We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village de Santo Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have just returned from 8 days stay in village de santo. We loved it, it is in an easy location, was well priced and was overall a very comfortable and friendly place to stay. Bev and Nabil were super helpful and amazing hosts- all you have to do is mention that you might be interested in doing something and they are on the phone researching options for you. The rest of the staff there are absolutely awesome too, the whole place is full of really lovely people. The room layout was a little bit stressful for us because we have a baby that crawls at running speed and all he wanted to do was climb the stairs... it was a little hard to relax because there was no kind of barrier there to stop him from falling straight off the mezanine level. Maybe not the best set up for moving babies but i think if you had a child that was a bit older or a small baby you probably couldn't find anywhere better to stay in santo. We had a beautiful, relaxing break and look forward to going back sometime.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HanDVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    79
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
85
108
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We struggled to find suitable accommodation for 2 kids (ages 10 & 12) & 2 adults but Village de Santo proved to be the perfect solution. Located an easy 15 minute walk from town it's a modern oasis & Bev is the best hostess imagineable. She was full of creative ideas to fill our days & was extremely helpful in getting us organized to make the most of our thoroughly enjoyable 8 night stay.
The hotel has 18 identical rooms all with comfortable living areas downstairs & a mezzanine upstairs which we used as the parents retreat. The bedding arrangements are quite flexible & could suit a variety of travellers from singles & couples to families with up to 3 kids. The rooms enclose a very nice tropical pool & bar area. At the front there is a restaurant which we found to be the best that we sampled on the island.
Overall we can't recommend Village de Santo highly enough. The rooms are quirky but very practical & modern. The staff are wonderful & Bev makes everyone feel so fantastically welcome. Even the prices are reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovefamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I travelled with my family in July and stayed at Village de Santo for a week. We occupied 3 rooms and each room was clean, spacious and very well presented. It was great to have a kitchenette with a microwave ( all new appliances, cutlery and crockery).
The pool and Chief's Bar area is surrounded by a lovely tropical garden which is a relaxing place to sit and have a bite to eat, read or access wireless internet ( excellent reception ). Oh, and the coffee here is excellent!
The management and staff are friendly and have a very nice rapport with each other. Nabil and Bev are wonderful hosts and really do provide exceptional customer service. We ate at the restaurant every day and loved the wide selection of meals on offer.
The resort is very convenient to town, either walk 15mins or take a taxi from outside the resort.
Overall, this small and quiet resort is just a wonderful find in Luganville.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My friend and I were at Village de Santo for nearly a week and it was lovely! The owners are really friendly and make sure that you get to know them and the staff. They also make sure that you are having fun, and even suggested one or two events that were not listed in any tours!

The room we were in was around $93 a night per person and it was very airy and had a microwave, mini fridge and a king bed, day bed and sofa bed. Also each room was nestled behind some plants so it was private.

It's about 15-20 minutes walk to the main street in Luganville, there is a pool at Village de Santo though, and since the tours will pick you up from anywhere I didn't find it an impediment. The food is lovely, although they did run out of meals!

What I liked best was the atmosphere, the service and the rooms. They really care about the local culture and it shows. What I liked least was that I had to leave! Maybe some budget accom or long stay?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The rooms at Village de Santo are very large and airy, with nice quality sheets and fan and louvre cooling. They have a large bathroom, and small kitchenette and would be perfect for families.
The property is one of the newest in town, located about 15 minutes walk from the main centre of Luganvile, but easily accessible by local bus or taxi.
Our booking included a buffet breakfast which included cereals, fruit and toast and pancakes, juice and tea or instant coffee. Al la carte breakfasts and expresso coffee are available at extra cost.The attached restaurant was a pleasant surprise with an eclectic and delicious selection of reasonably priced meals, we ate there two out of three nights, gradually working our way through the menu.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Bev, the owner who will go out of her way to help you in any way she can.
Village de Santo is located right on the main road, which we found a little bit noisy. Next door is some kind of farm where the locals break open nuts manually with a rock, this is also a bit noisy as it starts up at 7.00 am most days, although not on weekends.


.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNMCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here for four nights in July and loved it. If you're planning to spend every day on the beach, you may be better off staying further north (although the road up the east coast to Champagne Beach is now paved and it's only about an hour from Luganville), but if you're doing different things each day or if you're mainly in town to dive, this is the place.

The rooms are large, bright and airy with lots of space, nice fittings and the convenience of a kitchenette. The bed was very comfortable, the fans provide enough air movement to keep you cool and the bathroom was well appointed. The rooms form a u-shape around a smallish pool (nice spot to cool off in the afternoon) and bar area. The gardens are lush and well tended and the whole place has a relaxed, tropical vibe while still being clean and modern. The free wi-fi is also a nice touch.

The real drawcards here, however, are the excellent restaurant and the excellent service. The owner and staff are fantastic. Very welcoming and happy to accommodate any request. Nothing was too much trouble from calling taxis and booking tours, to reserving a table at a restaurant, to finding us a pack of cards (Actually Nabil produced a full poker set!) or dealing with special dietary requirements.

Restaurant 1606, which is attached to the Hotel is outstanding. The food is reliably good, the prices are reasonable and the chef is flexible; If you need a meal to meet special dietary requirements, no worries. If you want to order from the lunch menu at dinner time, not a problem. The menu is interesting including middle eastern dishes, delicious seafood and fantastic steaks. The wine list is small but good and as I've already mentioned the service is fantastic. Even if you don't stay at Village de Santo, do come here for a meal. We ate at Le Jardin des Saveurs as well as a couple of other places in town, but this was our favourite for quality, value and excellent service.

Overall, Village de Santo has a good location, nice rooms, fantastic restaurant and outstanding staff. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The hotel is new and the room was very clean. The swimming pool is a bit small, but good for a dip to cool down at the end of the day. The ceiling fans work well to keep you cool and are very quiet. Breakfast is basic, but the home made tropical jams - paw paw, banana, are beautiful. We had lunch and dinner as well, and the food - local Poulet fish, organic Santo beef were very deliciously cooked. The manager, Nabil was fantastic. He was so friendly and helpful, that he made our stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
0.0 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
170 reviews
5.8 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#6 of 10 in Luganville
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
327 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
204 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village de Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village de Santo Resort

Property: Village de Santo Resort
Address: Rue Higginson | Sanma Province, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luganville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village de Santo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant, contemporary and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, Village De Santo Resort is perfect for a sun-kissed holiday, catering for divers, business travelers and adventure travelers Deluxe Village Suites are prefect for families, couples or solo travelers. Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Luganville town and 15 from Airport. Recharge in one of 17 beautifully appointed open-plan luxury suites, complete with queen bed, modern bathroom and fully screened timber louvers and ceiling fans. Above all, Village De Santo places utmost importance on supporting and integrating its resort with local communities. Guests experience everything this tropical island has to offer, while feeling good that their stay with us directly benefits this beautiful island community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village de Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village De Santo Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing