We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village de Santo Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Joondalup, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic stay at Village De Santo at the end of November for 5 nights.
The accommodation was very spacious and spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable and the linen was of a high standard.
The pool was a welcome relief in the afternoons when the humidity set in and we were lucky to have it to ourselves everyday as this was a quiet tourist time in Santo (see note below).
We had some lovely meals in the restaurant on the nights we dined there and the cocktails were great as well. Dave and Barry and the other staff were very friendly and there was a great family / team atmosphere between them, which made our stay even more enjoyable.
Bev and Nabil were always on hand to suggest day outings etc, and Bev and Nabil were more than happy to arrange anything for us.
Taxi’s run non stop right out the front of the Village and we never waited for more than a minute to wave one down. One way into Luganville was 200vt which is approximately $2 aus. The drivers were always friendly and ready for a chat and are more than happy to wait if you want to go into the supermarket, bank etc.
We would highly recommend Village De Santo to any anyone going to Santo and we will definitely be returning in the future.
Thanks Bev and Nabil for making our stay so memorable.
Note: Late November / early December is traditionally a quiet tourist time in Santo, some resorts were even closed for a few weeks. We hardly seen any other tourist during our travels, and had the blue holes, etc to ourselves. The weather while warm, was not unbearable (however we live in Queensland) and we had the odd thunderstorms during the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    79
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
84
107
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We were really happy with our decision to stay at Village de Santo. I toiled over the decision for a long time after we couldn’t get in to Oyster Bay for all three nights. Finally, based on TA reviews and the fact that we longed for something a little more local and less “resorty”, we did the deal, and we ended up very happy with the decision. What we loved: the lush, beautiful courtyard style layout; the clean rooms, the meticulously maintained grounds (the staff work hard at this and seem to be happily employed); how easy it is to arrange a tour through Bev; the food! (really high quality and deelish); the large rooms, and the location. While not right in town, we braved it one day and walked to town looking for a pharmacy. The whole trip into town was a good experience and we grabbed a cab back. Cabs are easy to come by, cheap, and if you like the first one you get, get their name and number and call them any time you need a ride – they’ll be there! We had the same cabbie for 2.5 days. I wanted to pre-book a dive trip and the Millenum Cave trips but I heeded the advice to book it when we arrived. Easy-breezy and I would make the same recommendation; if you have any flexibility arrange tours when you arrive. We booked the night before a dive trip and Millennium Cave and it all worked swimmingly. If you are up for a strenuous, true adventure, do Millennium Cave (tip them at the end, leave a couple cool t-shirts, or contribute to the village school). This is a trek you will never forget. Back to the hotel: The courtyard style makes for interesting acoustics – you can hear everything inside and out of the rooms near the pool!. If your louvers are open, expect that you can be heard by about anyone. The beds are upstairs, so if you don’t mind walking down to the bathroom at night, this place is spot on! It is a comfy, quiet and casual place with great prices, hardworking and accommodating staff and with just enough local flair that you really feel like you are in Vanuatu! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think they are all basically the same layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnyvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Manager at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much for your high recommendation and your appreciation for our dedicated staff. Your attention to detail is appreciated in writing your review. We are very proud of our lush gardens, meticulously kept Suites and making our guests feel comfortable. I will pass feed back to Sam who is manger of the Millennium Cave Tour, the tour is an adventure! I'm sure your review will be most helpful to our future guests. It was our pleasure to help make your holiday such a positive experience for you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Modest but modern facilities, lush surrounds, amazingly friendly and honest people. The owners are welcoming and helpful and give you great advice on how to save money, who to tour with, where to go etc. They recommend and book activities each day if you want them. The food is lovely, simple but fresh and tasty. What it lacks in glitz and glamour it more than makes up for in personality and friendliness. The rooms are not fancy, but they are comfortable. I will go back any time :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricketchick_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed here while on business during the low season with wife for two nights.
It was convenient to town without being right on the main street so a bit quieter.
Spacious rooms that were clean and recently renovated.
Note this is not a beach front resort and there is no air conditioning.
But swimming pool and central garden is beautiful.
Also the best place left in town for european styled food using local ingredients.
If you want an economical place to stay while visiting Luganville and you want to visit the caves the blue holes and the dive spots doubt you would find better.
Staff are very good at arranging

Room Tip: The suites with upstairs bed are cooler in the hotter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Manager at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for the kind review of your stay in one of our Village suites. We agree our location is convenient. I will pass along your comments of cleanliness and service to our exceptional staff.
We are so pleased that Restaurant exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Village de Santo Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

The village de Santo resort is located just outside of town - 15 minute brisk walk or a short cab ride. (A cab into the town cost only 200 Vatu). There are 400 cabs in Santo - so don't be shy hail one and you'll meet a friendly local and get you to wherever you want to go with no fuss.

The rooms at the resort are situated in a U-shaped complex with a pool in the centre. The pool is a great way to relax in the afternoon, but depending on the guests and their children, it can become quiet a noisy spot!

The rooms have two floors with the upstairs being a loft where the main bed is located.

Rooms are very clean and well appointed. There is no aircon but the room was really well ventilated so it wasn't missed.

The resort has a nice restaurant that serves a good mix of food - and the vegetarian options were excellent. The service is good but laid back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

A mate and I have just spent a week between Christmas and New Years at the Village deSanto so we could do some diving on the Coolidge.

The resort is a five minute drive out of town, it is small and the units are set close together, but it worked well with the lush tropical plantings between and around. The rooms were clean, but the bedding was certainly not top quality and new bath towels each day would be nice. It was also a surprise to find that poolside towels cost $10Au to hire! The rooms were not air conditioned, but there was ample cross ventilation and two ceiling fans.

The restaurant was clean and the food was good, with just enough variety for a one-week stay.

This short holiday was made even better by the other guests from Australia and Europe. The pool was a great place to relax and chat as was the Chief's Bar.

If I had one final suggestion to Bev and Nabil it would be that key staff being absent or locals booked for services and then not turning up may be quaintly referred to as just the Island way, but to a guest it can be inconvenient and annoying. Case at point- pre-booked transfer back to airport did not turn up, so a dodgy taxi ride was arranged- sure we got there, but I shouldn't have had to worry about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
It is so hard to respond to all reviews as you can understand, hence it has taken awhile, my apologies .
I thinks its important to address some of the feed back as it may confuse other guests.

Bedding- On the mezzanine level we have a luxury queen bed. On the ground floor the choice is single bed or fold out sofa. Our suites are not advertised , promoted or priced to reflect anything different.
It is the guests choice to pay for there own room or share.Your booking was last minute and
we were fully booked, you and your friend were lucky enough to get the last Suite.

Regarding the transfer- This was extremely annoying for us as well. Unfortunately a cruise ship got diverted from Fiji due to a cyclone. All tour operators went into panic and sent buses to services the ships passengers. Our Tour operator sent you that taxi not us.

Pool Towels- No charge they are blue and white striped. The one off fee to hire a beach towel blue towels for the duration of your stay is what you were charged.
This covers the cost for Laundry.You can have as a fresh towel beach everyday. We had to implement this as our pool towels were going out with divers, to caves etc. Some never returned.

Just to finish we did enjoy having you two diving buddies and I know our guests did too.
We hope to see you again and book early!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Great place to stay for a few nights. You dont have ocean views which was a shame, very close to the road and there is a pool. The rooms are very spacious and clean, great if you have a young family. When we arrived at the airport the driver left without us, then we had to go and find our own way to the hotel in a squashy taxi, which squashed my dress, which was a bit of a shame late at night. Breakfast was good and sufficient, they even had pancakes!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lgui3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luganville hotels
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#8 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.8 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
6.8 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village de Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village de Santo Resort

Property: Village de Santo Resort
Address: Rue Higginson | Sanma Province, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luganville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village de Santo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant, contemporary and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, Village De Santo Resort is perfect for a sun-kissed holiday, catering for divers, business travelers and adventure travelers Deluxe Village Suites are prefect for families, couples or solo travelers. Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Luganville town and 15 from Airport. Recharge in one of 17 beautifully appointed open-plan luxury suites, complete with queen bed, modern bathroom and fully screened timber louvers and ceiling fans. Above all, Village De Santo places utmost importance on supporting and integrating its resort with local communities. Guests experience everything this tropical island has to offer, while feeling good that their stay with us directly benefits this beautiful island community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village de Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village De Santo Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing