We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village de Santo Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a bit dissappointed”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

nice spacious room, one big space with bedroom on a second store, hardwood staircase and floor. However bathroom is on the first store which at times is inconvenient. Rooms are arranged on 3 sides of a rectangle which makes sounds to carry around, especially at night time. Taking shower was a challenge - gas heater only allowed either burning hot or refreshingly cold water, mixing was impossible. Maybe it was just a toll of our room number - we stayed in number 13. Staff is very nice. Restaurant is adjacent to the resort, dinner for two cost us at least 50AU. We had breakfast included, it was same every day - pancakes, local fruit, serials, tea, coffee. Town is 10-15 minutes walk or 3-4 minutes/200vt by cab. Biggest disappointment for us was no access to swimming/snorkelling within reasonable distance - the closest was 20 minutes drive, taxi costs between 15 and 25AU. resort is situated on the main road which was pretty dusty. we like to take walks so we tried a couple of times but gave up, walking along the road in the dark wasn't pleasant. Resort is situated between locals' dwellings, dogs and roosters might be a problem for light sleepers. Also locals burn green waste which produces a lot of smelly smoke. Our room didn't have glazed windows, just timber shutters, so the smoke was freely getting into the room.

Room Tip: maybe not No 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canberran2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our readers. Thank you for completing our nice spacious rooms, and our excellent staff. Location: We are accessible to town! Thanks for pointing this out. Town is 10-15 minutes’ walk or 3-4 minutes/200vt by cab.
The hot water- all our hot water systems have been replaced and our local company Origin is using a new and improved mix. The water pressure is very low in Santo if you add too much cold to quick you will have an issue of the water going cold. We are doing all we can, there is nothing worse than no hot water on holiday. So sorry you didn’t get the mix right.
Restaurant meals- our breakfast buffet has pancakes, local fruit, serials but always banana cake or French toast, homemade jams toast, fruit juice, tea and Tanna plunger coffee. Of course menu is available for hot dishes for an extra charge.
Dinner- thank you for being consistent Restaurant guests at 1606. Enjoying 6 nights out of your eight nights stay. You tried everything!! Tapas, Sea food Paella (twice), Santo Beef, Poulet fish, Vegetable platter, Cocoanut Crab, Large New Zealand Prawns, Caesar salad, Greek Salad, Chocolate Tart and Crème Brule.
Our prices are excellent, we agree 5,000vt (43.00Aud) can buy two people main course, desert and drinks.
Dust, Roosters, Dogs out of our control but when that big old Roster comes near the fence the security man chases it off. Let’s hope he wasn’t sleeping!
Smoke I agree this can be annoying but it what the locals have been doing for hundreds of years. Proud to say as active member and International Director of Santo Rotary Club, our club has already built 3 smokeless cooking stoves. We are currently seeking International funding to provide these free to communities. They cost 6000vt each to make and are fantastic.
Some advice for readers on swimming and snorkeling as you pointed out this was another disappointment on your holiday.
If you don’t book direct research or email us. We never advertise in any way that we are located on or near any beaches suitable for these activities. Accommodation in Luganville is perfect for travelers who like a variety of experiences yet don’t want to be isolated unable to get out and about you can have the best of both, City and Sea.
I will leave you with good news! Santo has had rain after a record number of dry days, hence maybe that’s why you found Santo Dusty. Even better, Isolated Villages now have water in the tanks.
We hope you will come back to get to know Santo better one day. Its an amazing place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    79
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
86
109
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Village de Santo. Bev really makes you feel welcome and relaxed, and does her best to take care of all your needs. She organised transfers, booked my scuba diving and other day activities and also made sure that my two kids under 4 years old were catered for. The accomodation is clean and spacious and includes all basic amenities. The lack of TV and internet in our room was a welcome change and helped us disconnect from the world and relax (although wifi is a short 10 second walk away from the room if it is needed). Food at the restaurant was very high quality and always enjoyed by the family. I have never felt more cared for in all my getaways than my stay with the friendly staff at the Village de Santo. I can honestly say that I enjoyed my stay here much more than the 5-star luxury resort that followed in Port Vila. I look forward to staying again with them hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Manager at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. It is our goal that from the moment our guests arrive at Village de Santo Resort they feel comfortable and relaxed. We are perfect for families, thank you for mentioning lack of TV.Our most memorable holidays (as a family) were away from all the modern day gadgets and you have the opportunity to reconnect as a family. That’s excellent!! Five Star Service - The staff loved hearing that ! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Village de Santo was our first experience of Vanuatu and we had a wonderful time. Good staff and good management make or break anything, and the Village excelled. You can see from the other reviews that list everyone by name how friendly and personal the service is.
Location was perfect for us - close enough to walk into town (about 15 mins at Santo speed ie very slowly) but far enough away not to have the noise and dust of the main town. However like most places there are roosters and dogs very close by, and I would recommend earplugs for a really good night if you are a light sleeper. (My friend was fine.) Not important to us but there is an extremely authentic kava bar 50m down the road, where once the light comes on in the evening the local lady who lives there brings out the plastic bucket and funnel and for 50VT you can try...if you dare...
Rooms: we shared a room, with my friend on the mezzanine queensize and me downstairs on the single day bed; so a bit of privacy for each of us, and a lot more space than we expected, plus microwave, bar fridge, cutlery and crockery. Note that the bathroom is downstairs so this won't suit those with dodgy knees but there may be other bed configurations. Ceiling fans and flyscreens make it a lovely tropical experience and we were very comfortable (aircon can be very noisy and ineffective in high humidity; we were happy with the fans in August though February might be a bit tougher). Amenities: pool is not huge but felt fresh, sparkling clean and great for a splash. Pool fence security is really to stop grownups falling in in the dark I think, rather than being toddler proof, so be aware of this if you bring kids. Laundry can be left out on the doorstep in the basket provided in the bathroom (about VT1400 per load); we put it out in the morning and had it back when we returned that evening.
Food was far above our expectations. It's a mixture of familiar and intriguing, and almost everything is local - the largest oysters I've ever seen, very sweet long-armed prawns (perhaps tiny crayfish), a grapefruit-like thing called pampelmus, delicious fresh bread. Salad is more common than vegetables though a thing like bok choy is local. There's a kids menu but they might also like some of the simpler tapas plates, or some of the mains slightly simplified. Though it was a quiet week we didn't feel any sense of compromise, and had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant each day. The focus on local produce means sometimes items will be off the printed menu, but that happens in Sydney too of course. Charlie the chef has apparently taught many of the other chefs on Santo.
Other: We appreciated Bev and Nabil's commitment to and involvement in the local community. There wasn't the uncomfortable aura of 'expat exploitation' that you can sense in some of the other places in Vanuatu, and given that the contrast between local and resort living is striking, this is something worth considering when making your accommodation choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear KK,
Thank you. Your review has mentioned everything!! It was lovely having “yutufala” stay with us at Village de Santo.
Thank you for choosing our Resort, we were very happy that both of you felt comfortable and had a wonderful experience for your first visit to this Island Paradise.
Lukim yu (See you again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed with Bev and Nabil last year in July for a week on a diving holiday. Bev and Nabil and all the staff were extremely helpful, caring and friendly and made the stay such as pleasure. The on-site restaurant was fantastic, every meal was delicious!
The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and inviting.
We had use of the wash room for our diving gear, and Bev organised lots of amazing cultural experiences that also helped to support traditional life in the local villages.Nothing negative about this place at all, good location - 10 minute walk or 2 min cab into the town.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared the same, very spacious with everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lovesamazingfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Manager at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
So many guests like you enjoy being able to Experience the tradition and culture of Santo, it is still a well kept secret!! I am so glad to receive reviews that mention this important part of their holiday experience, thank you. Restaurant 1606 (our onsite) Restaurant is Fantastic, Charlie and his team work hard keeping up the high standard. Our staffs read all reviews and look forward to the feedback. We look forward to a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Another thrip to Village de Santo and again it just couldn't be better. Everything was ready on our arrival and all the rooms were perfect. Beautiful spacious airy rooms that suit the conditions perfectly with nice beds and serviced to perfection each day. Staff are as helpful as ever and everything is made alll the more special by the friendly atmosphere and great service. Food was excellent with every meal of a quality I have rarely experienced almost anywhere else. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samford, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

On arrival at Village de Santo, we were warmly welcomed by hosts Bev and Nabil who did their utmost to ensure our stay was enjoyable. And it was. The staff always greeted us with huge smiles: Valerie, Rose, Charlie, Dave, Barry, the ladies who cleaned the rooms, the gardener, the bus driver, everybody. The restaurant provided delicious and filling food at reasonable prices as well as great entertainment. Our room was spacious, immaculately clean and well ventilated with many shutters and flyscreens on the windows. Upstairs, the bed was comfortable. The pool is only a few metres from the door and is surrounded by palms and exotic flowers that add colour, shade and privacy. The walk into town and back soon had us slowing to the local rhythm and gave us the chance to take in the surroundings. As has been said elsewhere, there are always plenty of cheap taxis going past the resort.
We were privileged to be among the first guests of Mango Village just across the road from the resort. Bev is working with the villagers to develop a sustainable tourism project that will provide work and help retain traditional culture through sharing with visitors. Bev and Nabil’s commitment to the people of Santos meant we as guests were able to see and experience the local culture. We also enjoyed speaking French with Nabil and many of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was our second stay at the Village, having visited this time last year. Again we were very impressed, the comfort and quality of the rooms is first class and the food was excellent ! Bev is a wonderful host.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulB_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
1.0 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#8 of 10 in Luganville
174 reviews
6.6 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
328 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Espiritu Santo
204 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village de Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village de Santo Resort

Property: Village de Santo Resort
Address: Rue Higginson | Sanma Province, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Luganville
#2 Family Hotel in Luganville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village de Santo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant, contemporary and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, Village De Santo Resort is perfect for a sun-kissed holiday, catering for divers, business travelers and adventure travelers Deluxe Village Suites are prefect for families, couples or solo travelers. Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Luganville town and 15 from Airport. Recharge in one of 17 beautifully appointed open-plan luxury suites, complete with queen bed, modern bathroom and fully screened timber louvers and ceiling fans. Above all, Village De Santo places utmost importance on supporting and integrating its resort with local communities. Guests experience everything this tropical island has to offer, while feeling good that their stay with us directly benefits this beautiful island community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Village de Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village De Santo Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing