We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coverack
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coverack
Certificate of Excellence
Blockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We visit Coverack quite often but it has been years since we went to the Bay Hotel. Our first impression was that it had been improved a lot. The decor and furnishings are far superior to our visit many years ago. The pre-dinner drinks in the comfortable lounge was a good way of starting the evening's dining experience. There was a comprehensive menu and wine list and the food and service were excellent although I believe that hostess had to work hard at that aspect.
We will visit again, maybe next year.

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ColTheCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    27
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
119
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

This was our third stay at The Bay Hotel and despite hearing that it was now under new ownership we were delighted that the day-to-day running is still being done by the same team and that it remains the hotel that we have grown to love. Gina and her team (Jan and Thomas are worthy of a special mention) made us feel so welcome and we were delighted to find ourselves in the lovely Bay Suite with stunning views out over the bay which we could enjoy whilst lying in bed with our morning cuppas. A terrific breakfast set us up for the day and the three-course dinners were a treat to look forward to on our return after spending days exploring the coastline.
This was just a short three-night stay for us to celebrate our anniversary but it definitely won't be our last visit, I'm sure. The Bay might not have the 'in-your-face' levels of luxury of some of the bigger hotels but if you are looking for a warm and friendly welcome in a cosy and comfortable hotel with excellent service and stunning sea views then you really would struggle to find better.
Thanks to everyone at The Bay for a fabulous break.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

This review covers only an evening meal at the hotel.

Your dining experience begins in the comfortable lounge, where you'll select from a small but varied and interesting menu, over drinks and nibbles.

Just in time for your starter to be served, you'll be taken through to the dining room.

Each course is presented beautifully and full of flavour and freshness. Service is friendly and efficient.

After dinner, you'll retire to the lounge for coffee and mints. Overall, a lovely experience and it comes highly recommended. As a side note, I would suggest smart attire.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dean105uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIGAN
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

We have very rarely left a hotel feeling completely relaxed and happy. Gina and all the staff, the food, the suite and the sheer beauty of the location were superb! We will return at the earliest convenient opportunity.

Room Tip: Harbour Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

We have just enjoyed a wonderful holiday in this delightful hotel,overlooking picturesque Coverack Bay.Gina,Zoe and all their staff are extremely friendly and helpful.The food is excellent-delicious and beautifully served,in the calm,relaxing ambiance of the pretty dining room,with views over the bay.We are so pleased to have found such a lovely place and hope to return many times.Thankyou very much to all concerned.

Stayed September 2016
Helpful?
Thank jshjtill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

The hostess at the Bay Hotel could not be more welcoming and helpful and made our nights stay very pleasant . Our room was comfortable if a tad small , the hotel breakfast was delicious and the view of the bay was breathtaking . I can recommend the hotel to anyone .

Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

....from friends of ours who although they hadn't stayed at the hotel had dined in the restaurant on several occasions.
The checking in process was easy even though we arrived early, and an upgrade to a suite certainly helped!
The views from the hotel are superb and we were treated to 3 days of glorious weather.
The food in the restaurant was excellent at both breakfast and dinner, and although ordering your evening meal straight after breakfast appeared bizarre it works well.
The hotel has new owners but the front of house is still undertaken by the previous owner and her family....long may it continue!

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yorkflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coverack
7.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
7.0 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: Bay Hotel North Corner, Coverack TR12 6TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Coverack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coverack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owner hotel in the beautiful, unspoilt, fishing village of Coverack on the lizard Peninsula. Nearly every room has stunning, uninterrupted seaviews across the Bay and harbour. Our garden terrace is just metres from the beach. Breathtaking scenery with exhilarating walks along the coastal path which starts at the foot of the drive.The perfect place to escape from the hustle and bustle with glorious vistas, stylish surroundings and delicious locally sourced food, including fresh fish landed from the bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Cornwall
The Bay Hotel Coverack, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing