like a private patio, particularly if you bring your dog. Lovely sea views and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tastingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a fantastic find The Bay Hotel turned out to be! Our suite was very spacious, spotless and beautifully furnished. The views from all the windows and our little balcony were spectacular - we never tired of looking out to sea or across Coverack Harbour! The food was terrific and very varied. It was a real highlight trying to choose which culinary delight to eat each evening. Gina and all the staff were SO friendly, kind and worked so hard. Nothing was too much trouble! Thomas our waiter was lovely, happy and humorous. Our suite was expertly cleaned and tidied each day too. In fact everything was perfect!

Room Tip: Ensure you have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day break in this special hotel and it was not long enough. There is plenty of exploring to do in the area with lovely local walks so you can avoid using the car and lovely food from a varied menu for breakfast and dinner. Especially enjoyed the late afternoon swims in the sea and that view. Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view, just take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnPengilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coverack
6.9 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
843 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
708 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
743 reviews
6.1 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
10 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: Bay Hotel North Corner, Coverack TR12 6TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Coverack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coverack
Price Range: £122 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COVERACK FLOODS Sadly the Bay Hotel has been damaged by the extreme flash flooding on Tuesday 18th July. As a result of this we have been forced to close the hotel until further notice due to flood damage to the ground floor and some hotel bedrooms. Privately owner hotel in the beautiful, unspoilt, fishing village of Coverack on the lizard Peninsula. Nearly every room has stunning, uninterrupted seaviews across the Bay and harbour. Our garden terrace is just metres from the beach. Breathtaking scenery with exhilarating walks along the coastal path which starts at the foot of the drive.The perfect place to escape from the hustle and bustle with glorious vistas, stylish surroundings and delicious locally sourced food, including fresh fish landed from the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Cornwall
The Bay Hotel Coverack, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing