We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village de Santo Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed as a family with 2 adults and 2 children for 3 nights in late September. I can't speak highly enough of what an excellent service Bev and Nabil and the staff provided. Nothing was too much trouble.
The restaurant was first class, great breakfasts and food in the evenings, and excellent entertainment. Desmond and his band got us all up doing Vanuatu dances which was a lot of fun.
Bev and Nabil organised some awesome sightseeing and cultural tours - the positive memories of these will last a lifetime!
The rooms had plenty of room and were well set out.
The walk to town was easy and cabs were plentiful and cheap.
Loved my morning walks to the interesting locations within walking distance.
An excellent holiday - our only regret was only coming for 3 nights - we all look forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank markpatty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
What a fantastic review!
We have ticked all the boxes:
Excellent service, first class Restaurant, excellent entertainment, organizing awesome tours, spacious Village Suites for a family of four and location, location, location!!
Village de Santo Resort staff and the community of Santo are very happy your short trip has left you and your family with Positive memories.
That’s Excellent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    79
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
84
107
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great seclusion, not busy, away from town etc. No TVs in rooms which made for a relaxing stay especially as it is a very open place and other rooms would hear each others TVs if we had them. Owners are very accommodating and really want to help.

The staff will help with anything you ask. There is no extra charge for room service (just normal restaurant prices) and the food is the best in Santo! No kidding, everyone said to eat there when we asked for recommendations.

Only down side was the lack of air conditioning, although we didn't need it (we don't care for it) I can see how others might just want it.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to town back on to a village with roosters, try and get the ones further from town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chiefturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so much for highlighting the two great advantages of staying at Village de Santo Resort. Seclusion and close to town. This is very helpful for future travelers.
Good to hear the Television was not missed. Restaurant 1606 (our in house dining) specializes in entertainment and most guests love to get involved or just enjoy the night time ambiance!
Restaurant 1606 is number one in Santo, thanks to our TripAdvisor reviews, we value your feedback and great to hear non guest are recommending us.
Air Conditioning has been considered in Deluxe Suites, however it is far healthier and guests adapt much quicker in the hottest month of February if they don’t use Air Con. Apart from February Santo’s weather is stunning by day and cool by night.
Luk em Yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Bev and Nabile are so helpful- Bev helped us out with booking alterations promptly and flexibly before our stay and Nabile helped during our stay, offering to make phone calls for us and checking in to see how we were and to have a chat regularly. Our room was spotless, bed comfortable and grounds and garden beautiful. The restaurant has incredible food and we were surprised by the inclusion of a delicious free breakfast. Only criticism is that it's not the most central and it's a 15 minute walk or 5 minute taxi into town. Would still recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elkate111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review and positive feedback on our helpful staff, spotless rooms, comfy beds,beautiful gardens and grounds. Well done housekeeping and grounds men, your comments were passed on to the staff who were delighted!
The food is not only incredible but our Restaurant team is amazing, thank you.
Location being 5 minutes away by taxi from the noise and bustle of town has its advantages, we think! But no, we are not in the middle of Luganville town centre so thank you for mentioning that and thank you so much for recommending Village de Santo Resort to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mansfield vic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

From the time we got there it felt like a holiday. Bev and Nabile are great hosts ,making sure we got the most from our stay.
The staff are amazing ,they even put up with our 9 year old [charlie] forever asking for things .
The restaurant puts out great food ,and thier music nights are great fun.
thanks everyone for a great time
michael carol sarah and charlie

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
It’s great fun being on Holidays! Charlie was in holiday mode and the local Ni Vanuatu love children, so nothing is too much effort, to make sure Children enjoy their holiday, with Mum and Dad.
Thank you for commenting on our hospitality, its easy when you enjoy what you do. We especially love our music nights, Jamming with Desmond when we all get to perform and so do the guests.
Restaurant 1606 is going from strength to strength we are very excited about our new Tapas menu. The staff thanks you for the feedback.
Look forward to seeing Charlie and his Mum and Dad again.
"Au revoir"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed for 6 nights as we wanted to be in town, walking distance, and needed to accommodate for 3 people. There were plenty of options to find a place for a couple but quite difficult/expensive if you need a place for 3 people. We settled on this resort as all in all it had a good value and reviews.
It is located about 15 minute walk away from the main market or a 200Vt taxi ride, for which all you have to do is wave your hand and one of the many taxis will pick you up.
The unit we were in had a kitchenette but no cook top. A fridge, microwave and dishes were there though so one can make some tea, prepare fruits or a simple snack if wanted.
We really liked landscaping on the hotel, it has probably too many units on a small plot of land but the clever landscaping hides that fact and it still feels comfortable. There is a pool in the middle of it for those who wish to use it.
The restaurant is excellent, we had some specific dietary requirements and the chef catered for us. Breakfasts are very very nice, we loved the home made jams from tropical fruits - even just remembering them now makes me want to eat something! The continental (included) breakfast is firmly at or over a 4.5 star hotel level.
The owners are a very nice couple, they give all of themselves to the place and it does feel - everything there functions flawlessly, they are always there to assist you and always with a smile.
If you want to spend some days in Luganville, don't hesitate and stay in Village De Santo - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The sound travels easily in tropics, we never had issues with dogs barking but we got smoke in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Very nice comments! tank yu tu mus!!
Our Deluxe Village Suites are very spacious, happy to hear the three of you felt very comfortable for your 6 days stay.
Your positive review of our location, value, Kitchenette and landscaping will be very helpful for future guest, thanks so much.
Our Chef, Charlie and his team in Restaurant 1606 were very satisfied and proud to hear they catered for your special diet to your satisfaction; they are very clever at adapting the local produce to suite.
4.5 For our breakfast!! Big smiles from the morning staff Ella, Gino and Noel. They do try very hard to vary the menu so good feedback for them.
I am sure you will return to Santo and we look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is our family's second repeat visit to this hotel. We enjoy the family run hotel experience so much we enouraged an extended family vacation of 9 from both Western Australia and Queensland back to Vanuatu. The staff are extremely friendly and always eager to help. We enjoy the owners philosophy of helping the local community with acts of generosity and caring for others.
The custom village tour at Mango and the Melanesiun feast was a highlight this time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robleam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
What fun it was having you all stay with us on your family holiday.
Thank you selecting Santo as your destination, traveling all the way from Western Australia.
The staff look forward to seeing repeat guests and thank you for your comment.
Mango Village tour (close to my heart) although new is taking off!! Not far from Town and Village de Santo Resort, a short 3 minute taxi ride from Luganville or you can enjoy a 10 minute walk.
The Village enjoyed celebrating with your family an engagement and birthday, congratulations. The traditional Bread fruit, birthday cake was delicious.
We hope to see you all again in the future.
Lukem yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed four nights what a great resort units surround pool, units semi private with tropical gardens. Owner and staff very helpful and can not do enough for you. The chef would have to be the best on santo - the food fantastic and top quality at reasonable prices. Taxis pass resort every few minutes cost 200vt to go into town or 10000 to airport (Aus $10) very good public transport. Good island to snorkel swim or blob, lots of fish and wrecks from the war, relics on beach.

Room Tip: Island well worth a visit and go to this resort for part or all of your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villagedesantoresort, Owner at Village de Santo Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
10 out of 10 rating for Village de Santo Resort and Santo, excellent!
The management and staff thank you so much for your high rating of our Resort.
The Island of Espiritu Santo – 10 out of 10!!!
We agree: Snorkeling, swimming, fishing, WW11relics, Culture and the people.
Santo would have to be the safest and least unexploited destination in the world.
We are proud to live and operate a business in paradise. look forward to seeing you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luganville hotels
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.8 mi away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#3 of 10 in Luganville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
6.8 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village de Santo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village de Santo Resort

Property: Village de Santo Resort
Address: Rue Higginson | Sanma Province, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Luganville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village de Santo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant, contemporary and surrounded by lush tropical gardens, Village De Santo Resort is perfect for a sun-kissed holiday, catering for divers, business travelers and adventure travelers Deluxe Village Suites are prefect for families, couples or solo travelers. Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Luganville town and 15 from Airport. Recharge in one of 17 beautifully appointed open-plan luxury suites, complete with queen bed, modern bathroom and fully screened timber louvers and ceiling fans. Above all, Village De Santo places utmost importance on supporting and integrating its resort with local communities. Guests experience everything this tropical island has to offer, while feeling good that their stay with us directly benefits this beautiful island community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village de Santo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village De Santo Resort Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing