We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of The Espiritu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Espiritu
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Luganville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Espiritu team made our stay in Santo the best holiday we have had. Not only are their rooms generous, modern and clean, the staff go absolutely out of their way to ensure you have a great time in Santo, they even gave us advice for the other islands! We hired a car from them to drive up the east coast quite last minute and they were fantastic - booking accommodation and recommending the sights and activities which have been the highlights of our stay. They know everyone and can get you the best deals.
The hotel is situated right in the middle of town, close to everything you need, our room even had a sea view. Thanks Simon and Raymond - we will definitely recommend to family and friends!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I came to Santo early in December and spent 5 nights at The Espiritu and 5 nights at Bokissa. We decided to stay in Luganville to have a good look at all the main island of Santo has to offer and there is lots to see and do even if you don't hold a scuba ticket.
The Espiritu is in the middle of Luganville's main street and therefore does not have a water view. However is very handy to all the supermarkets and restaurants. It is very inexpensive for the quality offered. The hotel is well maintained and the rooms are very clean and comfortable with effective quiet air conditioners and everything you need. We did not notice any traffic noise and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms have a small fridge which is handy to keep a 6 pack of coldies or a nice bottle of wine to enjoy while sitting out on your individual balcony. The service is very good with friendly and helpful staff led by Raymon. Raymon is very friendly and keen to help with anything you want. He and his staff will advise and help book any of the trips and activities you want to do. Beautiful Champagne Bay, Blue Holes, Millennium Cave, snorkeling and scuba trips, and car hire at the premises if that's what you want. Transfers to and from the airport were efficiently organised and included in the room rate.
Breakfast is a simple continental buffet with some very nice local fruit and cereal, toast and some great home made jam. If you want a hot breakfast there are cafes available close by.
We highly recommend the Espiritu Hotel and will stay there again when we return.

Room Tip: We got a free upgrade to the family room 306 and that is huge with double bed, 2 single beds, sofa a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you're heading to Santo you couldn't find a better place to stay - it's not a waterfront property but hire a car and take off for the day to visit all the beautiful Santo has to offer.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and the service is probably the best I've experienced in my travels (and I have travelled a lot!). Raymond and his team are he most genuine and helpful people around. They go out of their way to help you out. Thanks so much to the staff at The Espiritu for such wonderful service. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denfer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Good location, especially if diving the Coolidge as its just a two minute walk to Alan Power diving, staff very friendly, nice communal lounge with tv,rooms are comfortable with air con, but some rooms are still being renovated so expect building work noise all day long - even on Sunday!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayakingAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Really likes this place. Room was simple but had a clean bathroom, big bed and air con. Was an onsite dive equipment wash room and store for all our gear and the hotel is smack in the centre of the sprawling metropolis that is luganville!

Lovely staff, always smiling and helpful and a gorgeous dog that rules the roost. The owner was really friendly, helped us find things to do and took us to their local for some good kava and drinks.

Also a nice communal area with tv, DVD player and pool table as well as a kitchen which helped keep Down costs by allowing us to cook a few meals.

No pool, but on the days we weren't diving we simply took the free boat over to the island resort and chilled by their pool with a few cocktails. Easy!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a double room. Rooms are clean, bathroom clean and the bed comfortable. The room is air conditioned with tea making facilities, a small fridge, a TV (albeit no channels) and free wifi. Conveniently located on the Main Street in Luganville, close to VTO, restaurants, convenience stores, diving companies (aquamarine is located in the reception of the hotel.) the staff are friendly and Raymond, (manager I think) is very helpful and willing to help you out if you need. For our day trip the hotel loaned us snorkel, mask and beach towel for no charge, after our millennium cave wash out he had our shoes cleaned and dried. Breakfast is basic, but it's good enough to get you started on your day. There is a common room/lobby with foxtel, DVD player and play station available and the kitchen is available to use.

All up good location, clean comfortable and I would definitely stay again or recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Want a holiday that's fun and stress free? Start by booking your accommodation at the Espiritu! The hotel is centrally located, the rooms are excellent quality and the staff are always willing to help and offer local knowledge to make sure that you have a great stay.

I first stayed at the Espiritu in October 2012 and loved it so much I went back again in February 2013. As a diver it was great to have a place to wash and securely store my gear. Both the facilities and the staff set this place a step above the other hotels on the island. Get yourself a Deluxe Balcony Room if you can. Just don't miss out on staying at the Espiritu!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luganville
5.8 mi away
Barrier Beach Resort
Barrier Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Luganville
313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 10 in Luganville
127 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Bokissa Private Island Resort
Bokissa Private Island Resort
#6 of 16 in Espiritu Santo
208 reviews
1 mi away
Village de Santo Resort
Village de Santo Resort
#3 of 10 in Luganville
308 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ratua Private Island
Ratua Private Island
#2 of 10 in Luganville
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Espiritu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Espiritu

Address: Main Road, Luganville, Espiritu Santo P.O Box 133, Vanuatu (Formerly Apex Garden Hotel)
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luganville
Price Range: £69 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Espiritu 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Espiritu is a boutique hotel and car hire business in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. We are conveniently located in the heart of town and is only minutes away from cafes, shops and dive operators. Here at The Espiritu, we offer modern and contemporary rooms that reflect a home away from home. We provide accommodation with rooms to suit all travelers – divers, families, couples, groups and even long term stays. Your second home has never been easier to find! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Espiritu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Espiritu Vanuatu/Luganville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing