We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bay Hotel Coverack Cornwall”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coverack
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Bay Hotel Coverack Cornwall”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is an extremely efficient family run hotel. Our stay in the Harbour Suite was exquisite. So much space & everything we could wish for in a hotel. The staff are so friendly & obliging. The food was superb & really first class. We couldn't,t fault a thing. It's a few years since we stayed there & we were definately not disappointed. Coverack is a very quaint fishing village With a superb beach which is also very safe for children. We look forward to the next time we go back there.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must especially the suites. I would always book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    31
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
39
125
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently. The location is wonderful. From our room we had a view of the whole bay. This is a family run hotel and every effort was made to make our stay a memorable one. This is our second visit and won't be the last. The food and service from the staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel give wonderful sea views. The only noise we could hear was the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here last week for the first time - It won't be our last, we are already planning a return visit.and we don't normally go back anywhere but look for new places - this Hotel is that good !

What a great location with stunning views of the entire bay from the bedroom which was beautifully equipped and very comfortable. (see pics) We had the Bay suite, but talking with other guests all first floor sea view rooms and suites are highly rated.

Gina and the team are all so helpful and the attention to detail really is superb. This is also true of the food which really is top quality. Breakfasts were really good, the haddock with poached eggs was superb, as were the other options. I would recommend staying half board as the evening meals are something special, the attention to detail again is superb as are the choices offered. Presentation was excellent as was the cooking, and the ingredients were obviously of the highest quality, the fresh fish was superb as was the venison.....but it was ALL superb !

This really is a great place to unwind, relax and spend quality time without the distractions of life such as mobile phones ringing (which is true of other areas of Cornwall also - don't blame the hotel ), although there is a payphone for those calls that wont wait. My advice - enjoy the peace !

We were fortunate to be there for the RNLI day which was a great show including the lifeboat and search and rescue helicopter from RNAS Culdrose. Its worth looking on the village website which has an events diary as well as other local information.

The harbour is a typically attractive small Cornish harbour, there is a windsurf school where you can also hire Kayaks and paddle boards etc and the water was beautifully clear for snorkeling

Cant waffle on any more - can't recommend this hotel enough, go on, try it for yourself

Room Tip: first floor rooms with sea view seem popular, the bay windows offer a good seat to watch the views f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandsueW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My mother stayed last week. She couldn't decide whether the view from The Bay is the best to be found, or at a hotel she loves in Laguna CA. The Bay won. Not just the view but because the service is better, the food is wonderful and the attention to detail from Gina and her team is discreet, yet, constant. Cornwall; as good as it gets.

Stay at The Bay. Unwind, enjoy the best view there is and, great service in a most comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask Gina - she'll make sure it is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabergeTreP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were looking for a place for a light lunch with views in a party of 7 spanning 3 generations. If you are in coverack then look no further than this hotel. The food and drink were excellent value and there was room to park our cars too. Perfect.

Room Tip: Just turn off the sea front road behind thebeach and your'e there. Great views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Bay Hotel. I'd discovered it two years ago and despite the rooms seemed expensive the location seemed second to none so we booked a week there in the Harbour Suite. The details of that stay were documented by my wife last year, but sufficed to say we were so impressed that neither of us even thought of even looking at anywhere else.

We booked early and were offered a 10% discount for doing so. We have had another week in the Harbour Suite this year and I'm happy to say that it is just as good if not better than last year.

We traveled down on Thursday the 31st July, this was a good idea as we missed all the Saturday change over traffic. The roads down to Coverack are nice and wide and access to the hotel is up a steep drive so you get a commanding view over the bay and Coverack itself.

The Bay Hotel is a family run affair husband and wife Ric, Gina daughter Zoe and her husband. They are VERY welcoming, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Gina can frequently be found outside the hotel giving directions to lost tourists.

Our room, as last year was scrupulously clean, nicely appointed and very comfortable. The Harbour Suite has three windows all facing the bay and a balcony at the end of the room so you can sit out and drink in the view,

It is impossible to fault the service at any level. Particularly Tomas and his wife Aliona, (apologies if I've got the spelling wrong), who do all sorts of things. Tomas cooked the breakfasts one day and the mushrooms were the best I've ever tasted!

Which brings me onto the highlight of the Bay Hotel, the food.... It is no exaggeration to say that the best food I have ever had has been at the Bay. Ric is a master, and daughter Zoe is showing that she is more than capable of taking over when required. The first time I had Ric's duck and mushroom pudding it was like Meg Ryan in When Harry Met Sally, it was that good.

I really can't wait to go back. A word of caution though,if you want continuous internet and mobile signal forget it. The Bay Hotel is about is about peace, tranquility good wine, extremely good food and great company.

Room Tip: Those at the front of the hotel have the stunning views over Coverack bay, But I'm biased, I lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh88comet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

After having stayed here in 2009, we again decided to return to celebrate my Birthday with a meal in the restaurant of the Bay Hotel. I had reserved this with Zoe back in April to ensure we would get a table.

We arrived at the Bay Hotel early, so we went for a walk around the pretty cove of Coverack, until it was time to go for our meal.

The Bay Restaurant is all done out in black and cream complete with conservatory / terrace seating area, which overlooked the bay and harbour of Coverack. The table was laid out with beautiful silver tableware and lovely white tablecloths, all the tables had fresh flowers on them. It was a very small and intimate setting with candles lighting the room, it was romantic in many ways and suited the occasion.

My husband had mushrooms in and cheese and wine sauce served with crusty bread for his starter and I had melon balls in Kirsch for my starter. My husband and I had for our main course fresh Coverack lobster, caught fresh in the bay on the morning; this was dressed and served with salad and new potatoes. We also had a good bottle of white Chardonnay to drink with this meal. My husband had red wine poached pears with whipped cream for his sweet. I had the chocolate caramel mousse box with caramel sauce, which was delicious.

The service and quality of food was excellent as always. It was nice to see Tomas again, as he had recently just got back after getting married and being on his honeymoon.

Afterwards we then retired to the lounge for coffee and mints, and sat watching the sun go down over the harbour in a spectacular sunset. We left at 11.00pm after saying our farewells and thanks to Zoe and her family.

If you want a wonderful place to stay, or a special place with wonderful food then this is the place to go.

Thank You All For Making My Birthday So Special.

Carol & Mark xxx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coverack
7.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
545 reviews
7.0 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
787 reviews
5.8 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
328 reviews
21.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: Bay Hotel North Corner, Coverack TR12 6TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Coverack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coverack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owner hotel in the beautiful, unspoilt, fishing village of Coverack on the lizard Peninsula. Nearly every room has stunning, uninterrupted seaviews across the Bay and harbour. Our garden terrace is just metres from the beach. Breathtaking scenery with exhilarating walks along the coastal path which starts at the foot of the drive.The perfect place to escape from the hustle and bustle with glorious vistas, stylish surroundings and delicious locally sourced food, including fresh fish landed from the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Cornwall
The Bay Hotel Coverack, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing