We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO seafoood at the seafood buffet”

Oyster Island Resort Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Oyster Island Resort Restaurant - 100% waterfront, set overlooking the tranquil waters of Peterson Bay, Oyster Island is elegant yet casual, serving only 100% Organic Fresh Island Grown and Market Fresh Produce, Sustainable locally caught seafood, and the famous Organic Santo Beef. Weather its a romantic 3 course wine matched special occasion, or a sand between your toes casual lunch, Oyster Island caters to all. Our Sunday BBQ Lunch Buffet is legendary - featuring local live music, and too many dishes to mention. Reservations essential. Drive north on the east coast road until you come to the sign, drive through the village to the 'landing'. Bang the tank to let our boat crew know you need a pick up, and sit back, enjoy the waterfront view, sip a cocktail and let the Oyster Island staff pamper you with the Ni-Vanuatu smiles and hospitality that this country is renown for.
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NO seafoood at the seafood buffet”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went the first sunday that we were there, and because people raved about it, even though a bit disappointed the first time, we got NO seafood at all the next Sunday. There was plenty of food, and the only seafood was the processed packaged fillers in a seafood pasta, nothing special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    58
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bli Bli, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent buffet lunch”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Chocolate ribs were special but all the food was nicely presented and tasty. The sweet was a cream and sponge roll. When I asked for some fruit they brought out a yummy fresh fruit salad. It is especially good you combine your buffet lunch with a canoe( canoe hire is then free) paddle from the resort to the Matevulu blue hole and back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“day visitor”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We came here to hire a canoe and go to a local blue hole. They were very friendly and supplied us with snorkle gear and a good kayak. The directions to a local sunken ww2 plane didn't pan out, so perhaps you need to ask them to guide you there, but the paddle up the creek to the nearby blue hole was spectacular and well worth the 40 mins or so of paddling.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnAussieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is a culinary paradise”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Firstly they pick you up on a little barge and you take a 5 minute ride over to the island. The sun was full on shining and the chef was behind the buffet table handing out beautifully cooked local fish ans fresh salads. Then we wander over to the BBQ for some local beef. BTW the local beef in Vanuatu is wicked, they are essentially parasite free so the cattle is mostly free range! We had a nice afternoon, great food, nice Tusker beer with a view of beautiful water in a tropical wonderland. Will go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great setting - average food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 days and it was a bit of a chore to eat at the restaurant. Very average fish, burgers, curries, pizza etc. really disappointing selection of seafood. Buffet was super unimpressive - thin steak like beef jerky, dry fish and cheap salads. No prawns or oysters even?! Do not even attempt to get a nzd$14cocktail (although to be fair we didn't have a good one the whole 2 week trip)
Breakfast was totally non inspiring (toast, fruit salad and weetbix?!)
Tried also Deco stop (best) and Turtle Bay(better).
In general food we found was totally overpriced in Vanuatu. But disappointing as there is so much they could do in terms of organic salads and fresh seafood?!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oyster Island Resort Restaurant also viewed

 
Luganville, Espiritu Santo
 

Been to Oyster Island Resort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing