We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow,”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coverack
Certificate of Excellence
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“wow,”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

did not stay at this hotel, but called on our last day in cornwall, before we travelled home, had a cream tea on the terrace. stunning views, we had the most wickedly delicious cream tea, it just seemed so perfect and so relaxing, so much so that we have decided to go and say for my husbands birthday next month

l

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daydreams_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    31
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
39
125
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel. In a fantastic position overlooking the bay.
Food excellent at every meal with good choice and well presented.
Excellent service and friendly staff. We booked the May break which was great value. We stayed in two rooms, a smaller one and a bay room which was larger, both had sea views. We would say that the larger room was not worth the extra cost as the smaller one was perfectly adequate! The shower in the larger room was playing up a little too.
We do not often find hotels that we want to return to but this is definately one that we will visit again and Coverack is a magical place, not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

You are going to think I am on some kind of commission here, but I can assure you I am not.
This hotel is without a doubt the best I have stayed in in many a year.
Gina house is a wonderful hostest and her staff, particularly Thomas (I hope he spells his name this way) who was cheerful morning and evening and moves through the dining room like a swirling mist, ensuring everyone is served promptly.
Richard cooks the most amazing food. I could not fault it. I've eaten at Michelin starred establishments and I honestly believe that this gentlemen deserves one, not just the "recommended" status that Michelin have given him already. My favourite part of the day was listening as the dining room got quieter and quieter as people got their food...all you could hear was "mmm" and "lovely" and "you should try this!" Their meals were holding their full attention.

We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and enjoyed being pampered in this wonderful, relaxing environment. The whole village is absolutely delightful and this hotel is the perfect addition to it's charms.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to couples looking for a quiet, relaxing getaway, with geat food and company.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

What a gem! A small family-run hotel with fantastic views across Coverack Bay. Because of the constraints of the building the bedrooms were not large but they were very well appointed and organised. The hotel has been refurbished and modernised internally since the proprietors Richard and Gina House bought it four years ago. We didn't see so much of him because he was busy in the kitchen producing most excellent food. However Gina was just the best hostess. An absolute delight. The rest of the staff were very good and we had a wonderful time. We were there with friends who also liked it very much. We can't wait to make another visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Albeit a small hotel, this is the best hotel we have stayed in during the last couple of years.
The owners and staff are most pleasant and helpful.
The food is without doubt of the highest restaurant standard.
The village is completely unspoiled and typically Cornish.
We shall make this hotel a regular on our holiday list.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Having seen the advert in the National Trust Magazine we booked a 3 night break at The Bay Hotel Coverack from 8th to 11th October 2009, including dinner ,bed and breakfast. We were in room 8 - a twin bedded room on the 1st floor with a good side window view of Coverack harbour and seafront. The room was clean and well furnished - very comfy beds. The en-suite shower room was a little cramped but again was clean and all we needed for our stay. The Dining Room and Bar/lounge were likewise tastefully decorated and offered lovely views across the from lawn down to the sea and harbour. The highlights of our stay were Gina's front of house warm and friendly hospitality. This is coupled by the standard of fare served at meal times. I have to say in our view you would be hard pressed to find better food in any Westcountry Hotel, both in choice and presentation. Add to this the lovely walks available from the hotel on the South West Coast path - we did 18 miles over 2 days - and the good weather during our stay - We hope to return in 2010.. Many thanks to Gina, Ric and staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable week at the Bay hotel. We were pleased to find plenty of parking space and a very friendly welcome in reception by the hotel owner, Gina House. She is very hands-on, making sure that all her guests enjoy their stay, and nothing was ever too much trouble. All the staff were also friendly and helpful.
We were asked to choose our evening meal in advance each day, but found the only problem with this was that there was so much choice. Besides the standard menu, each day there were a selection of the day's special dishes, plus Gina was happy to order any other fish that we might fancy, all locally sourced, even if not on the menu. And I can say that the dinners, cooked by Gina's husband Ric, were the best I have ever eaten on holiday in an English hotel, bar none.

Our room was not large but it was perfectly adequate with plenty of clothes storage space, and a wonderful sea view. Coverack itself is a very attractive village which stretches round a bay and harbour, and in September we never saw more than 50 people on the beach at its busiest.
We spoke to several other guest who go back to the hotel every year on a regular basis, and we will definitely be going back oursleves.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0ucanttakeitwithy0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coverack
7.1 mi away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
545 reviews
7.0 mi away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
787 reviews
5.8 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Trelawne Hotel
Trelawne Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
328 reviews
21.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: Bay Hotel North Corner, Coverack TR12 6TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Coverack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coverack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privately owner hotel in the beautiful, unspoilt, fishing village of Coverack on the lizard Peninsula. Nearly every room has stunning, uninterrupted seaviews across the Bay and harbour. Our garden terrace is just metres from the beach. Breathtaking scenery with exhilarating walks along the coastal path which starts at the foot of the drive.The perfect place to escape from the hustle and bustle with glorious vistas, stylish surroundings and delicious locally sourced food, including fresh fish landed from the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Cornwall
The Bay Hotel Coverack, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing